Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Beetlefield : The Forecast - Benjamin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

---- GOAL ----

Bid for the team that will win the battle.
If you success the loser team gain a new evolution.
Then, you'll have to think again the issue of next battle until you fail.

---- DNA CODE ----

On the gameover screen you can generate a DNA Code for saving the best beetles team.
You can exchange those codes with friends and make them fight in the skirmish mode.

---- MY BEST DNA ----

-> benjamin;10;0;6;1;9;7c940 <-
please tell me if you can beat it :)

---- WARNING ----

I had no time for a loading screen so please be patient with the white page :)

View Benjamin's journal. | View all entries by Benjamin

Ratings

Coolness100%
Innovation4.26
#5Overall4.17
#7Theme4.34
#24Fun3.81
#39Graphics4.16
#39Audio3.66
#100Mood3.30
#224Humor2.53

Comments

ultrasnowfire says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:14am

Realty fun game to play! Got addicted to it after about 2 minutes!:)

deepnight says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:02am

Amazing ! :)

jsjwooowooo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:10am

Great game! This take on the evolution theme is quite ingenious and well-implemented. If you wanted to know the small issues I experienced, I didn't hear any sound, just letting you know in case there was supposed to be any, and one time the description boxes for the powerups were stuck open, obscuring the field a bit, but that only happened once.

Issues aside, this was quite awesome and fun! I wonder how much deciding the battle goes to the setup of the bugs, but either way, picking and voting and watching feels wonderfully epic!

LogGiant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:17am

I think this game is amazing! I played an earlier build you posted, and I really like the extra effects/evolutions you added since then!
And the skirmish mode is also a wonderful idea, in fact here is my wonderful team:
Hototo;0;5;8;14;3;0;6472d

MasterBaldwin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:40am

Awesome game :) Loved every bettle killing, explosing tearing, upclose blade blasting minute of it!

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:58am

Quite funny to play and see how things evolve. But the instant "gameover" is a bit frustrating.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:34pm

jsjwooowooo > for the sfx I can hear them here, If anyone have the same problem please let me know. This is the first time I try to write music on a LD game I really hope you can hear (or suffer ) it :)
For the hint box problem, I think I will add a post compo version with some corrections.

Barktroll says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Awesome game, can't stop playing it.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:27pm

Interesting, but wish I could do a little more than just vote on who wins

Pixelulsar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:30pm

Really fun, and very good use of the theme. One of my favourites.

Sanguine says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:34pm

I love it! Nothing comes to mind that is annoying or badly designed. It's just like cockfights, but with beetles!

ionium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:16pm

Port it to tablets - you will make gorillions.

midgard says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:11pm

ALL good mother of god this is an awesome game!

Midgard's Army;7;9;4;12;26736

Cipher says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:12pm

This should win the compo

flyingbear says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:12pm

cool concept for a game, and matched the theme nicely. It really got me rootin' for my beetle team. Might've been nice to have just a little bit to do while the fight was going on. The beetle leg animations really impressed me for some reason =)

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:33pm

Only issue I got with the normal gameplay is that it is almost like playing who wants to be a millionaire, but without the life lines =) Something to help you get up to the higher levels.

farmergnome says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:31am

Awesome game!

omaha says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:50am

This is an amazing game. So much polish.

yettatore says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:55am

Guau! Too polish!

Mamick says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:34am

Fantastic game! I played it so many times until I could beat your team (Me;5;8;10;13;13;1;b44e3). Watching battles got a bit tiring though, and a fast forward button might be nice.

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:35am

THE best entry I've seen yet. Good graphics, sounds and music.
The game mechanic are also very original and well made. Kudos for you, sir.

marudziik says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:07am

Wow, I'm speechless. Awesome. Just awesome.
I don't know if it's my computer, but when there are a lot of beetles and bullets on the screen, it slows down a little (not much, it still works perfectly). Also, something to reset the game without refreshing the page would be neat.
Nevertheless, perfect entry.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:44am

marudziik > There should be a menu button to letting you go back to the menu... You had nothing poping up at the end of fights ?

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:58pm

Very solid game. Graphics, sound, etc are very well done. It's funny how I found myself rooting for my team even though I had no control - pretty good AI to have the beetles battle it out for so long. Would love to see this game concept expanded where you can buy different traits to build an army and challenge others.

benderbinary says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:45am

Pretty, pretty, pretty and addictive!

Andrei Barsan says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:57am

Really, really fun! :D I enjoy this type of game so much! Well done - incredibly polished, even for a regular game developed in a month or so! I liked the AI a lot! I would really enjoy reading a post-mortem or something describing some of the game's technical details!

