Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

'The Neon Pink Philosophy' - Zed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A few things before I even get to TALK ABOUT the game...

There's two versions. One is Flash, the other a standalone .exe for Windows. The reason for this is that the Flash version requires a pretty competent processor. I made the game on a dual-core desktop, and the Flash version lags HORRIBLY on it (it's okay on my i3 laptop, though).

So if the Flash version is laggy for you, PLEASE play the standalone version instead. It is NOT fair to rate something you can't run properly, after all. Thank you.

SECONDLY, if you're the kind of person who cares, despite being hosted there, the Flash version isn't eligible for the Kongregate competition, due to lack of integrated API. I know some people got a bit tetchy about playing Kong games since that whole 'thing' happened, so I dunno, this information might be useful.

FINALLY! This game has fully voice-acted cutscenes that tell the story that is basically integral to the whole thing. They ARE skippable (via the 'Escape' key), but I'd really appreciate it if you'd watch them - You're judging, after all, and how can you judge content you've skipped?

RIGHT!

NOW ON TO THE GAME!

You are Fred, a small, philosophical pink thing, doing the bidding of an ominous disembodied voice from above.

Collect the green food things to add 10 points to your score, but be quick, because your score is dropping every second.

Try and avoid getting hit. Every hit you take will cost you a whopping TWENTY points, which is a lot. And now you're thinking "Wait, I CAN;T DIE?! Ahahaha! Where's the challenge in this?" Well, bub, the 'challenge' is in getting a high score. FOR A REASON.

There's a 'true' ending to the INCREDIBLY WELL-WRITTEN, VOICE-ACTED NARRATIVE that you'll only get to see if you can score more than 700 points overall. So y'know, put some effort in.

Move with WASD, aim/shoot when you're able to with the mouse (hold the left button down to shoot continuously), skip cutscenes with 'Escape' but, like I said, please don't.

That's everything, I think. If you encounter any bugs, grab me on Twitter (@dedhedzed) and I'll try and get them fixed as fast as I can.

Phew!

View Zed's journal. | View all entries by Zed

Ratings

Coolness100%
#5Humor4.19
#14Audio3.97
#23Fun3.82
#28Overall3.85
#46Mood3.64
#114Theme3.60
#150Graphics3.55
#442Innovation2.68

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:49am

I like the narrative :-) I chuckle every time it gets to those scenes. The decreasing score provides a good challenge! The graphics look positively neon. The loop is a bit repetitive but the witty dialogue more than makes up for it :-) Nice job!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:42am

Nice work making the voices different. Cutscenes are a tad long, I think. The short dialogue-interludes mid-level feel quite well, in contrast. Maybe concentrating a little bit of story in that could potentially work better (think Portal or Bastion)

..this is actually pretty good. It feels complete. The graphics are aesthetically pleasing, and the glowiness hides the detail quite well. It also gets kinda Spore-ish later on.

LOVE the music. Adventurous :)

And on the second stage I noticed "Oh, it's Evolution" :P

DiG says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:15am

The voice acting is amazing :D

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:01pm

Solid entry!

echa says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:03pm

Beautiful game.

iandioch says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:18pm

Haha. A great game, very polished feeling. I only got 399 points (the bulk of them in levels 1 + 2), so I can't comment on the "true ending", but what I saw of the cutscenes was very funny and enjoyable.
Difficulty? Pretty hard to get 700 points.
Music? the backing track got a bit repetitive after a while, but it suited the feeling of the game.
Graphics? The neon theme was nice and bright. Only problem was probably my own incometence: I kept thinking my gun-sight thing was an enemy, and tried to avoid it.
Fun? Very.
BUT:
It wouldn't exit? I tried escape, but it didn't do anything. So, it took away from the polished feeling a little bit.
Also, some green squares appeared too close to the spikey obstacles to be obtainable without harming yourself.
Highlight? Definately when Fred evolved the final time. I feel a meme coming on.

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:29pm

thats amazing and the best thing is the narrative :)

Baburo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Cool game :) One of the best audio work so far. Great music with good narratives and sound effects. Well done. Would've been cool if you could've eaten the smaller creatures when you grew up.

pereubu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:42pm

love the narration, high challenge, i really liked it :D

sudorossy says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:01pm

Voice acting is awesome. Controls are simple and easy to use.. Music is great, but could grate after a while.

Love the graphcis & story.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:21pm

I really love the story, the writing was more than excellent!

olav_st says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:39pm

Great game! The gameplay is simple, but the narration keeps it interesting.The only complaint that I have is that the music gets a bit repetitive after a few levels. All in all, very good.

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:27pm

The voices are cool, but I found the score mechanic to be a little too unforgiving.

Rex Peppers says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:44pm

Great job! I need to give it another go to unlock the secret level...

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:05pm

Haha unlocked the true ending, nice. Loved your cut scenes.
Decent graphics, simple and fast gameplay (I choose not to shoot but to focus on collecting the green stuff which worked great). Your game shines with it's audio, job well done!
-I'm actually voting a full humor bar for you, sir.

aeonofdiscord says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:12pm

glowwwww

Cell says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:35pm

hah

chamberlainpi says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:40pm

It was good enough to play through the whole thing lol. Level one was a little too long though. I thought for a moment... that's it? just eating green blocks? Then boom I completed the level :D

matheod says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:41pm

Lets see in source the true ending ^^

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:57pm

That was not enough to unlock the true ending ;(?...
I need to try again then - so far this is the best game I played, but during the second play I kinda miss the "skip" button

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Ah... sorry, I didn`t read that they are skippable. My bad :P

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Really neat game, mostly because of the narrative. It's really good fun though, and I like how it shows how story can drive the game as opposed to the other way around. Good one.

