August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Contagion

by TheVastBernie - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Finally, in the last minute. I'm finished.

Click to place cells and expand your territory. But beware, each cell costs you DNA! To delete a cell ust use the suicide button and click the cell, of course you can't destroy your mothercell. Your goal is to destroy the hostile mothercell. You loose when the enemy destroys your mothercell. Right-click to choose another cell, or simply use the shortcuts 1-6/0 or the first letter of each cell.Left-click and drag to move the camera, and use the mousewheel to zoom.

There are 10 levels in total, can you conquer them all?

Default Cell: Just an ordinary cell.
Healer Cell: The generous one. Shares its energy with every neighbor cell to restore their health.
Wall Cell: A very thick cell. Enemys will have a hard time cracking this nut.
Assasin Cell: The ninjas under the cells. They are deadly but a bit pricey, so use them wisely.
Producer Cell: The workaholic. It will produce raw, unaltered DNA for your daily needs.
Tower Cell: A real masterpiece. Strong, durable and unbelievably expensive.

Hope you enjoy the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Graphics4.38
#20Mood3.85
#102Audio3.31
#128Overall3.46
#341Innovation2.92
#424Fun2.69
#476Theme2.62
#957Coolness24%

Comments

Zathalos says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01am

Pretty good game. Only took me like 5 mins to understand what was going on. Great graphics and smooth controls. I wished you could move around with WSAD or arrow keys. The cells should've been more varied, they blended together. Overall awesome game!

Joeslayer97 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:12am

very nice game welldone :D, I would love to see this go further, who knows I may pay if you get it good enough :D

TobiasNL says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:43am

Oh bummer, did not run here. I'm using windows XP, guess that's the problem as you probably used XNA. Looks nice though!

TheVastBernie says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:42pm

I changed the graphics profile, so it should be able to run on older machines. Unfortunately I don't have XP to test it so I would appreciate it if anyone using XP could tell me if it works :)

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:03pm

The Win7 version did not work for me on windows 7.
I tried the XP version which worked, but the enemy cells just tended to do nothing. For now I won't rate this though, but it looks to be really, really awesome.

TheVastBernie says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:01pm

The first levels are pretty easy, the enemys are extremely slow, but they will get better and faster with every level.

spcmnspf says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Excellent game. Simple and clean. Good use of graphics and sound to create the environment.

Cracky says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:51am

Overall pretty great! Gameplay is a bit lacking though, you end up spending a lot of time just waiting for enough DNA points while you do nothing, and the enemies also do nothing.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:22am

Good meditation game =) I like interface and visuals. Music make me relax. Nice game despite I don't like "occupation" games.

azurenimbus says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:19am

Really cool game, very solid. A few suggestions to make it even better. It starts out a bit slow, maybe make the distance in the earlier levels shorter. Also, I played for a while but I haven't gotten to a point where I felt actually challenged. It was more a feat of patience, waiting for the time it took, but I never felt rushed or in danger of losing. So you should raise the difficulty curve a bit.

Those are my opinions, at least. But really good job!

Orni says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 8:42pm

I'm really amazed by this
it's puzzling to me how you were able to polish the game to such an degree in 48 hours

the only downside I can think of is that many of the cell types aren't much use.
graphics and atmosphere were brilliant though

loved it

JonathanG says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 4:12pm

Great! I am very impressed with the graphical touches, such as the blur at the screen edges, the way the cells "construct" from the edges of other cells, how the hexagon spaces highlight when you mouse over them...

Unfortunately it's not very clear exactly what effect some of the cells are having. Sometimes I place assassin cells which drain neighbouring cells to about half health, but then do no more damage. Sometimes cells do lots of damage, sometimes they don't. It seems more efficient to place 15 regular cells all generating DNA, than one producer cell for the same cost.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]