August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Darwin Skirmish

by panzermancer - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An action-RTS where both sides have access to an imperfect cloning device which randomly alters its subjects upon use.

This follows the theme of Evolution, because as time goes on, certain traits (such as superior accuracy or speed) become more necessary in certain situations, and this cloning with mutations allows soldiers to fit these given niches as necessary.

Programmed using Game Maker 8. Sound effects made with bfxr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#43Fun3.67
#47Theme3.91
#63Innovation3.70
#74Overall3.64
#259Humor2.41
#271Mood2.83
#343Audio2.50
#563Graphics2.39

Comments

Senekis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:59am

Dude, this is amazing!
Click, right-click, space... non-stop action.

At first I thought you needed some sort of South Korean micro management abilities, until I saw that you could clone the guys, then I just secured an area and started amazing huge groups of pink guys (who eventually turned yellow after a bunch of generations).

At the end I controled the whole map and had a bunch of guys camping outside of the central spawn point.

Really fun game. The first one I'm giving 5 stars. (:

panzermancer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:15am

Thanks, man!

Yeah, in a future version I'm gonna add some sort of population cap - nobody do this, but it's really easy to win right now just by holding down space. Seriously, just pretend you can't do that, pretty please? :3

I'm also going to add care packages, which drop with random, non-inheritable stat boosts. That's a quick way to make a hotspot for battle.

Nick Knowlson says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:02am

One of the coolest I've seen so far!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:16am

Really cool idea. I like this kind of process of creating new turrets better than the way your avg. tower defense game does. I also like that you can keep reproducing based on a visual cool-down, rather than having to spend money based on winnings.

Quentin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:29am

I really love it, I'll probably be playing this a lot!

robcozzens says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:30am

I would try it, but there is no Web version.

Gareth001 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:31am

Nice effects! awesome gameplay! you deserve to win!

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:41am

Really nice game!! I am having great time play this.

Nickolai51 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:02am

This is awesome... it's really great fun though I wouldn't normally play games like this. I even found it quite difficult (so I just held down space...)
Great game, well done

SpectreNectar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:52pm

Lovely ^^
Really enjoyed it

Brucef says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:58pm

I want a mac version): look like it could be fun though!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Fun stuff. I found I kept selecting a unit to see the ranging circles. I can see this game gaining traction.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:51pm

This was really fun! Two issues I had though: Selecting units was a bit difficult with them being tiny little dots scurrying around (not that I could suggest anything better than clicking on them). Also when the game started, it took me a while to find my own troops. Would be helpful to have the screen focused on them when the game starts.

panzermancer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:00pm

Well, the screen is focused on them when the game starts - perhaps you put your cursor on an edge of the screen and made it scroll too far. For a future version, in that case, I'll make it so that the camera is fixed on the troops while the title text is present. As for clicking on the characters, did you press shift? That would have zoomed it out, making everything a lot smaller. Thanks for the constructive criticism, though; that's exactly what I'm looking for, to help for the post-compo version of this!

hgcummings says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:41pm

Nice. Disorienting at first but quite fun when I got into it. Definitely a good innovation over the usual RTS resource gathering & construction model. I agree with kyyrma that selecting units is quite difficult (even when not zoomed out) as they tend to bobble about a bit even when not running around. The units also had a tendency to get stuck behind things (although I wouldn't expect amazing pathfinding in an LD entry).

Maxium says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:41am

I love the clone ability..can just make an army anywhere they're needed

Fritzendugan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:07pm

Kinda easy since you can just constantly spam evolve. Perhaps something a little more round-based (and evolve/clone between rounds) with some kind of resource to limit the cloning (or just set a max per round. First round you have 2 guys, then 3, and so on. And you can kill/clone in between rounds).

An even simpler solution would've been to just include difficulties. If you find it too easy, just ramp up the difficulty which would increase something like enemy strength, or number of enemies.

Lack of music was a bummer, but the sound effects were effective. A group select or tab through units would've been nice.

Nice job on theme, fits a little more nicely than some of the other entries. All in all, nice entry.

vigrid says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Whoa. I have no idea what I'm playing :) Cool idea, but the sound was extremely annoying.

gbellgames says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:00am

I haven't played your game, but I will.

I just wanted to let you know, I replied your long text/review of Rings of Evolution, the game made by us.

I would really like you could take the time to read it. And am really thankful for the insight and criticism you had to our game, and for the time you took to play it and write all of that.

csanyk says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:41am

LOVED the sound effects:)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:51pm

Superb. Rather enjoyed that. Nicely done.

maditchen12 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:53am

Wow. Simple interface, sounds made by only about 16bit, but it's amazing! First game I played and write comment!

JaJ says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:18pm

I loved the little details like the way the units lit up when they were shooting. There is a lot to do and control so I really shouldn't complain about that, but I did miss a way to mass control the units, especially when it came to movement and setting passivity or agressivity. But this is really, really good!

ggiraldez says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Absolutely fantastic! I got completely hooked up to this one, very addictive. Congratulations! My only complain is that the click radius for a unit is small making it difficult to quickly select one in the heat of the battle.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]