August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Growth

by spcmnspf - Jam Entry

Click to move. Drag to rotate.

Drag and Drop the flower to plant it and watch it grow.

Click on a flower to harvest the color. Click on the Update Generation to clear the field.

Music Attribution: Eliot Corley, License CC-BY-SA 3.0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#97Audio(Jam)3.04
#120Theme(Jam)2.88
#122Innovation(Jam)2.91
#130Graphics(Jam)3.22
#178Mood(Jam)2.46
#222Humor(Jam)1.27
#241Overall(Jam)2.34
#269Fun(Jam)1.63

Comments

tdsmale says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:42pm

Interesting idea. Loved the music!

CapGrip says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:28am

Is not a game itself, but it is an interesting idea. I like the graphics and music.

spcmnspf says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:23pm

Yeah, unfortunately I wasn't able to get the last mechanic in there that would have created gameplay. The idea was to have the next generation of flowers mutate and use the collected flowers colors. I will be working on a post compo version for sure.

goffmog says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 9:41pm

Unfinished, which is a shame, I could see where you were going. What you did manage to get done has a very nice feel/mood to it, except for the camera controls. If you do a post-compo version, please change the camera, it's not at all fun to use and it detracts from the gameplay. Graphics are great.

deepnight says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:03pm

The controls are a bit hard to get used to, but the general idea is interesting.

CapGrip says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 10:20pm

Then I'll wait for the fixed version in post compo.

zazery says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Interesting, wish you had more time to finish it.

cakemonitor says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:25pm

it kept telling me to plant more flowers, and then eventually I ran out of flowers and couldn't plant more - I guess this is to do with the game being unfinished. nice graphical and music work though. good luck with the post-compo version :)

spcmnspf says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:39pm

@goffmog & @deepnight: The controls were frustrating me also. I changed the controls to use 'wasd' to move the camera around, this improved it so much for the better. What are the rules for linking to post-compo builds? Make a new post on the main page?

spcmnspf says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:00pm

@cakemonitor I limited the flowers on purpose(you can plant 100), but need to fix the logic so that the hints are more detailed. :-)

Thank you to everyone so far who has rated and given feedback.

KhaoTom says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 8:13pm

Relaxing.

mohammad says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:28pm

Liked the concept alot.
But it didn't make any sense to me so I quickly got bored.

rhaasken says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:28pm

I liked the music and the graphics, but like others have said, it's not really a game, and the camera can be irritating when planting flowers.

Milo says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:12am

It looked nice, but it's not very game-y (and it doesn't even seem like the new generation of flowers is that affected by the old one...)

ElliotFiske says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:39am

Interesting concept. I don't have any idea what I'm doing, but it has great graphics and sound. The controls could use a little work (WASD works fine!) and it's satisfying to collect the little flowers after they grow. You should probably make it a little clearer what's going on... unless that's the point of the game and I'm just dumb.

Cyboot says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:26pm

nice graphics, relaxing gameplay.
like some others said, not really a game. Its lacking of challenges.

Also the controls are choosen a little unfortunatly.
WASD-Key or Arrow-Key would be better i think.

But i liked the graphics very much and loved my flowers growing, so good job :)

Jacic says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 3:14am

Frustrating camera, as mentioned.

The graphics reminded me a little of Pikmin. :)

spcmnspf says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 6:07pm

I have updated the links to include a Post-compo version. Still needs more polish, but shows the direction that I'm moving toward. The controls have been replaced with keyboard movement(WASD or arrows). The tips in game should give you everything else you need to get playing.

KevinWorkman says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 12:00am

I really like the idea here. It could be a really nice, relaxing game focused on the mood and the prettiness more than stressful gaming, which is great. This is nice work for 72 hours!

RawBits says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 6:31am

Samurais are growing flowers in this it seems. I don't know what is the next generation is for, the flowers are fully randomly colored it seems and has nothing to do with the selelected one. Yes, selected because if it's harvested then it shouldn't stay there imho. Controls are awkward and you move whenever you harvest or click the next gen but I didn't tried the post-compo so I don't know if it is fixed... Nice idea though!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]