Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
? DAYS, ??:??:??

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
? DAYS, ??:??:??

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX

ANNOUNCEMENT BAR! I tell you event things here, but only sometimes.


Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Super Clew Land - Team Clew - Jam Entry

After 22 years of development and numerous delays, Team Clew is proud to announce Super Clew Land!

- Meet Clew - The lovable amorphous glob.
- Uncover the secrets of the genome.
- Match Protein Pucks to unlock Clew's potential.
- Discover a rich world full of peril and adventure.

And more!

Game Design and Development by Rusty Moyher, Shaun Inman & Matt Grimm.

======= CONTROLS =======
WASD and Spacebar to control Clew.
Arrow Keys to match Protein Pucks.

View Team Clew's journal. | View all entries by Team Clew

Ratings

Coolness77%
Overall(Jam)4.20
Fun(Jam)4.03
#4Theme(Jam)4.16
#20Mood(Jam)3.69
#21Audio(Jam)3.87
#26Innovation(Jam)3.66
#31Graphics(Jam)4.17
#68Humor(Jam)2.93

Comments

drmanitoba says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:26am

Really awesome stuff as always. The gene thingie on the side took me a minute to get used to.

Matt Rix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:32pm

Fantastic game guys! Great art, great gameplay, fit the theme really well too. The really tricky stretch leading up to the ending was balanced just right; it took a few tries but it wasn't impossibly difficult.

Matt says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:39pm

great game, jump is good. could maybe use some more hints/instructions. I wasted time figuring out what the directional keys even did.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Really awesome job guys!

pjchardt says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Great! Cool mechanic with the protein pucks. Very endearing graphics, nice music, fun game. The end gets pretty tough. I think the protein puck mechanic would be really cool to investigate further as well.

Shmarah says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:59pm

Took me a second to figure out, but really awesome! This has a lot of potential. I love it!

flashkick says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:59am

Great game, loved the evolving minigame.

Graf_Grun says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:12am

Great. Best I've seen yet.

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:23am

Wow that was amazing, I got to flying but couldn't navigate the last part...Pucks took a second to understand but past that they were very good...

zatyka says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:23am

Awesome Game. I really enjoyed it. I died a few times near the end of the game, and wanted to tear my hair out when it started me back where I last evolved, but I had to finish such a well done and fun game.

cadin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:39am

Very nicely done as always. I didn't finish. I found it too frustrating to get knocked back so far (to my previous evolution) every time I got hit.

RARoadkill says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:51pm

Great game. really enjoyed it. Some more instructions at the start would help though.

CappaGames says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:57pm

I love this game. Reminds me a lot of kirby.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Great work! Loved the evolving mechanic.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:19am

great game -- followed theme perfectly -- lot of fun

Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:23am

Fantastic game. I could play for hours.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:23am

You found a really great way to evolve with the proteins. Also the character is a cute little one.

odrega says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:48am

Love it to death, just brilliant

darkshadow says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:56pm

I managed to play for a little bit before the game would start temporary freezing for 5 seconds every 10 seconds, making it almost unplayable. I'm using Chrome.

From what I could make of the game the audio and graphics had a nice feel. Then the evolution mechanism added the challenge of having to move and direct the little pucks.

flyingbear says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:21pm

That was awesome! I played through the whole thing. Loved how when you evolved the visuals matched the mechanics. The end segment was pretty rough, but it's not unlike games of 22 years ago =)

RosyPenguin says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:05am

Wow! I loved this. The puzzle mechanic with the protein pucks is very original. After I reached the last stage of evolution, I tried nearly a dozen times to fly through that massive spike puzzle at the far left but still haven't gotten through. Wonder what's at the end!

RosyPenguin says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 2:09am

EDIT (spoiler alert): I beat it! The ending is beautiful, I feel like I found my princess and lived happily ever after. Simply wonderful.

zakchaos says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:32am

definately one of the best i've seen yet! your protein mechanic was very clever, also very polished all around. Well done.

PAMVllo says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:26am

Amazing wonderful beutfuil amazeimopursobeeefulll!!!! YOU SHOULD MAKE A ANDROID AND IOS VERSION!!

recursor says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 12:23am

I love the game mechanic on this. Very fun. It would be cool to see a full game from this.

Zccc says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:41pm

I absolutely adore this! Great game and so cute!

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 2:10am

Cool game, enjoyed playing it. Fantastic job!

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 3:22am

wow amazing game!! it was really hard in that last flying part and my respawn was at the other side of the world. but that was a great game overall. art was awesome. music was awesome. game play was awesome.

ncannasse says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 8:56pm

Really great, I love the way the music evolve

gamblore says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:11pm

At first I didn't understand but I caught on. It looks like the orange pucks match to the red dots. Expansive world. Fun times.

Chaoseed says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 11:12am

It's pretty good, but I don't like the gene system. It's frustrating when you don't have the match you're looking for, so you have to put it somewhere you've already built up and it wipes out everything you've done. It took me half a dozen tries to get to swimming...You probably put the infinitely regenerating bug there so people could grind until they got lucky, right?

lanzz says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 12:20pm

@Chaoseed You can push the down arrow (towards the "X" in the gene circle) to discard the current protein, instead of destroying one of the stacks.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:26am

Really Awesome idea! I impressed how you combine platformer and puzzle together with evolution theme! Nice work!

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 11:23am

Nice game with nice graphics :)

Benjamin says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 3:13pm

Wow that's almost all top5 ! Incredible game and very good polish. I tried hard, but could not finish it, I was stuck with a checkpoint very far from the point where I was failing ( spike corridor of death )

Zemmi says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 6:49pm

Awesome entry. At first I was ready to not like it, being colour blind it was hard to tell what was up with the protein pucks sometimes. Eventually I figured it out and pushed on through to the ending. The spike cave was really hard but that just made beating it all the more satisfying, great job Team Clew!

ArkadyDracul says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Masterpiece!Really!

airdeck says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 5:29pm

Great game, would be nice if there was a way to set respawn point.

mdkess says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:55pm

This is a great game! Cool mechanics, a lot of depth, good controls and it plays to the theme as well.

Downside is the checkpoints being tied to evolution. My last evolution was pretty far from the purple spike part of the game, so after a few tries at the flying section I just gave up since it took so long to get back to. It would be nice to have fixed checkpoints instead, or some similar mechanic.

In any case, this was a really enjoyable entry.

Jedi says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 7:37pm

Supremely solid entry!
You guys sure are sadistic at the end, though! The mini-game was hard to understand and frustrating at first, but I felt the level of abstraction brought you a little closer to the theme, since you're not just collecting power-ups and getting stronger.

matheod says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:12pm

Funny game but i stop due to bad checkpoint :-(

Benjamin says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 10:14pm

Can you upload the source please ?

ethankennerly says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:25pm

Enjoyed jumping and swimming. Confused for a few minutes how to evolve.

Threef says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:17pm

Good game, and Happy End. i've got same idea for my game at start, but then everything changed. ;)

darkedge42 says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:39pm

love the game but it got a bit tricky near the end but overall really cool

Evil Cult says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 11:05pm

Great game all-round! Music and sound had a great feel to it but the music got a bit repetitive after a while. Animations were spot on. I liked the mini-game but felt it clashed a bit with normal gameplay. I also found it a bit hard to find the ending (I flew around the top of the map for about 5 minutes looking for things up there :P). Also, I felt that the respawn points were sometimes a bit too punishing. Other than that this was an amazing piece of work and outstanding for the time you had :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]