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:21pm

700 points, srly ?
How is that possible ?!
My best is 135 :/
Anyway, I think your time has come too and Ludum Dare should grant you two humor medals!

wademcgillis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:44pm

THE MUSIC IS HORRID.

That is all.

TinyPlatypus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Overall, very slick and fun with really nice and humorous cut-scenes. One, small issue I couldn't reach 700 as after three playthroughs I had 693 points and then on my fourth go started to lose points and didn't get to the 'true ending'. :( still very fun whilst playing, though!

VAMflax says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:57pm

Awesome!!

Game was great, music was fantastic, cut-scenes, (in a 48hr game!!!), were way funny!! :)

Top job!!

leafo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Really cool music, really cool voice acting. For such a simple game idea I found myself enjoying it a a lot.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:38pm

oooo. That made me chuckle lots. Will return to get the true ending. Can't wait to show other people this one.

I'm doing it!

Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:17am

Turned out fantastic, it's amazing how well that all came together. No one element is mindblowing, BUT everything works really well! There's no weak points.

Wan says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:23am

Pretty cool entry with no real downsides, impressive! Even the audio narrative is actually awesome ;)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:52am

Quiet fan of the scoring system, great idea as the whole game.

bukt says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:17pm

Absolutelly great! Voice is awesome! And game is really addictive :)

tcstyle says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:08pm

This looks and sounds great. Awesome voice-acting. Somehow the shooting in stage 3 broke the game on my computer. It became pretty laggy.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Wow, love combined originality of the story, graphics and gameplay! My only suggestion is that you speed up the evolution and game pacing in general. Other than that well done!

daydalus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:41pm

Nice work. At first I thought the voice-over cutscenes went on a little long but grew to like them ;) Gameplay is pretty fun, sometimes felt the bullet collision was a little inaccurate, but overall lots of fun. Great work -

Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:44am

The audio was really good, both cutscenes and actual music. The game has a really complete narrative that I thoroughly enjoyed. Overall a solid entry!

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:25pm

The voices were awesome!

Mago says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:41pm

Very very good game. I love cutscenes and story. Great art and music. I wasn't able to score 700 points its too hard :P

alvivar says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:56pm

AWESOME, I love it! The most funny game in the 50 games that I have rated since the beginning of the me rating stuff here, great mood and theme also.

Jamin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Fun game; the graphics and audio really rounded it out. Many thanks for a fine LD submission!

MurrayL says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:59pm

A damned good effort, Sir.

Sadly I'm rubbish at this sort of game, but I enjoyed it anyway!

Shmarah says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:16pm

YOUR ACCENT IS SO BEAUTIFUL~!

whilefun says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:15am

Really good job! :) I loved the satirical story and voice acting. The graphics and music were great too.

dr_soda says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 4:03am

Some of the most fun voice acting I've seen in the competition so far! The music is pretty nice too. I really like the color schemes, even if the graphics are rather simple.

I'm not a fan of the way the difficulty scales though. The way you have the game currently, becoming larger or faster both make your life harder, which hardly feels "right" for the theme, and is a somewhat frustrating mechanic in its own right.

kratorspore says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:54am

Solid, great narrative, engrossing gameplay. Saving this to my favorites list.

Gryxitl says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:50am

Love it. No way I'm getting 700 points though :P

Brassawiking says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:51pm

Awesome work with the voice over. Loved every bit of it =)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:24am

Loads of fun, but I couldn't unlock the ending.

brita_ says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 11:45am

I'll give you a 5star rating for nearly everything. Except for fun! It's really no fun trying to get 700 points and nearly not reaching above 100. It the limit was 200.. I'd give it a go, but 700?
Now thing is, I really, really wanted to see the other ending. Can't you just upload it? Pleaaase :-D

Dan C says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:58am

Cool! I had a giggle.

I didn't unlock the true ending though :(.

Zelen3d says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:01pm

I...AM...FRED!!!
:D Hilarious!
By the way, Getting 700 is really hard.

airdeck says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:07pm

Very nice, controls are nice and smooth

Cyboot says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:15pm

great game, very well narrated.

But i was a little disappointed with this "you need 700 points to see the ending thing" because i only get about 250 Points, and I am pretty sure that i wouldn't get much more if I tried it again.
It was too difficult to hold your points in the later levels, because the green things spawn to slow. So i didn't even try it a second time.

But nevertheless a really great game, well done, good Job!

Sep 17, 2012 @ 7:35pm

Great stuff -- love the controls, and first 5-star fun entry rated ;)

Haette says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:03pm

I'm... supposed to turn into the last thing, right? That's not just because I ended the stage before it with 666 points?

Awesome job, and the ending gave me a good laugh!

garygreen says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:41pm

Loved the humour and voice overs - the game was fun too. Not sure I could ever get 700 though. My best score of 43 seems a long way off that!

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:46am

I don't know if it's the incredible music, or the time limit, or just the sheer frantic atmosphere of it all, but no game I've played so far made me sweat as much as this. Quite a jolt of an experience.

Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]