August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Darbot Saves Science

by science4cake - Jam Entry

This is a little platformer made with the free version of construct 2.

arrow keys to run and jump
space to shoot
tab to change weapons
r to retry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#117Humor(Jam)2.39
#190Audio(Jam)1.77
#231Theme(Jam)1.97
#238Mood(Jam)1.73
#248Graphics(Jam)2.17
#256Fun(Jam)1.86
#267Overall(Jam)1.94
#272Innovation(Jam)1.33

Comments

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:53am

oh noes its still awaiting approval at the Scirra arcade... By the way when it's ready, feel free to post on the C2 forums, I'm putting up links to everyone's games there: http://www.scirra.com/forum/topic56003.html

ghoulsblade says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:08pm

web version only says "This game is waiting approval!"

pythong says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:39pm

as ghoulblade says "this game is waiting approval". you should take the link out as long as it isn't available :/

science4cake says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:49pm

I was worried about submitting our entry in time for the jam. This was my first time in an LD compo, so the whole hosting issue was a last minute surprise for me.

DevWouter says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:25pm

Unable to download.

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:27pm

Unable to download. You should consider Google Drive, Dropbox or Mediafire for hosting. They are all free and simple to setup.

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:38pm

Waiting for approval from the host - by the looks of the picture here - looks interesting though

gbellgames says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:46pm

"Waiting for approval".

When it gets approved, could you message me (Perhaps by leaving comment in my game page) so I could try it?

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:09pm

Say "This game is waiting approval!" :(

Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:26pm

d'oh, still awaiting approval.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:39pm

Haha, this game is kind of funny. Love the enemy concepts and "Science has failed our world!"

gbellgames says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:14am

The game is pretty buggy with the collisions and movements.
Other than that, is kinda fun to play.

science4cake says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Yeah, I hear you on that. We used Construct 2 which has all the collision and movement handling built in. I would have prefered to go with lwjgl so we could tune the basic mechanics more. That being said, for my first LDcompo, I'm pretty pleased. I'll just do some side projects iwth other tools to get ready for the next one in december. ;)

scoots says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:13pm

Fun game. Had trouble getting past the first set of grannies. -1 for lumping in anti-evolutionists with conservatives. :P

science4cake says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:39pm

Well, I haven't met any non-conservative anti-evolutionists. ;) We're certainly not saying that all (or even most) conservatives are anti-evolutionists. Most B are A, but most A are not B.

DevoreUK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:47pm

Love the death music :D

Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:15pm

It's fun and silly.

sev_inf says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 8:40pm

Too much inertion, I spent nearly 10 minutes until I was able to get the book. Liked the idea anyway, 5 stars for humor:)

ratking says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:52pm

The friction-less movement really prevented from having fun with this game, sorry.

Maple says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:05pm

Mmmm, not bad. Advice time: You shouldn't make the camera that zoomed in if the character can move that fast. Generally you want to be able to have at least 3 seconds of notice of what's ahead when running at full speed. You also need to consider this for jumping and vertical speed. Also, the controls should be closer together. It's awkward needing to use the whole width of my left hand when I only need them for 2 keys. It would have been better to make them Z and X or something to that effect, which would enable me to comfortably rest my hand. With R being Respawn, D and F would have made good tab/space alternatives, because then I don't have to move my hand. These were the 2 main bad points. I don't really have any other gripes. I hope to see what you can pull off next Ludum Dare. Until then~

PaulSB says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:10pm

Slippery movement was a bit frustrating, wasn't really obvious when I was getting hurt and how I was to be punished. But looks quite good and quirky :)

vilya says ...
Sep 10, 2012 @ 11:03pm

Why didn't you have the death music playing during the main game instead? It would have been great for that!
The controls could use a bit of work - it felt like you had too much momentum - but overall it's a pretty decent effort.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]