August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Dragonkin EVO

by bobiniki - Jam Entry

#The idea:
First you begin in cell stage then evolve into underwater snake and then you come to the surface as a reptile and tart catching flies with your tongue. Then you grow wings and become a flying reptile. After that you learn how to file breathe and become something like a dragon... *idea stops somewhere here* ...finally you evolve into intelligent
humanoid dragon race. Your planet is almost destroyed but your race smartest scientists invent time traveling machine to go back in the past at the beginning of your evolution to undo their sin against nature. The scientist cant send a message in time to simple creatures like cells and reptiles
so they implant the message into your DNA. *then the game starts from cell again* Somewhere in humanoid stage your race learns to read DNA from species and understand that there is a message to them from the other future. Your race becomes the protectors of nature and balance. And you eliminate everyone who breaks the balance.

#About:
You start as a cell and then evolve into snake and then into reptile. And my time ran out to finish the game :V

#Guide/Mechanics:
*All Stages:
Lives - you have 3 lives and enemies take you 1 life
DNA - you need to collect enough DNA to go to the next level
*Cell Stage:
Viruses(the red things) - they move randomly and if they touch bio material they use it to replicate themselfs.
If you toch them you take damage
Bio material(small things that look strange) - you need to collect them to get DNA. They also heal you.
Water flow(the blue lines) - they push you in the direction of the flow. They also push bio material. However,
Viruses "swim" to the oposite direction of the flow
*Snake Stage:
Bubbles(the empty circles) - you have to colect them to get DNA. Also your size grows when you eat them.
Bubbles filled with plankton - the only difference from normal bubbles is that they heal you.
Bad Bubbles - they do damage if you eat them
Snake Body - if you eat yourself you get damage :D
*Reptile Stage:
Dear-Man Alien(the yellow creature) - it files very fast
and you have to catch it with your tongue.

Every stage has different controls which are showed before the stage starts.

#Controls:
Move - W,A,S,D
Tongue - Right Mouse Button
Change text between stages - Esc,Space,Enter,Left Click

#Cheats/Debug:
Go To Game Over - G
Go To End - H
Next Level - PageUp

#Unfinished(due to time):
In snake stage the snake is buggy because I had to finish the other stages.
Reptile stage was supposed to be stage where you catch flies and your tongue grows so that you can reach higher flies.

#Notes:
If you get a crash or the game runs too fast or find any thing wrong use the "cheats" to see the other stages
If you find a bug that isn't stated in the bugs section post it in the coments

#Bugs:
In snake stage you will see the snake flashing
Sometimes in last stage you get random GameOver
Sometimes there is object left from the last stage

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#67Theme(Jam)3.23
#200Humor(Jam)1.63
#209Innovation(Jam)2.30
#217Graphics(Jam)2.44
#221Audio(Jam)1.16
#221Mood(Jam)2.11
#238Overall(Jam)2.38
#244Fun(Jam)2.02

Comments

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Nice game It took a little to realize what I was supposed to collect, but it was fun.

Griz says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Oh no! It's Unplayable for me. The game Runs too fast.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Very difficult game; I couldn't get past the first stage. The green items you are supposed to collect change to enemies way too fast and I could end up being swarmed and killed in a few seconds.

Also, the 64-bit version crashes when I run it. The archive is about half the size of the 32-bit version so I'm guessing it's missing some files.

bobiniki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:40pm

Yea the 64 bit version crashes and I don't know why...
On my machine the game runs normally... hmmm...

headchant says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:50pm

The 64 bit version crashed on me also. The x86 did work.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Levels are too long to be actually fun, first level goes on forever and after you died on second level, you have to restart all over again. Make levels 2-3 times shorter and it'll be much more fun. Also food colour-coding on second level was confusing, died due to picking wrong ones. Streams on first level - interesting twist, but unfortunately it didn't influence the gameplay to the extent it could.

Drabiter says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:14pm

The game looks good, but it runs on high fps making it unplayable (and you have to start the game again everytime you lose).

Materie says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Runs too fast. The fact that you have to restart the allpication to play agian does not help, either.

bobiniki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:15pm

I think I have fixed the framerate issues. But I'm not 100% sure that it is fixed. I need someone to download it again and test it. Someone who had issues before.

@kibertoad thanks for feedback but I wont change any gameplay now because it is against the rules(reduce the DNA needed for next level)

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:17pm

The first level lakes way to long because you move so slowly and it's very frustrating at times. Not really fun for me. I died at the second level (items are almost indistinguishable from each other) and didn't feel like continuing. Also the fit to the evolution theme was a massive stretch.

Sorry, this is way WAY more than i could have done in 48 hours on my own, but I've got to score you against everyone else. Maybe in future try and pick something with a smaller scope, so that you don't have to create essentially several different games in one.

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Why is this so hard? XD
well, i stuck at snake evolution.
I think the animations could be faster and to require less dna would be ok too..
thanks

bobiniki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:36pm

Note to self: Don't make games longer by doing the same thing over and over. Make game longer by making more different gameplay. And most important GRINDING ISN'T FUN

Thanks for the feedback

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:14pm

Thanks for the piece of advice, i have good time with your game, i need time to complete things , thanks you too for your feedback

imef says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:54pm

It crashed in 64-bit but worked fin in 32-bit. Fun game!

hansolo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:22am

Nice story, playing snake with a purpose is good :)

Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:25am

yeah, collecting 35 things in the first level is a little harsh, especially when u have more interesting things in the later levels.
It worked fine for me though.

