August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The ducks are taking over!!

by JaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In a prehistoric cave, ancient ducks and other species are rapidly evolving. Kill them before they take over the world!

Left/Right arrows, A/D or Q/D to move
Up, Z, W or Alt to jump
Space, Shift, Control or X to shoot

Enemies evolve depending on your interaction with them. There are 5 areas they can evolve in: reproduction, durability, intelligence, strength and movement. Depending on the way you play (or the enemies you face) one stat may evolve more quickly than another.

There are three levels but you have to select the level before you start, you can't proceed from one level to another (yet). The levels are meant to demonstrate the different enemies and possible level designs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#47Audio3.57
#109Graphics3.73
#109Fun3.40
#170Mood3.05
#191Overall3.32
#204Humor2.61
#380Theme2.88
#480Innovation2.60

Comments

Th3dz says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Fun. Nice graphics, nice music, audio. Great game!

Blobby101 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:40pm

Nice. Pulls off the retro vibe really well!

berkano says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:43pm

Nice! Loved the retro graphics, sfx and music. Needs more levels! (either that or I'm too dumb to get past the first screen)

panzermancer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:44pm

This was actually a pretty cool concept, and executed quite well. I just wish perhaps there were more levels.

TheSheep says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Nice shooter and plays well, if only there wasn't some bug that killed me every time I try to leave the first screen -- so I couldn't even go any further. Just stayed on the first screen and killed some ducks, but that got boring very fast, especially since it's trivial to avoid them if you don't want to go forward.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:49pm

Thanks! The idea was of course to have more than three levels, but the time just wasn't there. The concept was to go to the next level after collecting a certain amount of diamonds. You can select one of the other two levels by pressing left and right in the title screen, the other levels demonstrate two other enemies too.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Fun, cool game. First thing I did though was walk down the hole on the right on the first level (think it was multi-screen).

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:53pm

Fun! nice work with the retro feel and graphics! the twist on the theme was cool too. got about 1200 points. heehee.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:59pm

I wish it was multi-screen! I didn't have as much time as the previous times I entered, but while the game isn't finished the way I wanted, I see potential so I'm really not sorry for entering!

However, looking at it the day after, I would really like to make a metroidvania out of this instead of a level based game. The fact that enemies evolve depending on how you interact with them could really solve that "backtracking is boring" problem.

kirill says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Like the theme: enemies evolve abilities.
Are those up-down enemies fire hydrants? :)

Lacutis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Its a fun game with good graphics and sound. I don't really see the tie in with evolution, but it's still fun (and funny).

kirill says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:46pm

Ps. the way the player moves is sliding, like he's on ice ... didn't fit well with the feel / setting imho.

JaJ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:02pm

@Lacutis: The enemies evolve depending on your interaction with them. I'll give a breakdown:

Reproduction: Rate at which enemies (re)spawn. Can evolve when you kill a lot of enemies.

Durability: Enemy health, evolves when you kill enemies quickly after they spawn.

Strength: Power of enemies and enemy bullets. At a certain point this will also make enemies shoot. Evolves when you don't lose hp for a period of time.

Movement: Effects speed and movement patterns. Evolves when your hit percentage is high.

Intelligence: Influences how much enemies react to you. Evolves when you are close to enemies.

I hope that clears it up. The game might appear to be a lot simpler than it actually is ;)

josefnpat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:06pm

Very nice. Nice retro gamer!

And the upgrades made it harder. As said before, needs more levels :)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:26pm

It makes a lot more sense now I've read your explanation on the evolution possibilities. Nice retro graphics and audio, Good job

aare says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:47pm

The platformer mechanic is very good, and I love the retro feel of the game. Though, I think the level design could be better - imho it should be symmetrical. Something similar to Chrono$Casch f.e.

Zccc says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:06am

Very fun to play!

samoojamies says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:59am

Nicely catches the NES mood. Lacks a bit variety.

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:43pm

This is good simple fun!

tcstyle says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:02pm

Nice retro-styled game. Had fun.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:30pm

Can't open it in Chrome :-(

JaJ says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:45pm

That's really weird. Chrome is my browser too, and I tested it in firefox and explorer as well, so chrome itself is not the problem.

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:10pm

@TheSheep That hole in the first level isn't an exit, as I too originally thought! The other levels make that clear but it's not apparent at first.

Fun game, kept me coming back for more! I think the AI for movement needs some work still though, since on Level 2 it actually makes them easier when they evolve since they won't walk off their little spawn platforms xD

CappaGames says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:29pm

Loved the music.

quasist says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:05pm

Too bad that framerate seems low.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Good visuals, good audio, good gameplay, good game! I like how you play around theme! Nice work!

harusame says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Fun game with a good music and audio ^^ Not very innovative but it's fun ! Great job !

raarlac says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:50pm

I don't think I understood the concept of the game... Its just walking around and shooting ducks?
The graphics are nice, and the music is flawless.

BrothersT says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:13pm

Good game! the character feels a little bit heavy, decellerating and acceleration around and such. the art is good, sound's very arcadey and I like the progression of the enemies. the third level is a bit tight and I don't like how the eyes go through the walls, but apart from that, I loved it!

madpew says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:40pm

Nice little game. Was a bit too easy in the beginning but turned out the be well balanced after the first few "rounds". Well done!

JaJ says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:33pm

@raarlac: That's exactly the point, but the ducks are evolving into more difficult enemies depending on how you play.

@harusame: Thank you! I tried to keep my ambition low and focus on fun, so that's good to hear. Next time I'll try for both fun and innovation.

FunByJohn says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:42am

Nice game. I've gotta admit in the start I was a little confused about what I was doing, I thought I was platforming only, so I tried to jump into the hole to proceed in the level in the first level, only to realize my sudden death :p I usually don't read the descriptions/instructions, as I believe games should be self-explanatory, or at least explain the rules of the game as the game is going on, which is why I didn't know what I was doing in the start.

KEFIR says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:52am

Liked graphics and sound. Perfect retro style!

RawBits says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 3:25am

Hey! This is the best platformer implementation I played so far. You even implemented jumping right! :) Love the NES gfx and the music is really fitting. Not sure what triggers the evolution but it's nicely balanced for a score attack game. Level 1 and 2 are besically the same but 3 gives you some variation. Very good design!

The only thing I miss is the ingame restart option because I don't like dying for playing a new level. Oh, and once I saw a diamond spawned in the wall. Is that intentional?

Anyway, thanks for this little gem! I'll sure play it even after rating ends. :)

marudziik says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 10:50am

Great game, very playable. I just had to play all the levels, though the third one is really difficult. Trying to find flaws here would feel a little nitpicky - it's really a great entry, and feels very complete (even without level progression) - maybe the only small flaw is that if I actually die in levels 1-2, it's because of this damn holes (I go to get some pickup which is just above it and I fall in). Btw. if you added another hole in level one, I don't think anyone would figure that's an exit. :)

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:13pm

I really liked the concept of upgrading classic arcade enemy abilities. And the music and sounds gave it a great feel. The game was pretty balanced with cool features. I had a lot of fun.

I'm no artist, but it seemed like the colors are a bit too saturated. If they were a little more greyed out, it probably would have been easier on my eyes.

Kmad says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:06pm

The game could do with a bit more content and development but it has solid mechanics and is pretty fun.

sev_inf says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:35pm

Nice idea and cool graphics. A bit easy at first (each level has a spot where you can just stand and shoot and ducks wiill be unable to get you first few minutes).

sirGustav says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:30pm

awesome retro feel

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]