Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Microbe Madness! - Matt Rix - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about battling microbes, a homage to the old StarCraft custom map called "evolves madness".

All my source code is on GitHub, I made sure to make tags pretty often, and there are 16 different tags, showing the scope of the progress I made over the weekend: https://github.com/MattRix/Madness/tags

View Matt Rix's journal. | View all entries by Matt Rix

Ratings

Fun4.15
Coolness57%
#12Overall4.08
#23Theme4.08
#26Graphics4.24
#53Mood3.59
#107Innovation3.54
#117Humor3.03
#120Audio3.22

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:44am

This game shows a lot of promise! I love that you can only control all of your guys at once, and that it's symmetrical 3-team as a rule. The animation and overall look is pretty charming too.

It took me a round to figure out the upgrade mechanic - there's no "hover" state on the upgrade buttons so I missed it at first. I beat it on the second round.

My strategy was to spam attack upgrades up to around level 5, then health. No need for speed or defense if you can obliterate everything in your path!

I think it'll be very interesting as a multiplayer game, especially if you can see some kind of visual representation of the enemy's upgrades.

Only other minor critique is that your guys get stuck on their home base sometimes. Or maybe this is part of the design?

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:23am

This is lovely!

Upgrading feels great, and the movement reminds me of Darwinia. I like the tactical twist that you can only move all at once, but unfortunately moving doesn't really do much. Imagine how it would feel if you could split your units and attack from behind for more damage!

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:48am

Overall really great game. Reminds me a lot of the Starcraft's mod "Evolution", which I played a lot as a kid. Graphics are really tidy and fits the game nicely. There isn't really anything to complain. Maybe the info for example the health of the "base" could be located ie. over the base.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:14am

OMG!!! That was so much fun! Great idea and fits the theme very well.

FredericRP says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:16am

Great game ! As Aaron, I did not saw the upgrade mechanic at first glance, but it's complete and well done !

Vladp995 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:14pm

Looking very good! Great job :)
@matthias_zarzecki with enough speed you just charge and catch them inside and do lots of damage when it's 4 on 1 :)

grid says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:16pm

Very nice.

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:53pm

Very nice, good fun if a little bit easy to win. Multiplayer would definitely be great fun.

Fadobo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:27pm

Awesome game! Best I've played so far. Lovely graphics, funny sounds and super fun and rewarding gameplay. I liked the simplistic strategy a lot.

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:13pm

amazing game ! Not a lot of strategy is required, but it's far enough to make a neat game.
Graphics and sound design contribute to a hilarious ambiance and i haven't encountered any bug.

Thanks for showing us this kind of game :D

Nidjo123 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Cute graphics, good balance and game just makes you keep playing. Great!

Norgg says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:08pm

Haha, nice. I remember the map this was based on (and the tactics for it) well... Didn't even see what the first evolved critter looked like on the first playthrough.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:20am

Pretty sweet! It was fun trying to beat up the other teams and the upgrade system was well thought out, albeit not immediately recognized. It was a bit on the simpler side, but I'm not really complainig. :) The art was cute as well.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:34am

Hi there! I can't vote, but this game beat me twice, then I beat it and I felt quite satisfied!

Like a bowl of pudding, it's not very filling but it's great while it lasts!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:08am

Rare to see polished strategy games like this one. I really enjoyed it. Thanks

matheod says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Basic idea but funny game ;)

echa says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:45pm

Nice game! But quite easy.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:07am

Really cute! Though I expected the little guys to change or something. Ah well. Can't have everything. But still, had fun, really cute. Nice.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:35am

Amazing Game! Really original take on the RTS genre. I played this game probably for 20 mins straigh- 5 stars from me well done!

Matt Rix says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:25pm

@xhunterko yeah the little guys do change, the problem is that I ran out of time so I didn't get a chance to balance the game properly, so most people either win or lose before the first "evolutionary leap" happens.

If you play the post-compo version, the pacing of the game is a lot better because I actually had time to play it! :) http://struct.ca/games/madness

monomanio says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:27pm

This is a really interesting concept. I was immediately engaged. The realtime upgrades works well with the design!

DavidErosa says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:12am

I felt really well because I could win the first time I played :) Love the graphics. The only con is that I'd like to be able to direct different groups to different targets.

Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:56am

That game was super-fun, easily one of my favorites, if not my favorite entirely (after 60+ reviews) :) I played it through twice so I could see all the upgrades!!! And now I'm playing it yet again in the "improved edition" :)

lekochen says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 4:13pm

Awesome! One of the most polished entries I have seen so far.

gamblore says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 3:01am

This style of game is the game I wish I made with my LD48. I didn't know how to do the controls but you have the right idea with moving the whole colony to the location. I decided to go with more of a long game strategy (picking which evolution group to fight next) but I don't think it paid off as the my battles were pretty boring and long (I also ran out of time to balance the game). Congrats, I really enjoyed it.

Cyboot says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:28pm

I played about 60+ Games so far, but I can honestly say this is my Favorite.

Great Idea, perfectly fitting to theme, nice graphics, easy and intuitive Gameplay and fun, really fun!

I am amazed you a managed to create a solid AI and most of all, the game is even good balanced. In 48 hours, a really great accomplishment.
If I had to search for a little little point, I could say that the soundeffect are a little enoying, but well its easy to mute :D
I really hope others see the game as good as i see it and you will get one of the first places in this LD :)
So glad i found this, even if its only the last day of judging

Maybe I say that to too many gamedesigners in LD but you did an amazing job.

Kickerua says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:15am

It's really cool.

cb31416 says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Very nice game!!! I had to play until I beat the red and the blue, took me several tries until I figure I could click the buttons to upgrade my guys. Maybe some instructions will be helpful. I really enjoyed playing it.

robcozzens says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 8:47pm

That was great!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]