August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

A Long Road to Happiness

by Wish I Was an Astronaut - 48 Hour Compo Entry

DISCLAIMER: This game is hard, and has a steep learning curve. One might venture to say that I enjoy torturing those who only want to be helpful and rate my game ;)

A game where you control a young protagonist named Violet in her search for a cat that she finds too fluffy to resist.

On this journey, she will encounter a large population of signs and other curious yet naturally occurring lethal deathtraps, and eventually (read, at the end of the game) learn a useful lesson about evolution: That it's terrible.

Controls are all explained in game, but only if you don't figure it out yourself. I aimed to have a tutorial system that doesn't treat the player like a three year old.

Features:
- 40 levels of increasingly difficult platforming spread across 4 different areas. The platforming is based off jumps, double jumps, wall jumps, and even placing your own blocks. There is also a workaround allowing you to skip levels if you have failed them a lot.
- An intuitive tutorial built into the early levels, allowing to to figure the game out on your own if you can, and helping you if you can't
- A soundtrack straight out of Hollywood, heavily orchestral, albeit a little short, and sound effects which fit in with the music.
- Cloth physics based graphics allowing for your character to have a dynamic hairstyle and dress.
- A level select which remembers what levels you have beaten , even if you quit the game.
- A perverted signpost and several Marilyn Monroe moments
- A terrible "I really hate this theme" last minute storyline.
- A cat. 'Nuff said.

A walkthrough will be coming up in the near future.
A level editor will also be released shortly afterwards.

KNOWN BUGS:
-Sometimes you will lose a placeable block for no apparent reason
-You can trap yourself in a freshly placed block

The game was made in Gamemaker 8.0 pro in case any of you want to check the source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#8Audio4.04
#58Overall3.68
#60Mood3.52
#62Humor3.33
#97Graphics3.79
#154Fun3.25
#379Innovation2.83
#618Coolness46%
#621Theme2.22

Comments

hungyg says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:54pm

Simply. Awesome. I count this game as the possible winner in multiple categories. The Cloth animaton was simply amazing too. Good job!

triliyn says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:56pm

This was really hard, and the controls were awkward, so I didn't find it very fun. I REALLY loved the graphics though. Her dress and hair flapping around were fun to watch even when I was too frustrated to continue.

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:01pm

A really great game, the best so far (for me).
Great graphics, music, hard, clever levels and humorous signs.
Awesome job, well done! That's five stars!

plule says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:21pm

Wow, great visuals. Really hard too.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Thank you all! Feedback is always much appreciated :D

And yeah, I got rather frustrated with some of the physics (notably the double jump's habit of making you turn quickly, dunno if that's what anyone else thinks), but by that stage, I had done too much level design to turn back.

Put in the level skipping as a sort of apology for that :P
Thanks again!

PaulSB says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Don't know if it's just me but I can't seem to download the exe from Dropbox it just shows a page with the filename and no download option?

tompudding says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:39pm

The music is sublime, and the level design is great, fantastic job. I love the sound when you jump, and it goes without saying the hair and cloth are a great touch.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:43pm

PaulSB: Yeah, should probably have thought that over a bit more. Swapped the link with a direct one, hopefully that should work for everyone :)

Zccc says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Good job!

Jorjon says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:54am

Funny game. It's a shame there's no timelapse.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:09am

Timelapse now up! :D
Thanks for the reminder :P

marudziik says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:50pm

While there are interesting graphics (cloth sim FTW) here and there's pretty decent audio, I find the difficulty much too hard with these controls. These are just too slippery for this kind of game IMHO, when you really need that every bit of precision. In addition, a very steep learning curve doesn't really help: it easily gets frustrating. But on the other hand, the game feels complete and consistent - it's a very good entry. And Kudos for a girl protagonist. :)

Raptor85 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 1:13am

controls are really awkward, the jumping felt both floaty and super fast at the same time, it was weird. The double jump timing is super narrow too, you basicly have to mash the key as fast as possible to jump off the same wall.

RawBits says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 2:41am

Well what can I say? I just simply love it! Everything in it. All 2D games should have detials like this! Even if most of it was base code what I don't use. I promise I will play this through - not on video though.

tomhunt says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:41am

Nicely done! The music and sound effects are nice. The obvious hints and *very* gradual introduction make it pretty accessible in the beginning. I got stuck on the wall jump level, though. Could not get the hang of wall jumping.

Miltage says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 3:10pm

The cloth simulation had me seriously impressed. Game is damn difficult though. I couldn't get past the wall jump level.

A great entry nonetheless.

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 8:43pm

This game had great graphics and music, and a pretty polished level select / user interface. I really liked the skip level mechanic too. Well thought out and implemented well.

What I didn't like were the controls. I looked through all the levels, and they were all pretty well made and were all interesting. But IMO, the controls are not precise enough to handle all of the precision jumps. In IWBTG, the game is filled with very precise controls, and you have VERY precise control of your character.

I haven't played Jumper 3 in a while, but I liked the way the character accelerates horizontally. IMO in a game with precision jumps, your character should accelerate the same in the air or on the ground, but that's subjective. Also, I wasn't really able to get used to the character accelerating so fast. I found myself having to tap the arrows extremely lightly and quickly. I would have preferred the character accelerate more slowly, so you have more control, and more time to react. And I was also confused as to why, when you double-jump, you instantly accelerate to max velocity in that direction. To me it made the character hard to control. And as a small point, I think that wall jumping up the side of a wall should have been a little easier, but I guess it was easy enough.

Idk. I guess I just thought the controls were a little finicky for some parts. But I really did enjoy the challenge in some of the levels, even though I was only able to beat 15. The levels were pretty fair. Also, I thought the placing block power-up was pretty cool. There's a lot of content for must 48 hours. Nice job!

Sorry I rambled a bit. I just had a lot of thoughts I wanted to get out about the game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]