August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Troll Spirit

by zzorn - Jam Entry

Troll Spirit
============

You are the god of a tribe of trolls.
Nurture and evolve them, and help them
vanquish all other trolls in the world!


Platforms
=========

Cross platform executable Jar (Win/Linux/OSX) and Android APK.


Launching instructions
======================

Linux (Ubuntu)
- Make sure the jar is executable (right click jar,
properties -> permissions -> check executable).
- Right click, Open with -> select your JVM
(Sun JVM is best supported).

Windows / OSX
- Make sure you have Java installed
- Refer to your operating system vendor for Java application
launching instructions (Seriously though, should probably work
with double clicking or similar, as long as you have Java installed).

Android
- Scan the QR code in the screenshots below, open link.


Playing Instructions
====================

At your disposal you have a number of spells:

With the smite spell you can kill both enemy
trolls and your own worshippers.

With the love spell you can help your
trolls to fall in love, and get children.
(They do fall in love on their own also.)

With the move spell you can command your trolls
to go towards the place you click.
They will usually obey you, but they
may have other matters in mind too.

When you click an enemy with the rage spell
your nearby trolls will heedlessly attack
the target and fight to the last troll to
kill it - even if it is one of their own.

With the food spell you can toss apples from the sky
to your faithful followers as a prize,
or to save them if they are dying in hunger.

Whit the watch spell you can listen to
and observe one of your trolls.
The watched troll is shown larger.

Using your spells will drain yor mana.
But your mana will recover over time,
and the more trolls you have, the
faster it will recover

At the top of the screen you can see
the number of your trolls that are alive
as well as the total number of trolls.


Credits
=======

Crated by zzorn and Shiera for Ludumdare 24 Game Jam, in August 2012.

Libraries used:
* LibGDX ( http://libgdx.badlogicgames.com/ )
* Our own basecode ( https://github.com/zzorn/libgdxbasecode )

Tools used
* Bfxr ( http://www.bfxr.net )
* LibGDX Particle effect editor ( http://code.google.com/p/libgdx/wiki/ParticleEditor )
* Gimp


Contact
=======

zzorn @ iki.fi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#48Theme(Jam)3.38
#56Innovation(Jam)3.31
#93Graphics(Jam)3.53
#112Humor(Jam)2.46
#119Mood(Jam)2.79
#151Overall(Jam)2.94
#153Audio(Jam)2.50
#200Fun(Jam)2.44
#832Coolness33%

Comments

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:22am

Wow! You've gotten closer to the theme on a genuine level than just about any I've played so far c

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:42pm

Nice game, cool idea, one of the better games I've seen

Killerbug says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:43pm

Solid game! I also liked that there's tons of stuff a troll can think. Well done!

Gidaio says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:44pm

No idea what I was doing. None.

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:54pm

A lot of fun! I had some trouble at first understanding which were my trolls and which were the enemy;

levelbylevel says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:39pm

Good stuff :) Great implementation of the theme.

ratking says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:54pm

I like the overall idea very much.
Although I often missed feedback. For example, I didn't realise when they eat. ( I fed them with apples, but the floor was just full with apples not eaten). Or if they killed someone? Or which Trolls were mine.
ButI liked the Troll designs very much, not so typical!

zzorn says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:50pm

Thanks for the reviews!

@ratking:
They do throw some apple cores / bones after eating, but it doesn't happen right away, and there is no other animation, so not very good feedback.

And I absolutely agree about your own trolls being too hard to spot. There is a faint blue aura on them, and they generate mana stars, but it's not easy enough to connect to individual trolls. We were thinking of making a post-compo version with various improvements, one being having distinctive hats for your own trolls ;)

@Gidaio:
Point taken, tooltips and an intro screen outlining the objective at the start might be other good improvement ideas.

We also want to add a bit more of a level/wave progression, now it's maybe a bit too sandboxy and not challenging enough once you manage to grow your tribe a bit.

cobrajs says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Interesting, but very hard to tell what is really going on. I just ended up killing all the other trolls, and won like that. Graphics and sound effects are very nice.

dr_soda says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:16am

This game seemed pretty interesting, but I couldn't figure out which trolls were mine and which were not.

I played it on my Nexus 7 tablet, and found that performance degrades rapidly. Not sure if it's an issue on the other platforms or not.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 10:10am

I like the idea of a kind of 'pocket Black & White', as well as the thoughts from your trolls when you watched them (reminded me of the punters in Theme Park a bit). It ran very fast on my HTC One X though and was all a bit bewildering with trolls flying everywhere. I think it would be much more enjoyable if it was slightly slower paced and identifying your own trolls was easier. Once the basic gameplay was down, it would be good to see this developed further (e.g. with missions or simple resource management).

jplur says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:32pm

Nice game, unfortunately it ran way to fast on my phone.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]