August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Biotic

by aeonofdiscord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I'm not sure if this is a game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#119Mood3.20
#218Graphics3.33
#239Theme3.24
#260Innovation3.13
#279Audio2.67
#425Overall2.88
#647Fun2.12
#816Coolness35%

Comments

dvdking says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Something really strange.
Is there any way to win or lose?

aeonofdiscord says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:43pm

It's possible to lose, if you leave it for long enough.

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:36pm

Strange, but full points for topic.

Senekis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:34am

Ok, that was weird.
Translation: Five innovation stars. >_>

hgcummings says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:47pm

Five stars for mood. Lovely graphics and complementary audio. I managed to 'win' by getting the green critters to kill all of the red ones on the screen, and having a group camping out in each corner to eat newcomers (it's easy enough to split up the group by placing food in opposite directions.)

Maybe the lack of win/lose condition makes it more of a toy than a game? Still a great start for a game though: Arcade-style games are usually a fun toy plus some kind of challenge.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:49pm

It's not much of a game, but I can't say I didn't enjoy it either. Kind of mesmerizing.

SiENcE says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:41am

Beautiful strange :)!

SiENcE says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:45am

Try to port this to Love-Webplayer! Meet the love forum...there is a thread about it.

SiENcE says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:00pm

For you :) i ported your game to love-webplayer. Just put it onto a webserver.

http://sience.schattenkind.net/test/Biotic_webplayer.zip

If you like it, rate my game too :) THX

Zed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:11pm

I held the mouse button down until the game crashed. Kinda like an interactive screensaver, and a bit like Electroplankton. Pretty cool.

aeonofdiscord says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00pm

@SiENcE Oh, cool, thanks! Not heard about the webplayer before. I'll throw it up on my site this evening.

aeonofdiscord says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:02pm

@Zed Cheers! Sorry it crashed on you. :/ I'll poke around and see if I can figure it out.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:27pm

This is a pretty simulation.. need a way to use as gameplay and a goal.

It crashes when i closed it, by the way.

tastive says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Gorgeous. Needs some atmospheric audio and maybe a goal. :)

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:33pm

Very interesting... game. It's fun to mess around with it for a fair while before you realise there is no real goal.

Graphically appealing too, and the music is okay (except that it ended abruptly, for me at least).

Maple says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:35pm

An interesting entry. It's a shame there wasn't a whole lot of variation.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:07pm

I like this! I took the entities to be self-replicating compounds (I think? ... hmn, need to re-read "The Selfish Gene"). Music was nice, could've been looped?

sPe says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:54pm

I like the way of interaction but some kind of goal or challenge would've been.. motivating :) And seems that the game gets more sluggish with time.

Ragzouken says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:31am

Very pretty!

aeonofdiscord says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:20pm

@DustyStylus: The music should be continuous, but there's a bug that causes it to stop sometimes.

csanyk says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 2:17am

I'm not sure, but I think I may have played a game:)

The art style blows me away, it's fantastic. The motion is good too. I didn't quite know what I was doing, or supposed to be doing. But I grew and I ate a lot of red things. And then I got bored. If there was some kind of goal it could be great. As it is what you have here is not bad in any way, and has lots of potential.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]