August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Evolution is the Key

by TastyOrange - Jam Entry

You are trapped in a maze that constantly evolves around you. My first game, released in Java. Use WASD to move, MOUSE to look, and the LEFT MOUSE BUTTON to fire your weapon.

Make sure to EXTRACT the zip before playing!

If you are experiencing problems, try the NO SOUND version. It might fix issues. Or it might not. But it's worth a shot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme(Jam)4.28
Innovation(Jam)4.16
#11Overall(Jam)3.89
#32Mood(Jam)3.53
#45Humor(Jam)3.20
#55Fun(Jam)3.37
#85Graphics(Jam)3.63
#141Audio(Jam)2.61
#742Coolness39%

Comments

NateNaterson says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:40pm

I LOVE this! The boss was a little too difficult and I couldnt beat him but the rest was very innovative and cool!

Red_Holden says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:59am

I really want to like this game because it seems like a really cool idea. But every time I try to play it the game always ends up crashing meaning that I can never get passed the level with the 'ghost boss'. It also closes for, some reason, when ever I press 'D' while going through the portal in the roguelike level.

TastyOrange says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:00am

@Red_Holden ... That's really odd. I tested it on several different systems and I seemed to be able to get from start to finish. I'm at a loss of what to say. I'd ask whether you could run it through the terminal/command line so I can get the exact error but I know not every system is set up to do that. Would I be able to at least ask what operating system, 32 or 62bit, and what Java version?

moonmagic says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:38am

I really love the progression from text adventure to roguelike and beyond. The sound is very jarring and perfect; it did stop working when I held down the mouse button during the ghost boss. I found the boss a little bit too hard in his final form; either he needs to shoot slower or he needs to spawn fewer red guys, because trying to dodge results in getting hit even when moving well in advance, and the walls of red guys prevent him from dying quickly, so it turns into a war of attrition that is difficult to consistently win.

Cthulhu says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:28am

Wow! This game looks so awesome! I had the same idea but I had not enough skill for this!

I've got a problem because in text mode, I cannot find how to jump the gap. When I type "jump" it says I jumped the gap, but nothing happens. Then "north" but it says I must jump the gap. Can you tell me what to do?

I will come back to this page to check your answer.

TastyOrange says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:51am

@cthulu: [SPOILER] Woops, a tiny bit of an error on my part there. When you "jump gap" you don't actually jump because you notice the key instead. The wording of the sentence doesn't make that clear. Then you can "get" the "key" and you should be good from there. [/SPOILER]

BNeutral says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 5:04am

Nice! I did something similar but with quite different results.

Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:51pm

WOW impressive and cool game :D great job , i like the console part because it used my imagination.

goerp says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Very nice , like it a lot. Maybe the screenshots give too much of the surprise away, but it still was great seeing the game evolve! I would have liked a save function, though. After a few tries, it becomes frustrating. But maybe thats also because I try a lot of games and at this point dont try as hard as I could.

localcoder says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:58am

Amazing!

It took me three attempts to get through (I lost once on the roguelike and once in the shooter) but I thought the difficulty was good, since you can quickly race through the early levels once you know what to do.

There's obviously a lot you could expand on, but I had a great time playing through this as it is.

ubear says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:31am

Cool idea but I couldn't proceed to third level. The game throwed an exception:


Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 24
at net.blackforest.ld24.rogueascii.AsciiRogue.tryToMove(AsciiRogue.java:184)
at net.blackforest.ld24.rogueascii.AsciiRogue.update(AsciiRogue.java:173)
at net.blackforest.ld24.Game.update(Game.java:127)
at net.blackforest.ld24.Game.run(Game.java:98)
at net.blackforest.ld24.Game.main(Game.java:177)

TastyOrange says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:43pm

@ubear: The simple solution is to not go right when you have entered the portal which won't cause you to go outside the level and it won't crash, but I guess since it has been reported a couple of times I'll put out a fix for it.

jfroco says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:50am

Excellent idea and execution. Most innovative gama I tried. I wanted to do the same but with shooters, but didn't have the time... Tried a couple of times but couldn't defeat the ghost boss... you know that as adventure games evolved they added "continues" and "extra lives" ;)

patrickgh3 says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 4:57am

The concept brought a smile to my face. Great idea. I'm impressed you were able to get all the different types of gameplay under the time limit. I had to restart twice, once from the boulder, and once from the boss. I had a lot of fun. Of course, you could have done more with it by expanding some of the later levels, which I personally would have enjoyed, but it would make the game significantly longer. I just think the later parts, especially the cool 3D one, were a bit short. And the boss was a bit difficult. Great game!

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:13pm

"You have no idea what that means" :D
Mhm, it said that I unlocked the door to the south, but when I wanted to go south it said a door is in my way :|
No rating, did only play the 1st part.

JonathanG says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 1:55pm

Good idea, but feels more like you're following the history of games rather than evolution. Liked the variety idea but the "ghost boss" fires undodgeable shots and can't be hurt later on due to the blob spawns, making it impossible to see the rest of the game. Painful gunshot sounds too.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]