August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Sun God

by Switchbreak - 48 Hour Compo Entry

IMPORTANT NOTE: Use PageUp/PageDown to zoom in or out! A lot of people are having trouble getting the mousewheel or the plus/minus keys to work with this, and zooming out makes the game a lot more fun.

A game in which you play as the Sun God, and must bring life to your barren solar system by seeding the planets from asteroids.

NEW! The Jam version took a bit longer but features enemies and some better sounds. For judging, play the Compo version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#62Innovation3.71
#170Mood3.05
#171Graphics3.48
#196Overall3.31
#294Theme3.10
#313Fun2.90
#387Audio2.36
#477Humor1.79

Comments

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00am

Nice look, very polished.

sfernald says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:17am

Fun game. Really innovative. Reminded me a little bit of angry birds, pool and pinball combined. Nice work.

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:21am

Control (at the beginning at least) felt a bit clunky to me and I'll admit I got bored before I ever managed to seed another planet

Skulls says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:27am

A fun little game, reminded me a lot of Osmos in terms of the controls.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:46am

I really like the particle effects in this game and that it is about spreading life rather than destroying it. Great job with the gravity too.

juaxix says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:53am

I realized that the game is a resistance waiting and defend the asteroids and planets from ufo's.
The physics involved in this are quite good, the graphics are smooth and sound appropriate, congrats.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:53am

Great game, with ineresting controls and objectives. The help section is too big it give me the feeling I will play an over complicated game... You could have stick to "Crash in planet with life to get bacteria and rain them on lifeless planet by approching them" It would have been enough. Sometime when you want to explain your whole gameplay to players they end up with more puzzled.
Small details like music fading in and out when you rain bacteria really increase the mood rating of your game.

Miltage says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:50pm

How great is this game? One of the best I've played so far. Graphics are great. Concept is awesome. Wonderful use of physics and particles. Well done sir. Well done.

KHANanaphone says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:34am

Had fun completing this.

mdkess says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:01am

Cool, I like the concept and the game - a more unique approach than most! Great work!

Gryxitl says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:34am

Great little game. Took a bit to get the controls down but I like a learning curve.

CapGrip says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:27am

Very cool and fun game.

zazery says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:27am

It took a bit to figure out what was going on but it was pretty fun once I figured it out. I like the dynamic of crashing into planets to pickup bacteria and avoiding hitting newly seeded planets.

kirill says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 6:06pm

Hey, a very interesting concept! Rather unique.
Graphics look polished too.
Nice :)

AuxiliumGames says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:38am

This is a very cool game. One of the best I have played so far for sure! I felt like the asteroid movement was frustrating at first, but it's that good kind of frustrating that keeps you playing because you wanna get it right, not the king that makes you quit :D

Overall great stuff!

Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:20pm

I loved the controls and the physics have a really good feel to it. I found it difficult at first to work out if I was doing the right thing but it made sense to me after that! Good improvements on the post compo version too, I like where this is going!

Gornova says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:02am

Game "feels" great, lack of music ruin the experience and controls are not so cool :(

LoneStranger says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 4:30pm

I like it. Add some antagonists, maybe limit the asteroids, and you've got yourself a multi-level game. The control is easy to pick up. Not much in the way of evolution, but in the end it probably pointed you in the right direction for this.

ollie says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 9:09am

Took me a minute to get what I was supposed to be doing but I really liked it when I did. I never managed to get an asteroid to orbit a planet completely which made me sad hehe. I only played the Compo version but it seemed really polished and a lot for only 48hrs

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]