Ludum Dare 31
Theme:
Entire Game on One Screen

Judging ends in:
It’s time to Play and Rate Games!

PlayRate80Star

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

2-deoxyribose

by Gib - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The platypus are angry, because evolution has fucked them up. So they decide to mutate their own DNA, and kick some asses before the extinction hit the race. Simple as that.

You can choose up to 3 mutations before a game. Each of them brings some advantages, but sometimes some trouble too. Their names and effects are hidden at first, but you'll be able to unlock them by lasting at least 30s in a level.

Try to combine the most powerful mutations to obtain the best score :)

In game, fire with the mouse, move with the Arrow Keys or WASD, reload with CTRL or R and mute with M.


I used Flashpunk with FlashDevelop, Photoshop and Bfxr.

I'll probably update a bit this description tomorrow, a bit tired at the moment . Good night yo.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#25Humor3.72
#41Overall3.78
#43Fun3.67
#55Theme3.87
#63Mood3.51
#146Innovation3.42
#193Graphics3.40
#308Audio2.58
#791Coolness36%

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:23am

gah! W and A keys dont seem to work.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:50am

Looks neat! I love the art style and the way those guys want to get bitches :D

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:44am

A bug happen the enemy generators stopped and I am alone for so long time on shooting field :(

But the game is so amazing I like it :)

PapyGaragos says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:14am

awesome!

Enimal says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:26am

It's an awesome game, congrats.

Pitoum says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Wonderful. True story bro.

FredericRP says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:45pm

Great game, I wanna know every mutation !

kidanger says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:00pm

The mutation system transform this classic shooter game into a really cool game, very nice !

zkenshin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:36pm

Having to discover what all the evolutions are definitely hook you and makes you want to keep playing. Fun game :)

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:09am

Hay, man! It's really awsome! I like humor and visual design. Really, I like geometrical animals. Animation is good too. Gameplay also very addictive and interesting. I promise you, that I beat the game later!

Pierrec says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:05pm

Y U NO WRITE WE'RE SUPPOSED TO CLICK ON THE MUTATIONS?
(great game)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:02pm

platypus + mutation = great game for sure.
Sometimes we get out of the screen and there is no way knowing if we are coming back or running away from the scene. Some arrow to indicate our position or a scrolling could be a solution.

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:21pm

I didn't expect it from the main screenshot but this is an awesome game!
loved every second of it

darokin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Great game ! I though it would be quickly boring at first but the mutations really help the whole thing. It's annoying the lack of accuracy at the beginning, but it's also what give the taste to the game, and why a 'accuracy+++++' mutation is needed ;)
It would have been great if the previous mutations selected where memorized from level to level.
Overall nice game !

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:53am

Those unlockable mutations sure add a lot to the game! Found myself playing it for a lot longer than I thought I would, fun game!

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:33pm

Great art style!

Spotline says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:05pm

Great game !

eyehawk says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:41am

Fun game! I'm a big fan of retro style games. I always love a good geometry wars game so this was cool for me! I have a few things that would help improve:
1. Get rid of the screen shake when you're firing
2. Bound the player within the screen (you can float out accidently)
3. Allow the player to fire continuously (no reloads)

dector says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:34pm

First game I meat today with good humor.

Gib says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:54am

Thanks for all your feedbacks guyz o/

Eldaryze says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:50pm

Excellent game, very time consuming!
Unique complaint : we should not be able to go out of the screen.

Miltage says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Fuck yeah!

2 things: You should prevent the player from leaving the game area and I encountered a bug where enemies would get stuck in the top left corner (0, 0)

Other than that, awesome game.

JaydenB says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:17am

I really loved this! Great job for 48 hours!

airdeck says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:59pm

I really enjoyed this one. Simple, fun, humorous, and addicting.

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:01pm

Whoa! Amazing style, you really nailed down the look and feel of the game.

The idea is very cool. I'd say that it would work better if you adjust the difficulty level, or create some kind of goal. Right from the first time, I was playing for way longer than 30s and was more interested in seeing new mutations, so I kept killing myself on purpose.

Make it harder! :D

But nicely done! Loved all the dialogue and the mutations are also pretty clever.

matheod says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 11:26am

Nice game but neer more enemy ;)

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Fun game, well crafted, and funny. The only complaint I have is that it was really fun to discover the mutation effects, but it was so slow to do so. One modification might be that the longer you last, the more mutations you can discover? I think that would be fun. Nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]