MurrayL says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:21am

An interesting game! It's a shame you didn't get to finish it :)

The game ended for me (Game Over) while I was playing the Snake stage. Not sure why - I hadn't lost any life :(

bobiniki says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:51am

@MurrayL sometimes this happens and I don't know why too. Start again and use the cheats to get to snake stage or after to play the last stage.

MurrayL says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:39pm

I just realised I forgot to mention - you didn't limit the player (or pickups) to the edges of the screen! ;)

I definitely noticed this in the first stage - not sure if it was the same in the second. I was able to chase after the bio-material off the edge, and still pick it up even though I couldn't see myself any more.

Gabriel says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:46pm

Nice!

I REALLY liked the idea of the underwater current. The 'collect goods while being swarmed by enemies' mechanics has been used a lot, but this really adds a very nice twist to it! In fact, I'd considerably increase the current strenght, make it affect enemies as well, and make this into a game of taking advantage of the currents while managing the risk of moving in high speed through the enemies. Seriously, that has the potential of being really fun!
As others said, though, the huge backtrack (restart the game) summed with the long time to beat the 1st level descourages a second playthrough. Also, I feel the second level mechanics is too standard comparing to the first one, why not make this a game entirely about playing with new gameplay elements added to the core mechanic of the 1st level?
Good job, let me know if you ever make a post-compo version :)

bobiniki says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Thanks for the nice review Gabriel and yes I will be making post-compo version. What I plan is to change the 3rd stage. I'll add flies, bees and other insects to catch. Then your tongue will grow making you to reach higher food sources. In the end of the stage you will evolve into a dragon. There you will have fire breath and you will still have your tongue but you can only use one at a time. In the end of this dragon stage I am planing to add a boss where it uses almost all mechanics from the previous stages. For example he will have some wind abilitie(the same as the flow) he will also have mines(the viruses from the first stage) and he will have shield generator which you will have to rip with your tongue. Besides adding more stages I'll make the cell stage better and fix the snake stage and do some balance changes.

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:32pm

I found it took far, far too long to progress within the game. It just did not make for a very engaging experience.

nddrylliog says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Quite frustrating, I can see the effort but definitely expect more from a Jam entry :/ Could not get past the first stage, having to collect 35 DNAs at this (slow) speed is really too much.

Better luck next time!

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:18pm

I find 35 cells to collect a little too much - I died at the snake part because I collected the wrong stuff, so I died and had to find 35 cells again (which was no challenge at all, but it took forever). The rest was pretty cool though.

Maxium says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Nice game, but the first level takes to long.

Cipher says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:21pm

Pretty cool, liked how i could press PageUp to go to the next level, its very convenient for voting purposes.

SusanTheCat says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:20pm

I had no idea what happened in the snake level.

VAMflax says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I liked the way the green doolies in the first stage would change into red ones. But it kinda went on too long.

The snake was hilarious!

The third stage was cool. Like a stage from warioware :)

Nice!

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:48pm

The first stage took forever to get up to 35 DNA. It was fun swimming around avoiding red guys for a bit, but it just took too long. When I finally got to the snake stage, it took me a while again to figure out what to do. When I ate my first DNA, my snake became huge. By accident, I backtracked over myself and lost all three lives at once. I couldn't face doing the first level again, so I quit. I think you've got a neat idea here, going through various stages of evolution, and there are some interesting touches, like the unpredictable effect of moving across the shifting tendrils on the first level. I really like the idea of having different minigames for each level. But for me, the result just wasn't enough fun to keep going with. With a little tweaking, some more forgiving levels, and maybe some instructions, I think you could have a great game here.

triliyn says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I couldn't download this. The link took me to a page that said "Your download is ready". Clicking what looked like the download link on that page opened up a copy of the same page in a new tab.

Porpentine says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:55pm

You gain nothing by having the player collect 35 objects very slowly, that's just drudgery. With faster movement speed it becomes about reflex and coordination. :>

Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Unhandled Exception: System.TypeLoadException: Could not load type 'GB2Dsample.Game1' from assembly 'The Darwinizer, Version=1.0.0.0, Culture=neutral, PublicKeyToken=null'.
Am I missing something?

rodrigomotta says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:25am

Well done. Great entry. Congrats.

bobiniki says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:23pm

@triliyn it worked for everyone else try opening it in some other browser or I'll make a mirror download if you still can't download it

@Josh umm that doesn't look like my game maybe you have done something when downloading other game entry because I have no "The Darwinizer" in my game. Try downloading the game again in a new folder or something...

Kmad says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:42pm

The 32-bit version runs fine for me on windows 7 64bit. All works well, fun little game and fits well with the theme. A little feedback would be good (e.g. animation/sound effects when you are injured) but other than that it's a good effort.

bobiniki says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 1:50pm

@Kmad thanks and for the sounds and animation I just ran out of time :(

Sep 10, 2012 @ 2:18am

Actually, you're right; that exception was from another game I had attempted to run in the same terminal. The error with your game was apparently a WINE problem; I just copied the first error text I saw.

tcstyle says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 7:16pm

Pretty interesting visual concept. I like that.
The game itself seems a little to hard and progress to the next stage took too long.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]