August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Aqualution

by alexandervrs - Jam Entry

You are an evolving newt in the ocean, try to survive and gain more experience in the dangerous depths.
This is your journey towards your final evolution.

How to Play:

Depending on your LV (Level) it will determine what can you defeat or not.
You gain EXPerience as you eat fish, start from the small then on higher levels you can eat bigger
Being in LV1 is usually not desirable as you're pretty much prey, try to get to at least LV2 as quick as possible
LV2, you start to become bigger and quicker, more of a predator but still not there, you cannot take out aggressive enemies just yet. You can push & launch loose rocks around though to your aid.
LV3 is the max level and allows you to take on aggressive enemies, break specific obstacles and attack/move faster.

To attack or eat enemies you'll need to use your Rush Attack (C key). You can Float up (X key) and in conjunction with the Up arrow key you can ascend faster and avoid fast direct enemy attacks.

Controls:

Arrow keys - Move
X Key - Float Up
C Key - Rush Attack
F11 Key - Toggle Fullscreen mode
Esc - Quit Game (Windows build)

You can access Easy Mode in the title screen by pressing "E", otherwise press any other key
than "E" to start the game in Normal Mode. In Easy Mode, there are extra health powerups and higher level enemies do not insta-kill you, it is not totally nerfed though so some people might enjoy this mode better. :)

Developed by Alexander Vourtsis
http://www.avibegames.com
Twitter: @alexandervrs

Graphics by BCS
Twitter: @buttercupsaiyan

Music by Jack Darcy
http://www.jackdarcy.com


Due to time constraints, some game mechanics were not reused as much (e.g. rock), some of them not used to their full extent (e.g. crystals) to construct puzzles and problem-solving and some of what we had in mind -or base code- were not implemented at all.
There were a lot of plans for deeper gameplay mechanics, but that's what we could put out in 3 days as bug-free as possible, hey... this is Ludum Dare after all. ;)

EDIT (09 Feb 2014): Fixed broken links, updated the Windows build to version 1.0.1.0 and added Linux build as well :)

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Mood(Jam)3.91
#15Audio(Jam)3.96
#26Graphics(Jam)4.28
#36Overall(Jam)3.61
#78Fun(Jam)3.18
#99Theme(Jam)2.98
#172Humor(Jam)1.90
#176Innovation(Jam)2.59
#742Coolness39%

Comments

Robotic says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:24pm

This is so peaceful :3 Nice atmosphear !

timtipgames says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:10pm

This was a beautiful and relaxing experience :) I just couldn't overcome the giant jellyfish :( Otherwise a great and fun to play game!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:30pm

Very nice! I also got stuck on the jellyfish :/ It wasn't clear what to do there.

alexandervrs says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:09pm

Oh sorry about the Jellyfish issue guys, I was running out of time so I didn't put proper demonstration and usage of the rock push mechanic in earlier levels. -Actually there is an "example" in the previous stage but it can be bypassed and the rocks aren't being used again at all after that level. I hate running out of time. :/

To beat the giant jellyfish you need to go at the sides of the area and you'll find some floating platforms and you'll notice they have rocks poking at the top, you need to launch the rocks at the jellyfish using the C key. The player's facing direction determines if the rock will be launched left or right when pushing C.

Glad you guys liked it. :)

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:09pm

This game has a nice feel and the graphics are beautiful

mr_Hk_ says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:31pm

Peaceful mood ! reminds ms of the good ol' ecco the dolphin.
I was a bit sad beeing maxed after lvl3, i would have loved to keep on evolving.
The games runs fine in html5. congrats.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Holy crap, did the jellyfish get even HARDER? lol

Thurig says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Looks good and plays fine.

dvdking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:59pm

Awesome graphics and music. I think it's a bit not intuitive where to go and what to do. I stuck on third level

cadin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Um, wow. This is amazing. The graphics and music are really beautiful. I can't believe it's an HTML game. I wish the character evolution was paced out over a longer period. I hit the level max right away. I was also expecting that I'd be able to eat some of the larger fish once I got bigger.

Very impressive!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:30pm

Amazing game!