Vladp995 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Very addicting! Amazing game :D

Vladp995 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:15pm

BUG: When only one larva left you lose even though the larva transforms a second after

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:50pm

Easily the best graphics I've seen. Looks like a published game. The gameplay, though, had a tendency to be frustrating - even when one team had an obvious advantage (Blade/Elite vs Intimidate/Intimidate), it seemed like the outcome could still go either way.

Vladp995 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Check out my army "Vlad;12;6;15;1;6;13;11;af6ac".
Right now I've beaten every other army on that page :)

Porpentine says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:52pm

ahhhh i love gladiator style games, nice job on...everything!

Porpentine says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:00pm

gyahhhh, i love the balancing act of learning when to change sides, this is one of the best entries

sPe says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:43pm

That is some really clever interpretation of the theme! In my opinion the fights feel a bit too random due to the movement and shooting behavior; and could also be a bit faster, but that may be in some degree subjective. However the game mechanics is very impressive for 48h.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:11am

What a great game!!! The graphics are amazing especially considering the time. Very slick well put together game. Impressed!

90sml says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:37am

The idea is awesome. The skirmish mode is great and can get addictive.

My army is so bad ^^ Dams;9;6;af064

amidos2006 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:42am

that's incredible :)

Yakka says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:51am

This game is awesome. Seriously! Great art, music and gameplay. Simple idea really well realised.

timtipgames says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:58am

this game is brilliant. Great gfx, funny and addictive idea.

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:38pm

Well, I think this is my winner. It's 1) Addictive 2) Beautiful 3) Sounds good 4) Fits the theme and it feels like a lot of polish has gone into this. Really exceptional, well done!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:21pm

My best army is unbeatable : Demianthekiller;0;0;12;12;12;12;2;2;2;2;cd17c

Mister 3.14 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:37pm

My army:DNA;0;12;15;6;2;14;b50c9 !
Very good game !

keenblaze says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:44pm

The most innovative game I've seen here! Plus very well polished. I think has a great future!

Mister 3.14 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:18pm

Twinoid en force !

keenblaze says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:09pm

Benjamin,check this out! rrrr;1;3;15;5;0;6;2;32355
This is super army :D

mr_Hk_ says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:25pm

very cool game, but i do prefer monkey rather beetle =)

fun yet pretty stressfull

marudziik says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:11pm

@Benjamin Yeah, at the end of the fights, but what if I wanted to go back during the fight, the voting or just after selecting skirmish mode? :) As I've stated before, this is perfect anyway. :)

Thurig says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:13am

Fun game with great game play!

echa says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:31am

Great!

Mister 3.14 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:13pm

BEST ARMY EVER >> thopie;2;10;8;4;8;12;9;11;0;7;1;10;15;8;2;14;117c0
comme quoi, avoir une mauvaise connexion peut être bénéfique ;)

dr_soda says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:27pm

This is both thematically appropriate *and* fun! Great job on the idea! I like the AI, and even though your interaction is limited so simply betting on the winner it's still really entertaining to just watch the fights go down.

Jiggawatt says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:53pm

NONONO-- YESYESYES! SHOOT! SHOOT! NO GODDAMMIT HOW COULD YOU ALL MISS IT WAS 3 VS 1 AND HE WAS RIGHT NEXT TO YOU.

Oddly exciting for a zero-player game. I guess it's because the mechanics are simplistic so it feels fair to estimate which team to bet on and to understand how a match develops.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:17pm

@Jiggawatt " A zero-player game " :D I have to use that as a subtitle

@marudziik You're right I have never implemented esc key during play on any games whereas I appreciate it on others games :) I will do it on next version.

I'm currently working on a post-compo version with no memory-leak, and new habilities. I already finished POWER, OFFENSIVE_BOUNCE, SALVO, CANNIBALISM, SEEKER_BOMB and EXALTED.

Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:19pm

New Favorite! This game held my attention for the last half hour! The unpredictability makes it interesting to watch, and the hope of seeing hyper-evolved teams fight is a great incentive to keep trying. Great Work!!!!!!

zazery says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:41am

This is so awesome. The DNA code sharing is awesome.

Kmad says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:50pm

Brilliant concept and very polished. You've got some great ideas in there like the DNA sharing. Great work!

Colapsydo says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:42pm

This game is just playing around with our emotions. If you want to rise a winning team, you have to wish the death of the team you were cheering during the previous battle.
Hopefully there are just beetles, monkeys would have been worst.

