August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

This Is Totally About Evolution

by GreaseMonkey - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Run away from bats. It's about evolution. Really.

Suggested emulator is Mednafen: http://mednafen.sourceforge.net/releases/

Default key mappings for that are: WASD = arrows, numpad 123 = ABC.

C is jump, B is fire. I think.

EDIT: Silly me, forgot to mention a licence. I release this game into the public domain, source and all.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#1080Coolness14%

Comments

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:28am

CHALLENGE: First person to submit a video of a successful pacifist run gets a trophy!

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:36am

Also, any hillarious tool-assisted videos will also earn trophies for as long as I can be bothered.

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:49am

pretty good, great use of the sound chip the music actually "sounds" a lot like a genesis game, nice slopes and nice fast movement. About my only complaints are the bats are pretty much invisible when flying in certain areas and the controls are the wrong buttons, you have them set to A and C so i basicly can't push both at once on my controller :/

madpew says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:09pm

Great effort. CHALLENGE: First person proving he can get after the first sign gets a redbubble giftcard. jesus, this is difficult. 5 stars for audio, gotta love sega music. I'd give 5 stars as well for technical achievment as well!

RawBits says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:57pm

Well I have beaten it, but I didn't read the comments before so I've got no video. I'll try again!

Really good engine anyway! Great job!

RawBits says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:17pm

Done! http://youtu.be/slQKhU0Eyu0

RawBits says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:22pm

Sorry for no sound, I was forget to turn on the recording. Anyway there are problems with moving. You can jump while in mid air sometimes and i think it would be better if he loose momentum when bumping the head in the ceiling - like in mario. And when landing on a corner he stucks there and not sure what meks it move again - smashin every button like crazy... :D

GreaseMonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:58am

Yeah that wasn't a *pacifist* run, but good job anyway.

And the midair jump is just a preference. The corner thing however is a bug, it's just not something I exactly want to fix in a hurry (I fear the fix for it might be nasty).

MurrayL says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:59am

Good lord that was hard.

Pierrec says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:43pm

A Mega Drive game ? SRLY ?
I'm so frustrated now! I got a mega drive just here and I have to download an emulator grr
(playing the game)
OH SHIT
(30min later)
Ok...this is the perfect exemple of a game who looks bad and feels good. I had a LOT of fun. Now I want to play a longer version (with checkpoints or passwords...) on my mega drive ^^

Adhesion says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 2:33am

Whoa, the music is awesome, I'd love to know what tools you use to make genesis rom music.

Tritax says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:37am

Really a ton of fun .. and great music. I'd love to hear about the toolset you used to create this!

angrygeometry says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:17am

i love that you made a mega drive game. the game itself plays well, it just needs more to it!!

Benjamin says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 8:05am

Great music. Detecting black bats on very dark purple sky was a bit harsh.
Never run so much from bats in a videogame.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]