About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 10 hours, 12 minutes, 56 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 10 hours, 24 minutes, 56 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 11 hours, 12 minutes, 56 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 24

    August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

    Back to Browse Entries

    Modula - The Jahn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

    Z/X to shoot guns and missiles respectively
    Arrow keys move

    Enemies are procedurally generated, kind of.
    Each level is based upon the enemies that gave you the hardest time during the last level, and some random mutations of them.
    Was going for an 'arcadey' feel.

    View The Jahn's journal. | View all entries by The Jahn

    Ratings

    #119Theme3.58
    #130Fun3.33
    #164Overall3.38
    #167Graphics3.50
    #178Innovation3.29
    #183Mood3.00
    #305Audio2.59
    #477Humor1.79
    #582Coolness48%

    Comments

    panda says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:21am

    Very cool! I love the idea of the enemies being based on what gave you a hard time. The game's pretty hard, though, I don't think I even finished one level. I find myself pretty quickly with no wings or anything left, just a helpless ball! I like the shooting sound effect, and the graphics work well! The game feels well-rounded, though it could be easier and perhaps with some more visible way to see how the enemies evolve.

    Switchbreak says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:26am

    I love the look of this and how everything moves, very neat animations. Do the waves ever end? It's really difficult, I wasn't able to finish a wave and go upgrade my ship. It's pretty frustrating how all your guns can get shot off and you can't do anything then but die.

    Good effort! Would love to see this developed further with the difficulty level more tuned.

    Kortuga98 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:32am

    Very nice game, really enjoyed the graphics.

    Jacic says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:33am

    My one complaint is that enemies typically get away before I feel I've had a fair chance to kill them. Or maybe that's just me. :p

    Good, fun game.

    Shmarah says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:36am

    This game was SO much fun!
    It's actually pretty challenging, I think, but my Touhou bullet hell skills kicked in and I dodged those bullets like a danmaku boss! The arcadey feel was awesome, GJ!
    You know what would've been cool? 8 bit music. That'd be really cool. :]

    irl says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:37am

    Interesting feedback mechanism for generating enemies. I could see the enemies I found most difficult then re-appearing with slight mutations. Very cool and in with the theme. Graphics and audio suited the arcade style you were aiming for really well.

    thewiseguy99 says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:40am

    I liked this. The enemy progressively losing hit pieces is a good touch. Found that if I lost my cannon I might as well kill myself.

    DaveDobson says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:40am

    The first time I played, I got totally destroyed as the people above indicate. The second time, I bought some upgraded weapons before starting, and I was pretty much unstoppable - I lived through 8+ waves with no problems, barely taking a hit, and adding more and more stuff in the store. So, there may be some difficulty balance issues there. But I had a lot of fun; tons of bullets, cool upgrades (but not so many of them- I maxed out fairly quickly), and a really cool look with the vector-style graphics. The sounds were good too. I really didn't see much impact from the shuffling of the enemy types - the only ones that gave me trouble were the ones with all the cannons, and those weren't bad unless they lived long enough to start shooting, which they seldom did when I was upgraded. Really fun, action packed even for a small screen, but I think it's a bit too easy, and after a few levels, the enemy AI becomes pretty obvious. Totally great for a 48-hour project, though - I'm just making suggestions for further work.

    axcho says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:44am

    I like the idea of it, and the way turning is tied to left and right movement was cool, but there was one big frustration with it - I would quickly get my guns shot off and then have nothing to do but kill myself to get a new life. Because of that I never got into the flow of it.

    johnfn says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:19am

    Whoh great game! Love it! Seems like there was a bug though. I'd buy the triple shooter, then buy another gun upgrade, and then I'd only have one stream of bullets instead of three! I bought a downgrade or something :( That was disappointing. Other than that, it's great and well put together. Having enemies evolve is very clever!

    Quentin says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:51am

    Quite impossible once the enemies develop guns all over themselves, but very fun. Nice!

    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:07am

    That bomb-spewing enemy feels impossible... I like the game, the look, the playing of it. Good job!

    kyyrma says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:52am

    Cool idea, but I can't give a proper rating because the way your page scales for me, the bottom half of the game gets cut off. If I go in the upgrades menu, I can't return (I suppose the back button is on the lower half of the screen that I can't view)

    I'll try this later on my second computer.

    The Jahn says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:32am

    @kyyrma : Try pressing F11 for fullscreen in the browser. If that doesn't work, the actual SWF is here : http://jahnhost.com/ld/ld24-evolution/Modula.swf

    phren says ...
    Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:16pm

    The game was very hard! Couldn't pass a single level. Would've been nice to see your genetic algorithm working, but I'm assuming it would've been good. :P Perhaps the borders of the game area should've been just walls instead of having you lose a life by going outside of them. Props for having sounds, even though the gun sound got pretty annoying. :)

    kyyrma says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:09pm

    Got it to work through the .swf link. Thanks!

    I really like the visuals and how everything works really smoothly. The game develops into a proper bullet-hell in just a few moments though. I think this game could benefit from making the hitbox of your ship smaller and more pronounced (maybe make it a brighter shade of green) like in many japanese shooters, so as to give the player a bit more edge over the enemies.

    dengzo says ...
    Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:34pm

    good job!

    Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:58am

    I really liked this. The controls are smooth, and the graphics and sound were really nice. I didn't notice much of a change from the procedural enemies thing, but it was just really fun to play.

    The difficulty curve is crazy though, the first few levels are really hard, but later on (once you can spam multi-directional missiles) it becomes trivially easy. I had something like 40 extra lives because I ran out of other upgrades to buy.

    sev_inf says ...
    Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:45pm

    Liked it. Awesome idea, cool graphics. The one thing I don't like - when you lose your gun there is no point to continue and you'll need to perform suicide (or, probably, I missed something).

    Orni says ...
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:49pm

    this killed the crap out of me ... natural selection at it's best.
    very cool feature

    You must sign in to comment.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]