August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Genes Chase

by Mago - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Goal of each level is to collect genes represented by green icon. At the beginning of each level you can choose what life form you want to play as. Each form has different abilities and needs to collect different amount of genes.

CONTROLLS:
arrow key to move
ENTER to accept
END or Q to quit
S in main menu to mute melody

To run game you need Java JVM
you can download Java JVM from here:
http://java.com

**EDIT**
I have recompiled game under older version of Java so now it should work perfectly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#276Theme3.14
#409Humor1.96
#523Mood2.33
#532Audio1.81
#536Innovation2.47
#590Overall2.56
#593Fun2.28
#638Graphics2.19

Comments

hnjslater says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:03pm

What was the reason for requiring java 1.7? 1.6 is pretty standard everywhere, 1.7 not so much.

lurkingshadow says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:15am

text worked fine on chrome, could not understand game though.

ben657 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Nice idea, although as a frog, i could just jump infinitely and fly :p

Mago says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:53pm

@hnjslater, @lurkingshadow I didn't bother about that during compo. Later I noticed that people was having problems with newest Java. I will make 1.6 build in few days (when I will find some time)

@ben657 I run out of time at the end and didn't fully implemented jumping :P

Gidaio says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:04pm

The ocean level is WAY too huge, and doesn't have any scenery to break it up.

johnfn says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:21pm

There's an error when I try to play this game:


java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: ld/evolution/main/MainApplet : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:631)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:615)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:217)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:597)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.defineClassHelper(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:1017)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.access$100(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:68)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader$2.run(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:994)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.findClassHelper(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:958)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Applet2ClassLoader.findClass(Applet2ClassLoader.java:134)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass0(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:249)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:179)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadClass(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:160)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2ClassLoader.loadCode(Plugin2ClassLoader.java:678)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager.createApplet(Plugin2Manager.java:3045)
at sun.plugin2.applet.Plugin2Manager$AppletExecutionRunnable.run(Plugin2Manager.java:1497)
at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:680)

atraxgames says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Nice idea(reminds me the first part of spore) but need some polishing

Mago says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:23am

@hnjslater, @lurkingshadow
I have recompiled game under older version of Java so now it should work perfectly

@johnfn fixed

evilseanbot says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:09am

A solid attempt, but the platforming bugs are a pretty big issue.

amodo says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:42am

Music and graphics were in a way authentic and reminded me of the old days. Had some fun playing this through - especially as flying frog :D

Pyro says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:55am

Flying frog is the best!

Zed says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:34pm

Ahh! I closed the game and the music kept going! Game's pretty cool but, as someone else mentioned, that 2nd level is SO empty. It got really confusing, scrolling around on a static blue background - It was like I wasn't going anywhere.

Everything else is awesome, though

vigrid says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:43pm

Flying frog - yep. Saw that. Flew one. Fun little idea. I kinda started liking the music in game :)

tcstyle says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Whoa, the music is still playing after quiting the game. Anyway, nice, but annoying, soundtrack to write this comment.
I liked the idea to pick the right scheme to finish the levels. Got stuck in one of the selection screens, unable to choose the next form.

zx81 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:42am

A very good game, loved the small fishy thing!! The music was quite good as well!!

someone says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 12:36pm

Yay, flying frog!
The poison in the first level wasn't obviously poison. Also the sound effect for eating something is the same as dying which made it a bit confusing.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 6:41pm

I too noticed the infinite jump with the frog, but at least it enabled me finish the level by floating up to the higher areas!

With some more polish I could see this being a lot of fun with the evolution mechanic you have. It reminded me of The Silver Spire's mechanic (http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=15812)

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:15am

I have java, but game not loaded. I've updated this fucking java and game not loaded again. Fucking java...

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:17am

Solved the problem... but game is sooo BUGGY!. Can't play.

frogmaster says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:55am

Yeah, You can infinite jump with every character. This is because You can jump while You jump (yo dawg!). I couldn't find the last gene with the snake. Overall game is ok!

Gama11 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:01am

Nice little game. Controls felt smooth until the third level, jumping is kind of weird. It was cool that you can chose between different life forms each level - I don't really see why you'd chose one without any abilities though.
Collecting DNA was a bit counter-intuitive, it seems like you're losing DNA at first.
The levels could be improved, they're not very challenging and the ocean wasn't really well-designed.

Lacutis says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 9:10pm

I liked this game. I wasn't quite sure how some of the elements interacted, like what the difference between eating different things was. Overall though it was fun. I did manage to leave the level on accident and had to restart. The music was a little grating with headphones on.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]