August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Praepoch

by Connor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

After finding many small blue creatures outside your home, you decide to investigate and discover their origin.

Controls:
Arrow Keys / WASD to move
Z, X, C, J, K, L, or Space to attack (once you have a weapon)
M to mute
R to go to menu, and restart game from there

Tools:
Flashpunk
FlashDevelop
Flex 4
Game Maker (sprite editor)
BFXR
PXTone
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#72Graphics3.92
#83Audio3.38
#90Mood3.37
#148Overall3.41
#239Fun3.04
#303Humor2.25
#352Theme2.94
#465Innovation2.62
#667Coolness44%

Comments

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:21am

I liked this entry, though not necessarily as a game. Unless I missed something, I found it impractical to actually fight things. But more importantly, the aesthetic is very cool and unified, and the thematic progression is great.

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:17am

The first few kills with the ax were extremely satisfying...and so were all of the other ones. =) Very nice!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:06am

Solid little exploration-thingie! Slicing things in half and choppping is quite satisfying, but it is really hard.

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:46am

Loved it, but the end explanation seems a bit made to fit the theme :)

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:03am

wow, such an amazing game. I'm impressed how you managed to develop a game with so many levels and such an amount of polishing

Sestren says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Very solid entry. The graphics and sound were both very nice, as well. Exploration in the caves felt a little too haphazard with the near-total darkness at times, though.

Porpentine says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:49pm

I love the way the visuals breathe, houses and rocks and trees bobbing up and down, a splendid touch. The axe snick is gratifying. Did you make the sea crossing wind sounds with your mouth? Haha, cute! I also like how killing the initial enemies is trivial but eventually you just want to avoid the stronger ones--accepting that not everything can or should be killed makes it feel more like an ecosystem/world than a videogame level.

One of my favorite entries.

Kassoon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:23am

Cool game, the combat controls were really solid.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:17am

Nice game :) Connor :) I like the tree chopping :D hehehe :D

whilefun says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Wow, this is great. The combat mechanics took me a while to get working, and those bloody rhino things...i hate them! But I beat the game, and it was worth it. Well done :)

xhunterko says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:00am

It would have been nice to see my health. Some creatures where to difficult so I just left them. Otherwise, good game!

jijaweb says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:33am

Great game! Liked it a lot!

Switchbreak says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:18am

Nice work! I loved the artwork and that it had an actual ending. The combat is somewhat frustrating and results in me dying a lot, but I love the way the enemies are drawn.

JaydenB says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:33am

Very well thought out, and excellent graphics. I just think the main character had too little health at the start, but at least the respawn times where fast enough!

iandioch says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 8:23pm

A nice little game. Less fighting and more fleeing, the combat wasn't great. But the animations were fantastic, and the audio was nice too.
It all felt very polished.

Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:49am

I got to the cave system, but I can't advance due to the enemies. Ah, well. It was fun while it lasted, but would have been more fun with a visible health indicator and more incentive.

Sep 4, 2012 @ 5:30am

Really nice aesthetic, though I found the music a bit grating and everything was kind of tiny on my screen

sclark39 says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 6:46am

Really really freaking difficult. Most of the enemies I just had to figure out how to run past because there was almost 0 chance I'd survive an actual battle.

alvivar says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:06pm

Nice art, nice sprites.

AMSmirnov says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Nice game =)

darkshadow says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:41pm

Lovely game, so many different locations and types of creature. The interaction with the environment with the tree chopping and the boat. I don't think I have a single fault with the game other than I took me a while how to work out to progress the dialogue at the end.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 4:25am

I liked the use of the tree bridge as a way of ensuring the player grabbed the axe before advancing. After the first play though the axe, the treen and the boat did not reset.

Maple says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 7:49am

Not bad. Wasn't the easiest thing to kill with that weapon, but it was an interesting stroll, and weather you intended it or not, I got the feeling that we must try new things and be a little risky and open and outgoing, perhaps, to be able to grow and progress and be successful in life, which was nice.

mohammad says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Didn't know what to do after I was done.
Found the Axe, killed them all, Restarted, And it was gone.

triliyn says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 3:02pm

The game was nice, but the ending was a little anticlimactic. I was expecting something more sinister, I guess.

chuchino says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Cute game. The graphics were nice and I liked the little story at the end.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:08am

Wow. I really like this. Some of the graphics were definitely a bit rushed looking, but all in all, it fits the style we come to expect from Connor Ullmann. And I liked the surprise of there being a moral at the end rather than a cliche sinisterness.

P.S. I loved Seedling. It was awesome.

Sep 12, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Great little game, once I had the combat figured out I really enjoyed it. Got all the way to the end and appreciated the evolution story. I liked the visuals as well

LoneStranger says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 5:05am

Neat concept. Only being able to attack from the sides was kinda annoying, and moving around objects was frustrating, but I like the idea of having to explore your world to learn about it. Art was nice, everything seemed like it was alive.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]