August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

What's All The Rush For

by batiali - Jam Entry

WATRF is a game where you try to evolve as fast as possible using different key combinations for different creatures. But for what purpose?

It's up to you to find out...

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.32
#4Graphics(Jam)4.79
#10Audio(Jam)4.04
#16Mood(Jam)3.74
#18Overall(Jam)3.83
#21Humor(Jam)3.57
#40Innovation(Jam)3.48
#63Fun(Jam)3.29
#858Coolness32%

Comments

Priapus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:08am

Although the game plays like a long QTE-event I actually liked the gameplay. The graphics were simple, yet effective and beautiful.
A job well done!

Haddy22 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:00am

Loved it- short but clever and unique. 5 stars from me :D

YopSolo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:17am

excellent !

FoxFiesta says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:20am

Perfect ! Fun to play and beautiful ! 5 stars !

grifdail says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:21am

Really nice game !!!! A lit short however!

matheod says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:28am

27.6M ;-)

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:33am

Lovely little short-story about evolution. Very pretty graphics!

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:37am

Cool graphics, sound and concept! The only let down was the gameplay itself unfortunately - QTE games are quite repetitive. If you could make it into a simple platformer like Robot Unicorns Attack, this game would have been legendary :)

VagabondEx says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:10pm

So far the best game I've seen here :D Sometimes the buttons seems to be stuck, it won't process the keypress, but it is still great! Good Job, mate

hypp says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:00pm

Very nice

robcozzens says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:07pm

That was really polished! Great job.

Wydra says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Looks and sounds beautiful! Very good work.

Sometimes I would need to hold down the keys longer for it to register, so it was hard to get into a rhythm.

Aceria says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:49am

Love the graphics and music, but I'm not that charmed by the gameplay. It played quite smoothly (although sometimes it didn't seem to register the key press, but that didn't bother me at all), but it was just a bit too repetitive to me. Still nothing but love from me, great job.

Devaki says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:52am

Beautiful gameplay, loved art !

Kassoon says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:18am

Even the music evolves! Perfectly bite-sized for LD.

batiali says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:38am

Thanks for all the great comments! Button stuck issue was actually a design decision (it gets faster for it to register) The idea was to give a feeling of rhythm to the players but I think it was a bad idea :)

Removed it for the post-compo version, we also made a performance deal sponsorship with kongregate, so... Yay!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Pretty game and excellent use of the theme, I liked the gameplay, music and the ending was really nice too!

jplur says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Hey my game also has a pixel sized penis in it.

lekochen says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:00am

Very neat. I love how it ends.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]