August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Self.Recompile()

by Kharza - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a tale of a program seeking to improve itself through upgrades.

If you have an xbox gamepad plugged in, the compo version is fine. However if you don't or don't want to use a gamepad, grab the post compo version. The only difference is that it supports keyboard and mouse.

I had to replace my timelapse link with the post compo version. Timelapse can be found here:

http://youtu.be/9pLlhLW7EzU

It is an XNA game for windows, and thus requires the XNA redist as well as the .net framework 4. I shall link them.

Also I'm using the hidef profile as these are the libs I use to make xbox stuff. Probably won't run on super low end netbooks and the like.

Source code also has my .map and 3dsmax files

Here is a guide to help with the game's crafting. Sorry I made things so obtuse! http://dl.dropbox.com/u/59900676/Guide.txt

And here's a playthru, chopped down a bit (was too long for youtube)

http://youtu.be/V0zuHfiZwRc

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#97Graphics3.79
#183Mood3.00
#233Innovation3.17
#250Audio2.76
#484Theme2.61
#512Overall2.72
#662Fun2.06
#791Coolness36%

Comments

Kharza says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01am

I should point out, someone on IRC gave it a go with a gamepad, and apparently you need a 360 pad. I sort of figured gamepads "just worked". And yea the keyboard / mouse is busted. I shall put up a post compo on the morrow.

Pazaz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:40am

I liked what I got to try (I could move around and look, but I couldn't go past a few parts because it required a 'back' button (gamepad) when I was using the keyboard and mouse controls.

Pazaz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:43am

Totally messed up on the format for that comment. Oh well, too late now. Liked game; Has a few flaws, but I understand why.

Kharza says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:27pm

I dreaded hitting refresh after waking up. I shall fix keyboard and mouse now in a post version.

Kharza says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:00pm

Ok fixed kb and mouse version posted as post compo.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:58am

Tried the game and it seems to be an interesting concept - however, I couldn't figure out what to do. Could have used some instructions or a readme or something.

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:08am

The best way to get started is to pick up the siphon and zap the rocks with it (trigger or left mouse), that will get you some vector instructions to feed into the compiler

There are a ton of recipes I didn't have time to put hints for in the game, if you experiment you can find ways to improve yourself in every way (but I wouldn't recommend it, failure eats the resources)

Also there's a weapon hidden in there but I didn't get time to make enemies so not very useful :)

gamblore says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:01am

Interesting visual style. Was not able to get that far. The compiler menu didn't open anything and my instruction disappeared from the linker menu. I think the controller look sensitivity was too high for my preference but the mouse controls were good.

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:15am

Uh oh, wonder if I have a strange bug. Did you at least make it to level 2? You have to... need spoiler tags. Make the thingy at the foozle and then use it at the dilly

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:16am

BTW thanks for playing those that have. In regards to the visual style, I grew really fond of it. I'll write more in a postmortem, but I might take it post jam.

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:40am

The visuals are AWESOME!

I got a little lost on what to do though, I wandered around and eventually got frustrated :/

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:51am

I think I made stuff way too obscure. I don't think anyone has made it to level 2 even.

Kharza says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:39am

A wild guide appears! http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=5649

Eniko says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:12am

I'm in love with this concept. I played it all the way through the end, and was awarded with very pretty music. The problem is that at first it's totally unclear what's going on, and the siphoning isn't the most fun thing. And you can do really dumb things like use your siphon (the blue pickaxe) in a failed recipe and have to start over. So, awesome concept, unfortunately it needed a lot more polish to shine. Very much hope this gets a longer, improved post compo version.

31eee384 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:09am

Couldn't figure things out even with your guide, sorry. :/ All I have is Vector Rotate and Vector Scale, and "Scale" isn't even mentioned in the guide. Regardless whether or not I was able to figure that out--how would I even use these materials to upgrade myself? Very confusing.

Other than that, though, good graphics and music. The mining sound was... grating, though, heh. Seems like it would be a pretty cool game if it made sense. :)

Kharza says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:43pm

Oops I screwed up and left out scale in the guide

Kharza says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:47pm

fixed

Kharza says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:21pm

To add to my growing list of failures, a friend playing just discovered that the first hint in the game is actually wrong. It mentions VectorAdd when it should read VectorRotate. /facepalm

MurrayL says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:59pm

It looks pretty cool, but I mostly had no idea what was going on!

The sound while mining is way too loud :/

It'd be interesting to see a version of this with some user experience improvements.

Gidaio says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Quite difficult to understand. The 'harvesting' sound was EXTREMELY annoying, and the flickery lights didn't do anything good to my eyes.

Skulls says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:12am

I spent a lot of time trying to work out how to play, did not teach the player how to play through the game. Having to read a guide isn't much fun but I can tell you had some cool ideas.

triliyn says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 2:43pm

In my first try, I destroyed the data siphon in the linker and didn't understand why I couldn't get any resources. After restarting, it took me a while to figure out that something was actually going on when you hold-click on the resources -- the mining sound is a lot like a "failure" noise.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]