August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

GIFT

by jellonator - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a man who was born in a lab. You were granted a special gift via some drunk scientists who have no idea what they are doing(hence the evil carrots). Use your power destroy a bunch of evil carrots that are trying to kill everyone.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#86Humor3.16
#140Innovation3.45
#299Overall3.10
#308Audio2.58
#327Graphics3.05
#328Mood2.71
#336Fun2.85
#644Theme2.10
#791Coolness36%

Comments

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:50pm

It was very hard, but I had fun. I really liked the whole shield deflecting bullets thing.

SimianLogic says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:26am

very hard, but pretty fun. when I'm aiming at things with my shield the focus is on the enemy and not the bar at the top--a "last chance" sound effect would be good to remind me to move back into cover

Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:27am

Neat shield mechanic.

yettatore says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:30am

Yeah! This is pixel art!
Funny game.

rhysvdw says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:35am

An impressive amount of content for 48 hours. I liked the environment, and the game is very polished overall.
I do have a couple of criticisms, however; The bullets can be very hard to see against the backdrop. Also, there always seems to be only one very obvious way to progress through the level, which involves standing still deflecting bullets.

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:07pm

Really like the shield and the regen mechanic. Setting and story were funny and the map design was better than most of the platformers in the competition.

metadept says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Nicely done! Achievements and everything... My main problem (aside from it being very difficult in general, which is fine) is that bullets are a bit hard to see. Also, maybe some levels should include checkpoints? I gave up after having to repeat a jumping puzzle one too many times. Still, very impressive for 48 hours.

Porter says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:51am

Great fame for 48 hours, but there's a lot off issues. Bulelts are too hard to see, everything is very small (a more zoomed in feel would be nice), and the difficulty curve is whack. Movement could have been a bit more solid, but it wasn't horrible. Overall, very impressive for 48 hours, good job.

Jamin says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:13pm

Like the game mechanic. Agree with other commenters, but I'm going to use the phrase "simply impossible to see".

And I'm not absolutely certain that they are the identical sound, but the "carrot shooting" and "bullet hits ground" sounds are practically identical. For this reason, listening to the audio is actually counter-productive to playing the game.

At the moment, it's just too difficult to play (for the wrong reasons), but with a few tweaks, I think this could be a really cool game.

Switchbreak says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Interesting idea, way too frustrating. Desperately needs: checkpoints, carrot bullets to be bigger/more visible and slower, no shield recharge, more tuned jumping controls, health instead of 1-hit-kill, level designs with less punishment for missed jumps and less blind jumps, and quieter sounds. All that said, I really love the style and graphics and I could see the gameplay getting there with some testing and tuning.

jellonator says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:44am

@Switchbreak The game was meant to be frustrating. Also, the recharge was put in so people can't just run around reflecting, they have to think first. Although the checkpoint idea would be nice, and I do agree the bullets should be more noticeable.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Dude, let's be honest, this thing is way too hard. As a player, I probably wouldn't be playing it, but I'm here to rate.
I like how you had some of the good stuff, like achievements and things of the like, and it looks like some auto-tiling, which is always nice. But the game itself is too hard to be casual, I mean, it took me 5 or 6 tries to beat the first level. This might be tough for you, but it would be cool if killing a carrot makes all his bullets, which you'll hopefully make bigger, disappear if they're still on screen.

Also, your site link seems to be down. I could only still play through Google's cached copy of the page.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:35pm

Wait, site's back up! Nevermind, you must have known.

jellonator says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:02am

@Puzzlem00n yeah, bplaced did some kind of... something yesterday.

Gornova says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:10am

not bad, hard and fun to play, well done!

PIXEL^3 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Pretty frustrating, bullets are hard to see, it's hard to aim correctly without the shield wearing out on you.

But good job.

Hope we decide to collaborate for LD25. ~MK

jellonator says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 1:06am

No, MK. compo is for the real men :3

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 4:50pm

really fun game mechanics, but it really got hard quick. great game all around!

pardue says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:11pm

I have never been killed so many times by carrots... I liked the pixel art and the achievements. I found the game pretty hard but fun overall.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]