August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Upgrade

by Fenmar - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are trapped in a cyber-labyrinth and need to get out. Collect DNA to upgrade yourself and finally be able to escape. Use WASD or the arrow keys to move. Space to jump. If you have an up to date Google Chrome browser and a compatible gamepad, you can also play the game with your gamepad.

Made with HTML5, Javascript and the Canvas element (webGL). Tested with Google Chrome and Firefox. The latest Google Chrome build also supports gamepads, at least I was able to play it with my xBox controller.

Makes use of three.js, jQuery and gamepad libraries.

Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#114Fun3.38
#200Graphics3.38
#210Mood2.96
#216Overall3.27
#452Theme2.69
#464Humor1.82
#497Innovation2.57

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:03am

Pretty cool. Very short, but played really well.

pknowles says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:35am

fun game. well done

kj654321 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:57am

Very polished and fun.

imef says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Frow time to time, I go through the walls. But overall good game!

Vordux says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:29pm

Nice to see a HTML5 game, the 3D was smooth and I liked little details like the squares lighting up.

Your idea behind using one level and adapting it based on player-met conditions is excellent. Something I would like to see implemented in other games in a variety of ways.

Datw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:32pm

Very short and fun. I specially liked the way it looked, I dunno why.

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:22pm

Very nice, but it needs more levels, and more upgrades. :)

Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:13am

This game surprised me a number of times. For one, it loaded almost instantly. With an internet connection as slow as mine, this boggled me, how were you able to achieve that? And it's in 3d as well? Another thing is that the movement is surprisingly fluid and smooth which made it fun to move around. I hated the backtracking though. Nice work!

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:54am

pretty standard mini-platformer collecting items, well executed though. physics were a little bad at times however, on a few occasions i actually fell through a floor or wall and after you have double jump for some reason occasionally it wouldn't execute the second jump.

Fenmar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:37am

@Accidental Rebel: Thanks :) I didn't even optimized for file size XD The uncompressed game is around 600kb in size with the 3d library being the biggest part. But it's not Flash (I don't know why but Flash game are almost always bigger than HTML5 games...) Also, the textures are procedurally generated.

gnx says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:50pm

Nice looking game. Shame for the lack of sound (at least nothing played in my chrome). This kind of game would probably benefit from some procedural creation so that replays would bring new problems to tackle :)

Rialgar says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Well done, one thing to level design: as I tried to collect every... thing I could see, I never saw the fire wall problem, would have been nice to make the player pass it before beeing able to shut it down.

Per says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:02pm

Here is what Chrome 22.0.1229.26 beta-m says:

Uncaught TypeError: Cannot read property '0' of undefined gamepad.js:6
r gamepad.js:6
f.getState gamepad.js:8
render game.js:611

chunkyguy says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:09pm

This isn't working in Safari, then I tried with Firefox. It's nice game, I enjoyed it. Is refreshing the only way to restart?

Per says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:42pm

Got it to work on another laptop.
I enjoyed playing this!
I have to try that gamepad API as well in my future games :)

Fenmar says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:04am

@chunkyguy: Yes, refreshing is the only way to restart the game.

@Per: I'm glad you liked it. Did you also have the Chrome+xBox controller combination? It's the only one which worked for me...

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:39am

Cool game, with interesting challenges to figure out. The controls were pretty frustrating - the jump height seemed inconsistent (it took me about 30 tries to make the double jump you need to do right after getting that power), and jumping off platforms took weirdly accurate timing - I often slid off as I pressed the jump button, which is frustrating when there are no save points. It would have been better if you got bumped back just to the last mutation, not to the start. Simple 3D graphics are cool; the animation and camera work are great. Nice job.

Misfit says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Damn, this little game is addictive and gameplay is great! Good job!

Sep 8, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Looks great, feels great. I like how the blocks light up when my cube guy slides over them, and the background and the parallax effect. The controls are pretty good too, though it took me some time to figure out that you can hold space longer to jump higher.

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 5:00pm

I failed.
I do not like platformer games.
The effects were good.

pardue says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 6:24pm

This is a fun game, I like the graphics and the gameplay.

jfroco says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Nice gfx, very fun. BGM would add a lot. Congrats.

Sep 17, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Very solid and playable platformer, the blocks lighting up was a nice visual touch, enjoyed playing this

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]