August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Unnatural Selection

by SaiKai - Jam Entry

Well hello there ... welcome to Unnatural Selection.

This game was made in 5 hours for the LudumDare 24 ( i started another game on day 1...but it wasn't any fun...so i scraped it in the last minute)

Because of the limited time frame there are some things missing(cool menu/ awesome graphics ... and so on)

In this game you play a meteor throwing thing who has the assignment to destroy the last dinosaurs on earth. ( Hold left mouse to aim, pull and let go of the button to throw)

In the left upper corner of the game screen you can see the amount of dinos you can let through before you lose.

Timelapse and postmortem will follow shortly ( as well as Linux and Mac builds .....if MonoGame works )

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#55Fun(Jam)3.37
#100Overall(Jam)3.22
#116Humor(Jam)2.41
#137Graphics(Jam)3.19
#152Innovation(Jam)2.69
#155Theme(Jam)2.62
#186Audio(Jam)2.08
#191Mood(Jam)2.37

Comments

TehSkull says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:18pm

This is so fun. I want this on my 3DS so badly. SO BADLY.

Bender says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:59pm

I'm a big fan of the meteor's graphics, it feels really powerful ! Funny for a 5 hours game, nice work.

CappaGames says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Nice game. It took me a while to figure out how to shoot. Thought it was point and click, but you must swipe in the direction you want to shoot.

DevWouter says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:29pm

I'm glad I always read the comments, otherwise I wouldn't have know you would need to swipe.

Killerbug says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:39pm

Well done! It felt really good playing with mouse, I think it'd be a smash playing with touch controls :)

90sml says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:48pm

This is so much fun. After I understood how to shoot, it was just nice to destroy enemies :)

AMSmirnov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:53pm

Level 4 is impossible. I killed only 3 or 5 dinos. Maybe with time your weapon should be more powerful?

Mach60KAS says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:09pm

Throwing meteors at the helpless dinosaurs is just the funniest thing. On this, we can all agree.

raarlac says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:06pm

Awesome game!

zkenshin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Fun, really liked how the meteors felt.

EatThePath says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:15pm

Nice idea. It looks like what dinos make it through influences the properties of the next wave, which is pretty cool. Two complaints: The aiming mechanic is pretty frustrating for me, I'd rather just have point and click. Second, the explosion sound effects seem to have very uneven volume.

Kayelgee says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:55am

very nice game, the only thing that I didn't like was that I could click outside of the window :D

Robotic says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:38pm

Nice graphics and gameplay, it took me a half minute to understand how to shoot meteors, but it felt great. A bit too repetitive for me.

dj_pale says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Good game in such a short time, destruction feels good ;) Could maybe evolve your arsenal, put up more obstacles etc. to vary the difficulty and vary the gameplay. It was quite easy to spam meteors straight down very fast.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:48pm

By the time you get to level 9, it's pretty silly. Would be nice if there were a couple tips in-game on how to play.

vilya says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:47am

Like the idea, nice twist on the theme. I think the gameplay needs a bit more balancing: you can do pretty well just by flicking the mouse straight up and down as quickly as possible, it would be nice if there was something about each level which meant you had to vary your tactics a bit (but I have no idea what that could be). But I did enjoy playing it, so... :-)

Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:25pm

WINE doesn't like XNA at all, so my list is pretty much nothing but XNA games I can't run, at this point.

goerp says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 11:51am

That's an original take on the theme I haven't seen yet. Throwing the meteors was fun and looked very good, so I'm not missing a cool menu or awesome graphics. For me you can add some more gameplay, that you had to aim for something more than a highscore, but for 5 hours impressive.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]