August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

EVOL

by Dark Acre Jack - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a game.

Clickthe Post-Mortem link for detailed apologia.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#270Graphics3.18
#280Mood2.80
#291Audio2.63
#412Theme2.81
#435Innovation2.69
#512Overall2.72
#689Fun1.94
#767Coolness37%

Comments

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:50am

Nice Diablo-alike! The day/night-cycle is sweet, and the resource-system is quite impressive.

It could use a bit of guidance though, as I have no idea what's going on.

Also, the 45°-movement doesn't work. I used it before too, people generally have problems adapting to it.

Birchmountain says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:15pm

I found it quite hard to understand what to do and the weird walking were bugging me, other then that, a very interesting game :)

kato9 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:03pm

Sort of like like a creepy minecraft where you don't mine or craft, but instead walk around mostly in the dark and occasionally kill innocent people. What I'm saying is I liked it.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:33pm

I liked it. A creepy spore.

45 degree movement is where it's at (because I used it too).
Most ambitious game I've played so far.

recursor says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:25am

The graphical style, sounds, and animation for the player are well done. The 45 degree movement and walking around in the dark did get a bit frustrating, but overall I enjoyed it.

dr_soda says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:56pm

I'm not sure I understood what was supposed to be happening. I wandered around, bumping into things, collecting other things, and evolving the little red guy, but it didn't seem to do anything in the end.

The controls were very frustrating. I found that when I wanted to simply walk in a cardinal direction the button combination to press was never intuitively what I thought it should be and so I ended up running around in random directions frequently.

Yngar says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:10pm

I like the skull guys pleas of "Stop it" and "ouuuch".

lekochen says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 7:36am

For me the 45 degree movement is a little bit unintuitive, and the night time is too long (don't like to walk in the dark). But I like the atmosphere.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]