Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The World Hates You - mcc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game uses an evolutionary algorithm to generate platformer levels. The goal is to create the hardest platformer levels possible (which are still winnable). A central online server is used to breed together the most difficult levels and propagate them to other, future players.

There is no win condition. The purpose of this game is not to be won. The purpose of this game is to get progressively better at killing you.

NOTE: Because the levels of this game are born in the cloud, this game will necessarily continue to change after the 48 hour Ludum Dare period completes. I fully intend to continue tinkering with and improving the breeding pool on the server after the 48 hour period.
NOTE 2: I did not test this at ALL before submitting.

UPDATE: This game was edited after the 48-hour period to fix a game-breaking bug (a big, critical chunk of data that was being collected was not being sent to the server) and to add a missing license disclosure. Nothing else was changed. The Windows and Linux versions were added after the 48-hour deadline and also incorporate these changes. You can find the originally uploaded mac version here http://vote.grumpybumpers.com/j/ld/24/1/

View mcc's journal. | View all entries by mcc

Ratings

Innovation4.38
Theme4.43
#7Overall4.13
#51Fun3.63
#170Audio3.00
#372Graphics2.93
#1080Coolness14%

Comments

wademcgillis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:26pm

The graphics match the audio matches the gameplay.

This game is brutal and wicked clever.

A tip of my hat to you sir and or madam.

tumoxep says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:28pm

Idea is very awesome.

diki says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:41pm

I concur: this is a consistent experience like the previous comment indicates. The scope is clear, the execution is clean and tight. Controls work very well.

I would welcome a button for 'This level is evidently possible, but not for me'. Also: The World Hates YOU for naming your file LD24.zip – can you imagine how many of those I have flying around right now?

nate427 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:23pm

The idea is just pure genius.

benderbinary says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:51am

Mother of all frustrations !0.o!

Porpentine says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:20am

i adore the ethos behind this. at this moment in time it's generating many blatantly impossible levels for me, but ahhh i want to see this principle applied to more games

Raptor85 says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:32am

server seems to be down, timing out trying to download files

mcc says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 3:40am

The server was down for a couple days, yeah. Sorry! While bringing it back up, I took the opportunity to make a few improvements to how level generation works on the server:

- Reset all levels (accidentally...)
- Server will no longer generate levels where you spawn outside the level
- Specimen numbers are no longer reused
- The server now ensures every round of breeding will include at least one beatable level. This is accomplished via INCEST. If an entire generation passes with no beatable levels, breeding will be performed against the last playable ancestor. (This should avoid the "everything is unbeatable!" problem that developed by the end of last week-- before, if an entire generation became unbeatable, evolution would basically stop.)
- There should be more variety now for people who try to play for a really long time. There's a handful of tanks now that are only accessible once you've already played several levels.

Porpentine says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:05am

levels are better now yay

Chaoseed says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:57pm

Pretty clever idea! I enjoyed playing and seeing what levels came about. However...I usually felt like I was testing myself against the controls rather than the level. I was bouncing and flailing all over the place. I feel like I'd have a lot more fun if I could be more in control of the "character".

Also, it seemed like obstacles would hit me even if it seemed like they were completely "covered" by neutral squares. Like, they would touch me diagonally, somehow. Like this:

O
XOOOOO

If I came from the right, the X would kill me.

One last thing I wonder about is the security. I didn't dig too deeply into the messages, but they look like XML sent over more-or-less HTTP...and they don't include anything about *how* the player won, only that they *did* win. I have this nagging worry that someone will approve all the unbeatable levels so the entire population becomes unbeatable. >_>

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:35pm

I agree with others, that I would like to have more "controlling" controls. And the collision detection was somewhat sketchy. But other than that, I had a lot of fun playing the same levels over and over again, and I actually saw a few of them get significantly harder. This is my favorite concept so far, and one of the best ones I've played. I really would want to see what would happen if you had 100 tanks and 1000 players playing them.

I hope I can remember to check out the levels in a few days!

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Awesome idea!

The version that I played felt a bit repetitive, I don't know if I was missing something. I played what felt like the same level about 3 times in a row.

But hey, I AM CONGRATULATIONS!!!

chuchino says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 1:18am

This is a really cool idea. I don't like the way the character controls at all though; the horizontal movement is very slippery and I couldn't figure out the logic behind the ever-changing jump height. The most interesting level I played was Tank 7, Specimen 507. Tank 7 seemed to have the best levels in general when I played.

eli says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 8:49pm

uhm WOW.

Love it.

Love the broken clinical feel. Love the terminology. Love the ambiguity of who is being tested and why. Also probably one of the more proficient games from a technical standpoint (central database, genetic algorithm, etc.). I saw some Twitter discussions from the sidelines and it seems like quite a feat.

Kind of opens the mind too, yeah? Like this stark kind of interface and what might lie behind it, if only the right commands or combinations of input could be found.

lekochen says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 8:33am

Love the concept, but some levels are not winnable.

moonmagic says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 3:15pm

You am congratulations! Finally played this for a few levels. I actually really enjoy the fiddly, perfunctory controls; they do a good job of letting me know that The World Hates Me. The victory sound is great. Everything works well together.

Cthulhu says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Extremely addictive game! Very nice job! This is exactly the kind of games that I would like to have made =)

A ranking system could make this game so addictive! Also, I suggest to show to the players the rating of the level and if the level have been completed once or never.

One of my favorites! Great job!

kraj0t says ...
Jul 11, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Oh how I would have liked to play this game :-(

Now the server is offline...

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]