August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Caveman's Quest for Food

by jfroco - Jam Entry

This is yet another retro style one button game with 16x16 sprites.

<strong>You are a caveman in quest for food.</strong>

Instructions: Press enter to start (or touch the screen in Android)
During game press space (or touch in Android) to change direction.

I wanted to create a new gameplay mechanic using just one button or touching the screen.

Made in 48 hrs using:

Game Maker Studio Beta
Paint.net
SFXR
Beatcraft

(I did make a game in less than 48 hours, unfortunately I couldn't submit it because I run out of time.

I wasted friday night and saturday working in a gameplay that doesn't work very well and it wasn't funny at all.

On sunday I had only 5 to 6 hours to put together a new game mechanic, and finished a couple of hours after deadline, so I submit it to the Jam)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#51Fun(Jam)3.41
#108Humor(Jam)2.48
#108Overall(Jam)3.19
#116Innovation(Jam)2.93
#146Mood(Jam)2.65
#147Audio(Jam)2.56
#163Graphics(Jam)2.96
#179Theme(Jam)2.37

Comments

ben657 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:28am

Love the idea, just a little repetitive... might be the music, but still, very good!

Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:56am

Great game! Definitely one of the best I've played so far. Simple and elegant. Consider working on this more post-jam and adding more levels, power-ups, enemies, etc.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:56am

Nice job making it a one button game! And cute graphics btw :)

Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:57am

Great game! Definitely one of the best I've played so far. Simple and elegant. Consider working on this more post-jam and adding more levels, power-ups, enemies, etc.

However, I didn't feel that it followed the theme at all...

gbellgames says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:58am

I was having fun playing the game... and then it finished too quickly!

Come on man, you were making this in GM Studio, you could churn out a billion of levels in a couple of hours by just creating new "Rooms" :D

Jokes aside, I found the game very charming and I was really enjoying it, shame it was so short. Its amazing how simple but well thought games can really be so good.

But the theme here is lacking... where's evolution?

rhysvdw says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:01am

Cute. It's a tad frustrating but the graphics are nice.

mes says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:07am

Considering you did this in 5-6 hours this is an admirable little game. I found it quite fun to time the turning and make my way through the levels. For improvements, i would say more detailed / larger levels, and the introduction of new mechanics.

Good work.

jfroco says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:48pm

Hi all. Thank you very much for your feedback. This weekend I will try to make a post-compo version: more levels, more enemies, new mechanics (I hope) and better music. Good luck to all!!!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:30am

Good game, but couldn't keep my interest. Just felt like there wasn't anything important to do.

brita_ says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:20am

Great game :-D
I loved the evolution theme as well as the evolution in game mechanics. This is one of my favorites so far.

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 5:46am

I liked the gameplay mechanic and levels. Pretty good for 5-6 hours. More levels would have been great, but the ones there so far were pretty balanced. Then again, maybe with more levels, you need more new gameplay elements, or else it would get repetetive. Regardless, I had fun with the game.

sev_inf says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 5:56am

Great one button game (special thanks for Android version).

free_napalm says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 4:48pm

Very fun game, with a great working minimalist mechanic.
More levels would have been great, but would have needed more gameplay elements (items for example).

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:02pm

Nice little game. Cute graphics and concept. Great start, you have something to build on here. Well done.

hgcummings says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 10:23am

This was brilliant. Really reminiscent of lots of early nineties games in terms of graphics and difficulty, but with a uniquely simple gameplay mechanic. Everything about it, from the sound effects to the level design, was really perfectly judged. The only thing I would change would be to add more levels!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 6:18am

Great gameplay, well suited to mobile. Drum background music was effective but maybe a slightly longer loop would be good. Sure, there's only a few levels, but the basic format & tutorial style addition of features each level was well executed ... I'd quite like to see this 'finished' and released. (Minor gripe: on Android Back button does nothing. Could be something Game Maker Studio should do better by default).

KevinWorkman says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Cute little game. Everything works great on my phone. Could use more polish, but great work for just a few hours!

nuria says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 5:19pm

Very good concept, I think the big level (3rd?) had some design flaws which made it unnecessarily frustrating, but overall pretty solid!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]