August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

SEW

by Cell - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Sewers of England at War

Ever wondered what would happen if humanity stopped evolving? Insects, Animals made hybrids, they did keep evolving,

the did reach our intelligence...

Quickly! Down into the sewers,

For the last stand of humanity.

- Cellius Shakespare
ps: do you have problems with loads of flashy particles, please do not play this game for more than a few minutes.

Game works under Wine (linux)
and windows ofc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness94%
#59Graphics4.04
#71Mood3.46
#123Fun3.35
#164Overall3.38
#165Audio3.02
#356Innovation2.88
#396Humor2.00
#610Theme2.26

Comments

Cell says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Used 7 Hours, 3 of them on tweening and Linux support.
Be fair.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 8:22pm

Cool effects. Fun to play.

Quentin says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 9:48pm

Really awesome effects, watched him make some of the later stages of the game. Well done!

farmergnome says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:38am

Love the effects Cell!

panzermancer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:41am

Besides the whole "do I listen to this awful noise on repeat or play in darkness" thing, it was pretty decent, considering, as you said, you made it over the course of 7 hours. Although I'm pretty sure bouncing off the walls like that isn't really a thing.

Jamin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:15am

Hey dude...

__Windows__
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/34397004/Node/SEW%20Cellusious.zip

__Linux__
https://dl.dropbox.com/u/34397004/Node/SEW%20Cellusious.zip

Do you have a Linux release to post? That could be awesome!

mappum says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:19am

I'm really impressed. This was fun, and I like that it was simple.

I would love to see a full-featured game like this (with online multiplayer, more weapons, more enemies, etc).

This seemed pretty limited because there was only 1 kind of enemy, so as it wasn't getting harder it wasn't engaging. Also, turrets are OP.

But other than those complaints, this was genuinely fun and unique, good job.

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:51am

Fun to play! Easy to play. Not so good for my stomach. Still a great entry!

Cell says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:10am

@Jamin - I did use 2 hours to make it work on Linux under Wine.

@Mappum - There is 9 kinds of enemies. play for a while and you'll see the full potentinal of the game.

@Everyone else - Thank you! :)

Sos says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:23pm

I love the lighting efects! Great job, man!

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:18pm

The visual effects were great, but the screen shake is a little too intense I think. The shooting noise could do with some variation! Nice game though :)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Great game. The rounds are a bit long i think, and the towers are to weak later on. But the alpha-lighting brings a nice atmosphere to the game.

Citiral says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Really good, I loved the graphic. The gameplay was a bit lackluster though, but it's amazing how you put this together in 7 hours.

Loyalty says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:03pm

I liked the game, but its a bit monotonous
However, for 9h of work a great game, even when the SFX gets irritating after some time

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Interesting looking game, but a bit monotonous. I way in the comments that there are nine types of enemies, but I only think I saw 2, and I played for a few minutes just mowing down what I could find. The turrets didn't seem that useful as they were destroyed way to quickly.

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:06pm

It was an interesting game. The turrets kept missing though and whenever I ran into a wall I bounced like some sort of basketball. Setting that aside, I thought it was pretty fun.

Maacus says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:07pm

Really cool effects, with the camera shaking and everything. Almost got dizzy. Fun to play at first. After I set up turrets everywhere that killed everyone directly at spawn it was a bit boring.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:32pm

Really liked the use of lighting, created a good atmosphere. I liked the turrets and traps as well, was fun setting up a wall of guns and luring the enemies into it

codesavage says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:20pm

This game almost feels like a more violent version of Pacman. :D It's nice that you can use turrets strategically to your advantage... although having several turrets can make the screen shake almost too badly to play when you are all firing at the same time. Certainly one of the most visually interesting games I've seen in this compo so far!

Jamin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:10am

It hates the Intel chip on my laptop (running under Wine), but it runs great on my home workstation.

Beautiful game!

amodo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:15pm

I really liked the athmosphere and effects!

ratking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:24pm

Well done, I like the visuals very much!

madpew says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:30am

Love the tweening, even if it's a bit too much sometimes. I somehow feel that I played this wrong, as it was very easy once I surrounded myself with turrets. I did expect something in your usual artstyle. how wrong I was! Well done!

whilefun says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:25am

I liked it. The screen shake effect was nice, but got craaazy when I had 3-4 turrets and mega magic fireball ability. It started making me dizzy :S Good music, and I like the "scene from Alien in the ducts with the flamethrower" vibe :)

RawBits says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:26pm

I liked this game really much! Effects like shaking give a lot for the mood. I felt like I hold a BFG and bear the knockback of it. :)

It's hard to control in tight places with the accelerating and bouncing machanics though. And didn't think traps are working or at least I never saw one doing something. Also I find a bug when the game loose focus the mouse starts scrolling the playfield and can't get back to the original view.

free_napalm says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 5:36pm

Nice atmosphere, smooth gameplay. I really miss different enemies though.

sev_inf says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Cool graphis and audio

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]