I couldn't beat the giant jellyfish. xD

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:49pm

Very beautiful and atmospheric - good work!

Volute says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:34pm

Very good atmosphere, nice and relaxing music. I enjoyed the gameplay, it reminded me of Ecco the Dolphin.

It is sometimes frustrating that you can't go to the next area although there isn't anything blocking the way. Also, I would have loved to be able to evolve past level 3, with a different skin :)

leafo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Great music, great graphics. Game play started to get repetitive after playing a bit, but it was still enjoyable.

X-0ut says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:54pm

Excellent graphics, from the sprite work down to the god rays. Animation also very good. Water effect perfect. Being able to break scenery was a nice touch too.

chamberlainpi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:09pm

My favorite so far! I love underwater swimming AND eating! The music perfectly fits this underwater atmosphere. Really nice levels (so far! from those I've played). The animations and graphics are perfect too. Nice impressive HTML5 work :)

flyingbear says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:10pm

awesome graphics and atmosphere! the giant jellyfish wrecked me though.

renatopp says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:08pm

Great!

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:10am

I like how the atmosphere of this is game reminiscent of Aquaria for obvious reasons, while mechanics have basically nothing to do with it :-)

Kassoon says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:31am

super chill game, I just swam around for a few rooms without even realizing I could attack. Didn't mind one bit either.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:34am

To those puzzled over passage blocked from room to room: the round germs unlock the coral. They were going to be replaced with a giant amoeba holding a key inside and a door.

BenW says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:35am

I really dig the atmosphere of this game but I ended up having to look up the solution for the jellyfish fight. Also I was frustrated by having to re level up each time I died and by the fact that my progress in an area wasn't saved. I finally gave up at the piranha part.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:52am

The atmosphere created by this game was very lovely, The presentation was great! It took me a while to figure out that I could attack because I was entranced by the feel it created, Great Work!

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:13am

Absolutely lovely visuals. Music compliments them very nicely also. This feels like a genuine 16-bit game, which is very impressive.

goerp says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:05am

there is a very nice mood to it, for which the music is probably for a big part responsible. Played smoothly. It took a long time though, before an interesting evolution came along (other than growing) so for I while I thought it was repetitive.

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:27am

very nice presentation, can definitely see a lot of "ecco" and "evo" influence here.

cappelnord says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Very solid, VERY good graphics.

Porpentine says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:59pm

it's clear that you put a lot of effort into the graphics, i'd love to see everything up a bit closer? it feels a bit far away from the main character so i can't catch all the detail. anyways, very pretty

Nile says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:17am

Played yesterday and came back again to play again. Easy mode was certainly easier. Rather difficult to find the exits/new map points as they weren't really marked by anything by a black wall, but other than that, great music and gameplay.

Zed says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:48pm

An INCREDIBLY pretty game, with a bit of 'Ecco the Dolphin' about it (or at least, I thought so). Stopping the levelling at 3 seemed a bit silly, though. I sort-of ran out of things to DO after a while, but it was enough to just kinda drift around and listen to the music.

Per says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:36pm

Love the music and the graphics.
It worked perfectly in the browser as well.
Well done!

Cyboot says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:58pm

very beautiful graphics
solid gameplay
nice fitting music

all in all, great game, nice Job!

raver says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:42am

Nice water effect. Great graphics.

Sep 8, 2012 @ 6:18am

Really enjoyed the music and graphics, but the levels were so unnecessarily large!
I got to the level where you must break three pieces of coral (The level with the shark) but the last thing wouldn't fly into the coral so I gave up... :(

alexandervrs says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 1:34pm

@Pacifist Games, unfortunately it is a known bug here but cannot fix atm due to the rules. However you can either guide the bacteria keys in small batches or try to wiggle around the player so the bacteria comes to the right side. Sorry for that :(

Yes the stages were supposed to have more diversity, more gameplay additions and better layouts, but the time constraints killed our dreams. I think I did all the levels in around 2 hours and 1 hour playtesting them? Not enough time to make something as I wanted it really. :)

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Really nice mood, graphics and music. Very enjoyable experience overall. This game reminds me of another entry from this Ludum Dare, though the feeling is completely different: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=11391

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]