Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

UPix - Xaychru04 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In this game, you're a pixel and have to destroy ennemies to collect other pixels and be stronger.

There are 16 waves of ennemies called "phases". When you kill all the ennemies, an other phase lets appear stronger ennemies.

If you kill all the ennemies of all the phases, including the impossible boss (:D), the game becomes infinite and more and more ennemies appear.

Controls:
English version: -Action: Space
-Move: W-A-S-D

French version: -Action: Space
-Move: Z-Q-S-D

This game uses XNA so don't forget to install the redistribuable package included in the archive if you can't launch it.

If you want to see the source, don't forget to unarchive it before opening it.

Edit: I posted a new English version because I forgot to adapt the menus to QWERTY keyboards. Tell me if I was not allowed to do that after de dead line.

Have fun and submit your scores :D

View Xaychru04's journal. | View all entries by Xaychru04

Ratings

Coolness96%
#109Fun3.40
#362Audio2.44
#380Overall2.95
#418Mood2.55
#506Humor1.73
#536Graphics2.47
#582Innovation2.35
#605Theme2.28

Comments

ollie says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:34pm

Can't get it to run on my laptop (Win 7 64-bit). Un-rar'd the file, then the English rar but the Upix.exe just hangs for a few seconds then does nothing

tompudding says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:36pm

The controls were pretty nice, and I kind of liked the idea of shooting being constrained to horizontal and vertical.

dalbinblue says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:17pm

Fun game, but I found it difficult to hit an enemy except be circling around behind them to the only position they weren't firing at. The players shots actually went a little diagonal so if you tried to shoot by aiming at the enemy between shots it would always miss.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:50am

@ ollie: Have you installed the redistribuable pckage included in the file "if you can't launch the game.rar" ?

@dalbinblue: I don't see what you meam :/

Anyway, thank you for testing, I'll post a gameplay video soon.

cappelnord says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:12am

Couldn't play (on a Mac) so I just watched the video.

Cool art style, I like how the blue dots move towards the player. Also the green explosions look great. More variety in guns would have been awesome.

DaviDeMo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:17am

cool, pretty difficult O.o

Gama11 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:22am

The controls didn't work too well for me - I didn't like the fact that you can only shoot in the direction you're moving. Mouse controls could've worked well.
The upgrades seemed really unbalanced, the second gun upgrade makes you OP as hell, while the two after that are basically downgrades. A stronger magnet would've been handy for collecting experience, maybe as an additional upgrade path.

chumez says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:42am

Can't play it on my laptop (Vista), it says "no suitable graphics card found", but I'm pretty sure it's my laptop's fault, not your game's.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:12pm

The two cannon upgrades after the machine gun are downgrades, but after there is a cannon that deal with around 200 damage per second and a cannon that throw a large bullet wich spread in 8 big bullets wich spread in 8 bullets, so you don't have to aim to touch an ennemy, and the large bullet deals with 300 damage.

Anyway, thank you for testing and I ran out of time to balance the game :/

csanyk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:23am

Really enjoyed this, but it would be much better with gamepad support. WASD controls are very difficult for this game, but with a gamepad I would be able to play much better.

KhaoTom says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:35am

The game makes its own music once you get the exploding shot. it goes beep, thump thump! beep, thump thump! Wish this had controller support. Bounciness off the walls is a nice touch.

BumpkinRich says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:25pm

Fun to play. Not my usual kind of game but kept me playing for a while. Got a good sense of constant achievement / reward which was nice.

raarlac says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:28pm

Best entry I rated so far. Awesome game

AdamHarte says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:38am

Nice! I like the smooth movement, and the gravity on the things you collect. I kinda want the option to use my arrow keys to move.

berareu says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:39am

Liked the simple artstyle and the sound effects too!
I'm not a big fan of the shooting though, since the movement is so fast it's hard to aim the enemies. In any case the gameplay is polished and fun :)

shinD says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:07pm

Restricting shooting to the same direction you're moving is kind of a pain, otherwise it's quite a fun shooter with a nice style!

fruitfly says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:43pm

does not start up.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Bug: When you die (presumably you only turn invisible and are unable to shoot or be shot), you can still move, collect XP, level up, upgrade your health, and come back to life just in time to see the game over screen.

Not gamebreaking. Glad it does make you game over. I just thought it was funny because I used to always be plagued by such bugs :P

robcozzens says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:57pm

I would try it if you had a Web version.
The video certainly looks cool.

Maxium says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 6:41am

Controls felt good, would be great if I had a controller to play it with.

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:24am

"no suitable graphics card found" => I think that's because the game resolution (1422*800) is higher than your computer resolution, so it can't launch it :/

@Wish I was an Astronaut: I hadn't programmed a sceneManager before so I did it very rapidly, and it can have some bugs.
When a scene appears, the other scenes don't update, and I wanted the player explosion to be updating after the player death. So the GameOver scene appears 1.5 seconds after the player death, as I forgot to stop the player updates, you can still move :/

I forgot a lot of things in my first LD, and I hope it will be better for the LD #25 :)

Thanks for your comments and ratings !

Filth says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:10am

The interface was a bit hard to understand but otherwise very smooth and fun.

VAMflax says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:02pm

Game looks cool from the video, but the frustrating download page redirects me to some setup exe that wasn't the rar file I was after... so I didn't install that.

Dropbox is good for this sort of thing!

Cipher says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:41am

Cant find a suitable graphics card with XNA something, something. Its basically my fault 'im rating games on a netbook :P

someone says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Can't play XNA games in Linux.

Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:25pm

WINE doesn't like XNA at all, so my list is pretty much nothing but XNA games I can't run, at this point.

creative630 says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 6:44pm

Cool game and interesting yet simple enemies. I found myself shooting diagonally most of the time to hit the enemies and not get hit back so badly.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]