Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

PST: 6 PM
*EST: 9 PM
UTC: 02:00

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

Ludum Dare 31:
Ludum Deals
???
 
Recent:
MiniLD #XX

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

How evolution really works? - keenblaze - 48 Hour Compo Entry

So, this game is about human evolution... Wait, I didn't see any human in the game! Anyway, there are nice jelly squares, which will teach you how evolution actually works.

Use your favorite arrow keys and don't forget have fun!


View keenblaze's journal. | View all entries by keenblaze

Ratings

Coolness100%
Humor4.36
#6Fun4.07
#7Overall4.13
#20Audio3.85
#36Mood3.71
#42Theme3.93
#75Innovation3.63
#111Graphics3.71

Comments

Robotic says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:33am

Great game ! Funny and always different !

SasoriDama says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:42am

This is really clever! Good job.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:46am

Awesome. Great animation on just squares. The way they move like Jello is great!

polegar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:55am

Awesome ! Really funny, and very smart ! And like in real life it's really hard to pick a girl against dumbass :p

ubear says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:05pm

Awesome!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:21pm

I love the smooth animations! This is a really good game, beating it was very challenging for a game this small. I smiled a few times too! Very good one!

Leebo86 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:50pm

Funny, and a great example of how subtle effects can spruce up simple graphics. Nice job.

gbellgames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:55pm

Very funny game! And the blocky graphics are full of charm! The "Plot" is very cool!

Shame it's so short.

midgard says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:01pm

Great job :D It is a really fun game with a bit of humor that makes the game more fun!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:38pm

First lesson was so funny and it made so much sense with the theme i love it, smartest game i've played since jam began!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Very fun and really well done. :)

LemonTree says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:21am

Excellent game! Thank you!

DiscoFish says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:00am

I love it!

dvdking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:20pm

It was hilarious! This is definitely the best game I've seen here. Graphics, music, humor are perfect. Maybe game isn't innovative, but it's fun!

danlthemanl says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:06am

Very clever and original!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:49pm

Really good and fun game, man! I like it and very impressed with animation! Nice work!

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:18pm

Haha Wonderfull!
I love the graphics of the background!

Gidaio says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:21pm

Nice! Very fun, very well done, very good puzzles.

djtjj says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Completed stuck on the blue one with the falling bricks. Otherwise awesome.

VAMflax says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Brilliant! Funny, controls were ace, music fantastic.

The jumpy round was the perfect blend of INFURIATING! Completed it though.

Nice one...!! :D :D :D

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Almost infallible, amazing with very nice graphics and innovative gameplay. I did however find it rather hard and unforgiving, especially once I got to the bit in the main screenshot.

keenblaze says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Thank you guys!

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:33pm

Haha, I love it. So funny. I love the little jingle that plays - and the ending song is awesome.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:19am

Wow, that was really quite funny. Always great to see something so different in LD. :)

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:47am

Thats really incredible one of my best games on LudumDare :) I adore that the text and the idea are perfect :)

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Funny :D I found the boss annoying!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:17pm

I now know all I need to know about evolution!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:18pm

Wow seriously great entry here, think you just taught us all a lesson in using simple graphics to achieve nice visuals (well you certainly taught me a lesson). Funny & Interesting take on the theme too, well done

matheod says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:20pm

Wahou ! Amazing game ! Take me long time to kill this so powerfull IA !

cappelnord says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:19pm

Awesome!

rxi says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Both fun AND educational.

Glandouze says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:32pm

Nice game, loved the end.

johnfn says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Hahha, great entry. The animations felt so dynamic, and I really enjoyed the audio clip at the end. The first one was my favorite.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:02am

Loved it, great work!

nimblegorilla says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:08pm

Awesome game. I agree with all of the other positive comments. I really like the bouncy squares. My only negative is that the intro scene on the final level is kind of annoying to sit through after getting squished multiple times.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Very funny! We liked it a lot, the timing was spot on. I was watching my brother play it and I almost thought it was a scripted animation at first, because of the dialogue going everytime he did something.

imef says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:28am

Great game! It's fun and very well done!

Spaceoff says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:40am

Didn't really dig the music but the idea was great, graphics were great, and it was funny for once too which is always good.

sanojian says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:57pm

Really funny! Great music.

dector says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:02pm

Really fun and beautifull game. It is'n about wide evolution, but I like this game very much. Hire score!

