August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Evolution

by RipX - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Eat without being eaten is the key to evolving through the ages and perhaps into the future. (First 10 levels now available)


CONTROLS
========

Move - Cursor keys
Break destructible block - Space

OBJECTIVE
=========
Eat all of the food whilst avoiding the nasty predators. Die three times and it's GAME OVER.

Good Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#95Graphics3.80
#255Fun3.00
#280Humor2.33
#292Overall3.12
#448Mood2.48
#565Theme2.40
#591Innovation2.32

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:58am

Nifty! I got to level 3. Love the graphics ;)

chamberlainpi says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34am

Nice work Gary! Love the variation in solid tiles that makes up the level. It's like a totem-pole almost, some sort of ancient glyphs left by ancestors or something hehe. Didn't have time for music eh?

Cell says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:15am

i like it :D

Mclogenog says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:21am

The game looks great, and plays nicely too. I wish there was a little acceleration and momentum or a floaty feel to the player, though. It would do a lot to the sense of being under water. Slightly bigger collision on the pickups would have been nice too; I found the required precision a little frustrating with the current movement. The inability to shake off the squids was also a little frustrating. As a whole though (and in 48 hours) this is great work!

RipX says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Thanks everyone :D

@chamberlainpi Made souond fx but ran out of time.
@Mclogenog Try trapping them behind walls ;)

Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Darn those octopuses! Thank you for making this, I enjoyed playing what I could get through.

The colors in the pixelart are bright and vibrant and have rock solid design. It's a minor thing, but I really like the fading trailing bubbles on the fish.

Without the ability of a continue or some other method to deal with the purple guys, I didn't really get very far... I had the idea to trap the octopuses on the bottom area of the first screen, but couldn't seem to pull it off with the back-and-forth fish enemies too.

BenW says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:23am

It's well polished but I feel like the lack of sound does it a disservice. Also I couldn't figure out how it tied in with the theme.

RipX says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:07pm

@BenW The character evolves if you progress through the game :)

RipX says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:08pm

@BenW Actually.. everything evolves, including the environment, other characters etc. Your next character is a little bee lol ^___^

harusame says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 6:25pm

I love graphics and concept ^^ Great job !

No audio :/

KHANanaphone says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:29pm

I enjoyed it, but no way could I get through the whole thing before getting sick of restarting.

voxel says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 10:48am

Favourite graphics this LD

RipX says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 12:11pm

@voxel Thanks man... what an awesome comment!

Ken Reismann says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Beautiful graphics!

ncannasse says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:45pm

I wished I could have evolved and eat these evil octopus !

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:29pm

like the balance of everything. liked the simple ai of the baddies, the pacman ghost guys were relentless but slow. nice game!

jplur says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:30pm

Great graphics, not very innovative or evololutionary.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Enjoyable game. Got hard really quickly. Those purple octopuses are deadly!

RipX says ...
Sep 20, 2012 @ 12:31pm

#292 - So happy with that. Seems some people never got to see the character evolve lol. I must admit, I made it very difficult so, next time I'll try to make an ending before resorting to making it so people can't get to the end rofl. Had a great time guys, expect me at the next one and I'll put more that 24h into it! :D

zachstronaut says ...
Oct 5, 2012 @ 2:31pm

I *love* your graphics, and you really capture something from the old arcade experience. Feels like an early console game that never got made. Excellent. Very hard though :p

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]