August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Evolve 'em all

by kill0u - Jam Entry

Try and get the weapons you want, evolve them, and try to kill the boss.

This game is meant to be hard, but I finished it so you should be able to ;)

CONTROLS:
Arrows to move, hold space to shoot
Sorry for wasd addicts... (azerty keyboard here, not used to wasd controls)

/!\
You'll need a recent browser to enjoy all of this game (especially music).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#49Audio(Jam)3.52
#117Mood(Jam)2.80
#122Graphics(Jam)3.27
#158Overall(Jam)2.92
#173Fun(Jam)2.63
#186Theme(Jam)2.33
#205Humor(Jam)1.54
#239Innovation(Jam)2.08

Comments

angrygeometry says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:35am

i liked it. it took a few tries to figure out what was what and i'm terrible at these sorts of games so i didn't finish, but i like that the boss attacks in time with the music (or it seemed that way?) but yeah, nice job.

N0W33t0rs says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:37am

Is it only me or is this really hard? Level A: The saucers were ok, but the next wave just blew me away. Nice graphics and sound.

Griz says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:39am

Every level besides level A seems so hard! Especially when there's much happening on the screen, as bullets are hardly visible then. One hit death feels like too much. On the other hand the game is pretty fun, and the music... It's music to my ears :)

Spouwny says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:44am

Nice game. I like the music and atmoshpere but the difficulty is a little bit unbalanced. The more upgrades we get the more easy it is to get new upgrades.

kill0u says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:17pm

Thanks for your comments :)

@angrygeometry: Yeah, I tried to sync the game with the music.

@N0W33t0rs & Griz: The game is meant to be difficult ;) But I can finish it, and I'm not the best at this kind of games :D

@Spouwny: Well, I didn't spend much time on balancing the enemy evolution, but you should have more and more ennemies as you upgrade your weapons. (no enemy evolution during a round though)
But if you only have level A weapons for example, the difficulty of levels B & C won't change.

berareu says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:21pm

A nice classic vertical shooter but in my opinion it's waaaay too unbalanced. The evolution is basically just a classic upgrade system for the ship.
Anyway it's kind of fun, nice presentation and music!

infernet89 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:48pm

It's normal that the enemies don't move smoothly, but jerky?

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Fun, but not very invative for gameplay

kill0u says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Yeah, kinda… I need to balance time / distance

dekart says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00pm

Easy to understand but very hard to play. Didn't manage to finish a single level :(

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:03pm

This was fun, but it was really hard, Good job.

Zamando says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:14pm

Really hard game! Nice game

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:15pm

Oh man! Anyone who has seen me play a bullet hell game will tell you, I LOVE BULLET HELL GAMES. Despite dying, a lot, this was actually pretty fun! I think the boss needs more variation in the attacks though, the pattern needs to vary by a few degrees so that I can't camp one area and always be safe.

kill0u says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:26pm

@Cake&Code: I'm glad you liked it :)
As for the boss, I wanted to keep the attacks sync'ed with the music, but Mathieu Hallouin made the music for me, and well it's a really good music but with few variations I could (or at least did) exploit for that.

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Nice music and mood. The interface design is pretty cool too - very EVE like. Also, I like it when people create a shmup, because I did that myself as well ;)

Switchbreak says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:40am

Nice work, I liked the sprites and the spacy background. It would be better if the ship moved faster, and the bullets weren't so small. The choppy enemy and bullet movement makes it really difficult once you need to maneuver to stay alive, I wasn't able to beat any of the levels.

daydalus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:26am

Always impressed with smooth running HTML5 games. I like the graphic design of the game and the art, but thought the bullets were a little small, which made it tough to dodge. Would like to have some sound effects for the bullets, explosions, etc. Overall, nice job though with all the trials you went through to complete ;)

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:26am

Your game is really hard. Especially for someone who sucks so much at this kind of games. I couldn't reach 5 stars in 5 rounds :( But neat idea and good job!

EatThePath says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:28am

I really, really like this in concept, put it's really insanely unforgiving. The dense bullet patterns, one HP ship, and greater-than-one-pixel hitbox all combine to make it painfully difficult.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:51am

Like the music. I'm no good at shmups.

Enimal says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:50am

The game was hard, that's cool, and the music and the atmosphere was awesome

MurrayL says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:47am

Good execution (although it's really hard!). It could really do with having smoother animation on the ship movement - it felt very jerky compared to the bullets.

heuermh says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:14am

Music was cool, very nice bass. Death was a little abrupt though, a moment to let it sink in would be nice.

cakemonitor says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:10am

One hit death makes it a bit difficult, and I don't know if it's just me but the frame-rate was really low - all the sprites flicked across the screen in a series of small jumps. The sprites are great and overall it's a good effort

kill0u says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:13am

About the frame-rate, it should be fixed in the current version (postcompo tab), I didn't balance distance/time between movements well during the LD >.<

mitkus says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Ok, I'm not the best shooter player and this was way too difficult, but the concept is nice. What it lacked mostly was "juice" if you get what I'm talking about. Enemy movement animations were not very good for example, and it was hard to tell when I shot them (more explosions!). I loved the atmosphere created by music and colours! Overall, not bad at all.

yettatore says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:24am

The ship games are always fun... This was no exception.

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:34am

The music is really great and synchronise the boss attacks with it was a nice idea.
Enemies movements patterns are classic but efficient, it's a pity that in the jam version they're a bit jerky.

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 8:37pm

it's very hard, you die way to easily. i got some stars but i wasn't sure what they did. the way the enemies move is a bit annoying to look at but i wasn't really able to get that far so maybe it got better. either way it looked nice, and the music was good, just a bit creepy sounding.

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 7:14pm

It is very frustrating and probably the most un-innovative LD 24 game I played yet.
The graphics look good and the music is amazing.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]