SiENcE says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:52pm

Wow. You should make a post compo version with online dna trading machanism.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:14pm

Love it! They're so good at dodging, it would be nice to see 'em slip once in a while.

mes says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:06pm

awesome!

fylth says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:46pm

Sweet, excellent game, really looking forward to the post-compo version! If I may make some suggestions, could we see more abilities that effect elites (to make them even more useful) and an ability to prioritise targets (so that they first tend to go for Elites, then Queens and then normals)

In any case, keep up the good work!

recursor says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:39am

Very cool concept. I played it again and again...and again....

Theremin says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:21am

My best army (well, best losing army... you can tell when people invented their army wholesale if it's completely unbeatable, funnily enough. You should have seen the other one; that was a poor bet.) George;5;5;1;13;6;10;9;15;5;8;e079c . Dodge is my favorite skill, but it doesn't show up here, though it does in the other army. Such a bad bet.

Grouflon says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:41pm

The web link don't seem to be working anymore :(

ghRibacki says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:44pm

Whoa! This is definetely my favorite entry so far!!
Simply awesome. The Skirmish mode was my favorite, though I lost the code I got from the Evolution mode when copying yours over to make them fight. I think it doesn't matter anyway, since mine lost. =P
Really liked the graphics, couldn't fit more the theme and it was really fun and challenging. VERY innovative.

Congratulations! =D

Adhesion says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 3:51am

Wow, so addictive! Nice music and variety too. Tends to be a bit back-and-forth sometimes though.

infernet89 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:50am

Very nice graphics, too bad the lack of real interation :(

rev says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:17pm

Very good game.

I beat you. I didn't save my code but I had :
My team name was : AHAHAH and the skills was:
DODGER, GRENADA, RAPIDFIRE, AMBUSH, ELITE, INTIMIDATE

Maple says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:14am

Amazing. I love the little legs as they walk, too, lol. My only gripe is that as far as I can tell, there's no way of backing to the menu in Skirmish mode if you can't provide codes.

Skulls says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:27am

tripleintimidate;10;14;7;52030 CUM AT MY TRIPLE INTIMIDATE BRO
Love this game, gonna bookmark this shit.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 11:03am

This is excellent. I have no time to test the squirmish mode, but I will.

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 5:03pm

Very entertaining, innovative and beautiful and it does sound good, too.

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Oh, and here is the DNA: The Smashers;13;12;9;1;14;0;2;6c09b

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 7:10pm

This game is as fun to play as betting on horse racing. I know many people who like that sort of thing but I am not one of them. The innovation and adherence to the theme are quite impressive. As is the polish you managed to put into the game.

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 10:13pm

Very nice game - I liked the non-traditional style of play, where you decide who wins to gain powerups for other battles. Very fun, and very well executed.

airdeck says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 4:19am

Surprisingly fun since all you do is bet. I just wish there was like a "DNA library" that would automatically store & list your winnings.

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 12:48pm

so... basically, you just click once and watch? how did i spent 20 minutes on that?

kibertoad says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:25pm

Excellent game!

Puzzlem00n says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 1:10am

What does it mean when your guys just start flashing yellow and run off the screen? Is that a glitch? Or intimidation-related?

Great game. One of the best, and fantastic art. I literally double checked to make sure this was in the 48.

lekochen says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 11:18am

Very innovative, great game!

BenW says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:46pm

Just played way too much of this. Please please please refine it a bit more and release it on ios/android.

dany45 says ...
Sep 19, 2012 @ 12:49pm

Just amazing game (for 48 hours) :D

ULTIME_DNA_CODE_BY_DANY45;0;1;2;3;4;5;6;7;8;9;10;11;12;13;14;15;16;17;18;19;20;21;22;23;24;25;26;27;28;29;30;31;32;33;34;35;36;37;38;39;40;41;42;43;44;45;46;47;48;49;50;51;52;53;54;55;56;57;58;59;60;61;62;63;64;65;66;67;68;69;70;71;72;73;74;75;76;77;78;79;80;81;82;83;84;85;86;87;88;89;90;91;92;93;94;95;96;97;98;99;9e61a

csanyk says ...
Oct 6, 2012 @ 4:04am

This game was awesome! Only would have liked it if the transitions from screen to screen were a bit faster. I get impatient waiting:)

csanyk says ...
Oct 6, 2012 @ 4:08am

I beat the Benjamin best swarm easily with this: pug;14;1;13;5;6;7;7;69e3b

jpcote says ...
Oct 9, 2012 @ 3:46am

Very good game, very funny.

kgs0142 says ...
Oct 23, 2012 @ 9:56am

This one is pretty cool!!

Zygoatsalami says ...
Aug 17, 2013 @ 9:25pm

This game is great!
I beat your army with (QIFATA;10;11;3;9;1;9;04eb3)

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]