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:08pm

Very well done. It was short, but felt very polished. Great Job.

Mesene says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:33pm

Great game! I'll get the source and play a little with it :D

Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:27pm

So cute game :)
The last battle was so frustrating too...

Jorjon says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:29am

Wow.. Excellent! My favorite entry so far

keenblaze says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:33pm

@Mesene Source code is terrible :)

Sep 2, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Really awesome. Very funny for a game about a species of squares.

Kmad says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:23pm

Excellent little game, very funny and original.

Maple says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:45am

Oh my. Now this is interesting, lol. I thought above everything, the sound was really well placed.

flyingbear says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:00am

Clever little game! I enjoyed it =)

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:40am

Simple and effective graphics. I found the boss incredibly frustrating because I had to sit through the dialogue each time I failed. Other than that it was quite fun to play through, well done!

harusame says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Wow ! clever game :)
Funny ! Good job !

Rabbits... says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:26pm

Yes, now I can get an A on my Biology test...Great game...

goerp says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Funny and very well done. The graphics look simple, but they are more than simple squares. Gameplay was good and the levels original. Only downside I could find: If you get stuck at the same point the music gets a bit annoying makes the pause until you can try again, too long.

tcstyle says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Funny take on the theme. The sound effects are great.

_AM_ says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Nice, complete, modest yet polished design... I do see the theme at work, at least as far as the two most important things, survival and mating. I feel no suggestion could be made. Great work!

Zccc says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:25pm

Very funny :D

marudziik says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 9:50am

It's incredible how such simple graphics can be so appealing. I'm pretty sure it's a winner here - the game is perfect for LD: simple enough, short, funny (and the last level can be a little challenging). Music is great IMHO. The strongest part of this entry is definitely story and gameplay. Great job!

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:42pm

Awesome feel by the graphics and music. I love how each puzzle is unique. Everything is fresh. The quality makes up for the quantity.

zx81 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:24pm

The game so funny!! good effort man!

Mago says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 7:24am

Funny and fun game.

raarlac says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:57pm

Awesome plot, graphics, audio and FUN above all! By far, this is the most innovative and funny game on this LD. And It's also my favorite :)

raarlac says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 2:00pm

And the AI is very challenging! I died a LOT of times to that fat bully.

goffmog says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 7:15pm

lol - that was fun :) Actually found the runing jumping bit much harder than the final battle... Don't like running jumping bits :( Not going to score you lower because of it though.

triliyn says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 3:40am

The first couple levels were really fun. I didn't really like the last... three, I think, because they broke the pattern of "You must die at least once in each level to succeed" (thereby losing you a theme point). Even so, I was interested enough to finish the game and disappointed that there was no more. Nice work!

Gama11 says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 1:29pm

Wow, perfect game considering the amount of time it took you to make it! It has just the right difficulty, innovative level design and is funny as hell. A few more levels would be nice though.
Really like how movement changes the characters size, seems like he's pudding or something :D. Feels really juicy.
There's one major flaw here though: The restart animation / time until you can get another attempt. It's waaaay too long and should be close to zero, because it creates a lot of frustration. That's one of Super Meat Boy's "secrets" to avoid frustration.

Would be nice to have a few stats like time needed to play through and total death to go for highscores.

keenblaze says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 7:56am

Thank you for the constructive critic and suggestions!

Sestren says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:52pm

The "musical intro bit as comedic punchline to your failures" was hilarious. Great music and sense of humor. All around, a very enjoyable experience.

munchor says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Very, very great game, short and fun :)

DWallin says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 2:32am

Nice job! My one nitpick is some of the cutscenes got annoying with no way to skip em (or speed them up) if you kept dying (aka. the last level) I wish this game was longer!

csanyk says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 6:32am

Really great all around, and you totally nailed the theme. Great job:)

jefrsilva says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Hahaha, I must say this is a great educational game and very fun too!

chuchino says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Cute and funny. I liked the music and the sounds and the bouncy squares.

Bemmu says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 5:37am

Don't recall that "jump on top of AI before they jump on top of you" thing being used since Joust. Part where all were competing for the apple was unique.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]