August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Chromosomatrix

by LegacyCrono - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Chromosomatrix is a top-down shooter. Kill the baddies and collect their gene codes so you can evolve yourself. Each gene in your chromosomatrix increases your power, speed, defense or recovery. Evolved genes has its power multiplied. You can evolve by making rows or columns of the same gene codes.

WASD to move, mouse to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#129Graphics3.63
#154Overall3.40
#156Theme3.47
#189Fun3.16
#226Mood2.93
#257Audio2.74
#288Innovation3.05
#816Coolness35%

Comments

pknowles says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:35am

lots of fun. good balance and polish

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:56am

Yay! I broke it!

All I see is the upper left quadrant of the sphere, with the title cut off at the lower screen-border. Nothing is happening :(

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:59am

Works on Kongregate, apparently.

Love the idea of collecting genes, nice work! Shooting is punch enough, but the view is a bit too close to the battlefield to my taste. Great piano-intro :)

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:58am

Liked it, but there are three things I'd like to point out:

1. Title screen is a little confuse to me. I didn't know what to right away do to start the game, so I felt like it was bugged

2. If there are no enemies on the screen, I can't really feel at which speed I'm moving

3. The lack of information explaining which letter does what to my character.

I really liked the mechanics and gameplay though. The mood was kinda cool too! I liked the soundtrack too.

Good game! :)

FrederickK says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:45pm

It took me a while to know how to level up and even then I think it is too subtle, it could have a better feedback.
The art is good and well polish, nice job!

Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:29pm

Was a good challenge

Kumquat says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Pretty good. I don't quite understand what is the goal of the game.

McFunkypants says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:10pm

I absolutely LOVE the plasma fire effect on the title screen planet. Really nice look and feel. Well done!

Teknik says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:07pm

amazing game!!

juaxix says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:05am

This game is pretty, i like it more than others very similar:
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=15106
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=10605
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=14039
* http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=15601
because of the gameplay, smooth :)

Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:24am

I really liked this, too bad there was such a epic title theme but no gameplay music. grabbing the letters and making them stronger by combining was very neat idea too.

My only complain is that the waves take quite a long time to appear, they should be faster.

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:32pm

I was really impressed with the graphics, and the intro was quite amazing. The sounds and the general atmosphere were also very captivating.

I found the game to be really hard, and although I love that in a game, I'd only suggest offering a way to quickly respawn, since there'll be a lot of deaths.

Nice entry!

Pô, podia ter dito tudo isso em português, mas ninguém ia entender :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]