August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

DashDashDASH

by refreshcreations - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Almost had this sucker finished.

You must obtain better DNA to improve your abilities and become more human, armed with your clickatron 9000 to survive the onslaught of the Devostars.

Fairly frantic (almost on the rails) pew-pew action.

Will probably update this later so you don't need to be so accurate with the stars (read as fire more rays out) and add something to the hole of death textures, just didn't get around to it :/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#331Humor2.16
#413Graphics2.82
#433Innovation2.70
#482Overall2.76
#490Audio2.00
#533Mood2.32
#533Fun2.45
#582Coolness48%
#613Theme2.24

Comments

annachristie says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:55am

Really great concept! Not sure if you were meaning to, but I love the sort of nod to Mario Kart's Rainbow Road track. Anyway, overall you have a pretty epic concept. The controls were a little bit stiff... Maybe I needed to to evolve more, though, I'm not sure. I didn't get very far. The death traps or whatever it is that causes the "floor" to fall out from under you were hard to see/avoid. Great effort though, I love the idea!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Argh, the controls are really floaty. If I'm a little person, do I need inertia and slide?

I retried a few times, but the shooting mechanic (I can't see where/ what I'm shooting but guess by intuition where the cursor is) and those falling floor sections combined were too much for my casual skills.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Ha, too stiff controls for one and too floaty for another :D .

In response, I was hoping to add something to make the floor traps a little more obvious but sadly ran out of time which was a shame. I did start to design a cursor for it also but simply ran out of time sadly at the end, sorry :/

I did get a feeling that I had made the game a bit on the tough side towards the latter hours but by then it was mostly bug-fixing, think I might have been a bit over-ambitious perhaps, never mind :)

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:47pm

I liked it. The controls seemed fine to me. I did have issues shooting though. seemed really hard to hit things.

DevWouter says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:55pm

Argh! I had some wierd bugs, camera not resetting on new game, falling through a floor that seems render wrong. Did enjoy it on a few points but the "bugs" were zapping the fun away. Can have potential.

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:46pm

Remind me of Mario Kart 64 :D

Richard Matey says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Hey I had a lot of fun with this! Like the runner and shooter elements combined. Like the happy graphics. Those stars are kinda dicks tho haha. Thanks for the game.

VDZ says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Although I like the idea of running for survival while defending yourself against incoming enemies, I feel the execution here falls short, making the game overall not a very fun experience.

The controls are very unfit for this kind of game. You'd want tight, responsive controls to run for your life, but instead this game provides a low-acceleration, slippery, hard to steer control system that makes you slide for your life and comically bump into the walls. Or at least it would be comical, if bumping into walls and a lack of acceleration didn't kill you, which it does in this game.

The stars coming up to you and slowing you down if you didn't kill them in time were a neat idea. Shooting the stars feels very fake, though; you don't 'fire in a direction', you click the star to make it disappear. I'm guessing this was done through an OnClick() event rather than spawning a moving projectile with collision detection?

The gaps in the floor are sudden and sometimes simply impossible to see. This makes progress more or less a lottery where if you happen to encounter an 'invisible' gap your run ends there. The jump feature is also slightly buggy, with the character sometimes refusing to jump fully, which can also lead you to fall into such a hole.

The graphics don't feel very consistent. Although the background and the stars look pretty nice, the different elements (background, stars, road, walls, character) simply don't blend well together. Even if hamburgers, spaghetti and ice cream are all delicious, if you throw them all together and try to eat them as one dish it wouldn't taste very nice. Make sure the different graphical elements fit well with each other, otherwise any individual merit they might have becomes moot.

There is very little audio in the game, and what little audio there is sounds rather repetitive and annoying.

The concept is nice, but the game is bogged down by many flaws which ultimately make the game hardly enjoyable.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Okay, okay, okay. I feel like I should delete my own entry now, my ego has taken enough of a battering after that.

EatThePath says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:32am

I like the idea of this, but unfortunatley it's not actually very fun. It looks lice, and the sounds and concepts are cool, but the movement physics are so slidey and the targeting so unforgiving I can't get very far, and it's very frustrating.

I would love to see a post LD version of this with the rough spots smoothed out, though!

Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:32am

Ahh, breathes, thanks EatThePath. I'll try to get myself together to improve this for the end of October :)

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:33pm

It would be better if the attacking entities stayed in front, as often I didn't know something was behind me and then it was awkward to shoot. Nice implementation though, sounds are good, pretty to look at as well. :)

Eniko says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:28pm

I like the idea, but the controls got in the way. They could've stood to be more tight, but the main problem I had was getting stuck on the rails on the side of the road after corners, and the floor dropping out before I could get myself unstuck.

demonpants says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:37am

Hey - haven't played your game yet, but please go back and check mine out where you get a chance. I didn't realize my upload had somehow failed.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:10am

Will do next week demonpants, packing for a holiday atm.

dengzo says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:56pm

psychadelic for sure! good job

nseward says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Very cool to play and look at. Good job.

gritfish says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 2:03am

Man, what a weird game.. it's great though - a weir mash-up of rainbow road, and space-shooter. The movement did seem a bit "floaty" around corners, and sometimes the dna spawned in walls, but a blast to play.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:41am

Now I'm a man! High score: 37.000. Nice game, I appreciated the Rainbow Road reference. =P
Controls are though though (lol), one thing I noticed is kind of recurring with Unity made games... Missed some precision there.

Some music would be awesome too, but this is already very good. =)

Sep 4, 2012 @ 1:13pm

Thanks all for the feedback, now I've nearly caught up with my work - workload I'm gonna finish up my LD23 entry then move on to a lotrra lorra refinement on this one. A lot was rushed towards the end so I'm thinking about firstly changing the control issues, they need to be sped up a bit. sorting out the difficulty and progression issues and tidying up the graphical appearance of the game.

A friend of mine introduced me to temple run on the droid recently which has some fairly sharp controls, it would allow people to focus more on the shooting element also.

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:35pm

Thanks for the congrats and for reviewing my game! There was no sound, which left me very disappointed since I planned to add awesome music from the start but didn't have time. I'll definitively do a post-compo version later, but unfortunately it will have to wait a while.

Thanks again! =)

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:43pm

Way, way too uncasual for me. But I applaud how much work you got finished.

Also, I personally found it beneficial to shoot all the enemies in sight before leaving the starting gate. Not sure you would have wanted the player to do that. =)

RipX says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:23pm

I think I agree with most here... The controls were floaty, but you still managed to get out quite a nice game graphically. The shooting seemed a bit flaky too, but overall it still comes off OK. Good job in the time limit.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]