August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Kitty Breeder 2012

by turnip - 48 Hour Compo Entry

* I added a Kongregate link. I spent some extra time to add leaderboard support but everything else is the same. *

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#27Audio3.76
#33Fun3.75
#61Humor3.37
#76Overall3.63
#85Mood3.40
#156Innovation3.37
#162Theme3.46
#291Graphics3.13

Comments

shinD says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:16pm

This is the best game.

Nice sounds too!

r4m0n says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:17pm

Making the click place food AND be necessary to drag small creatures that are trying to run around creates some problems, but else than that, nice game :-)

sgehlich says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:18pm

I like the audio, but didn't get any further than two kittens. Unfortunately, the kitten AI isn't pretty good, so it's hard to finish the game.

munchor says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Great entry :)

headchant says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:20pm

The music is great!

hungyg says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:21pm

Great game, spent quite some time playing it with my 7 year old sister. The only thing I didn't like was the walking animation, but it was okay. However I gotta say the music was awesome!

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:27pm

It sounds like chocobos breading for me.
Nice mechanics for the kitten. A bit hard sometimes to click on small cats and loosing money in fish instead of earning it.

garygreen says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:48pm

Really like this game. Nice touch with the "breeding" animation. :-)

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:52pm

@sgehlich oh damn, did the kittens just refuse to eat the fish? The AI is kind of supposed to be a bit 'dumb' because kittens are kind of dumb. The challenge is to coerce them into eating the fish by dragging them towards it if they run away.

I know that the smallest kittens are hard to click, that was intentional to add a little bit of extra skill to the game. Placed fish never goes away so don't worry about wasting money on it.

Thanks for all the great comments guys :)

JokerDen says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:20pm

I really like it. Sooo sweet. One of the best game I watched today.

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:55pm

love kitties

littleball says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:56pm

It's hard to grab the cats... just like real life. Well done

Nidjo123 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01pm

Magnificient! Looks great, sounds great and feels great.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:03pm

Excellent game and great fun to play. Very addictive. Well done :).

iandioch says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:22pm

10 stars for theme, it fits both Evolution and 1000kittens :D
The soundtrack was ace.
The graphics were great, especially the picture of the kittie when you pick it up.
Really polished feeling. Well done!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:36pm

Great job, loved the music and the character at the top was hilarious! :D

danlthemanl says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:15pm

This game is very polished! I really that it's not over complicated and easy to get into, and addicting! Awesome job!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:15pm

Brilliant! Wasn't sure if there was an endgame, worked my way up to the pink, then through another 4 rounds or so. Very cool mechanics!

Datw says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:20pm

Really polished game. You're gonna get straight fives out of some people that were on IRC.

GFM says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:33pm

Wow, it`s pretty hard to make then breed the way you want...
Though it`s funnier to just let them breed madly, it`s harder to get the ones needed to advance...

Nice game! =D

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Excellent game. The sounds and music are great. I feel like a real bad ass when I'm collecting those kittens :-) That said, I think the kittens are too small and it's quite hard to pick them up using a trackpad. I also agree with r4m0n that clicking is overloaded and I wound up spreading food all over by mistake. Fun little game, wonder how you could expand to make it even more interesting.

yetanother says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:55pm

its fun. (and you have kittens)

timtipgames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:00pm

It has kittens! :) Great game, was a lot of fun to play!

Orni says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:53pm

great game
music is awesome!

well done :)

nate427 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:02pm

I love it! I got 1,017$ before quitting.

Thurig says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:54pm

My son started to dance on the music. Does not get better then that. Nice game.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Music was great, couldn't get enough blue kittens though :/

Brucef says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:52pm

the title screen makes me dizzy!!! fun game though! I like the concept here! nice job

gustavodort says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:18pm

You really wanted the theme 1000 kittens, didn't you? XD

I loved the game!
The song kinda reminds me of Road Rash for Mega Drive and the graphics are really neat :)

Congratulations!

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:11pm

Holy crap, I loved this.
Like gustavo said, you really wanted that theme, right? :D Great system you created there... Reminded me of breeding chocobos in FF7 :}

Pitzik4 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:37am

This is quite a fun and innovative game idea! For my 3rd order, though, the guy wanted green cats, and I kept breeding the cats but didn't get any green ones.

daydalus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:16am

Nice concept here. Kitties were pretty tough to grab/feed - I guess like real kitties ;) Fun game though!

flyingbear says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:19am

I really liked this one! The music fits very well with the aesthetic. I would only suggest making everything a little bigger, as it was hard to click on the small kitties. Well done!

axcho says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:11am

Great music. I like the concept and the personality of the game. I found the colors hard to tell apart - maybe they could be more saturated. I also found it hard to know how to affect things in a useful way - there was no way to remove kitties that I didn't want...

turnip says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:15am

@axcho you can sell the kitties you don't want :)

agreed on the colours, i only kept them like that cos my girlfriend said she liked them :P

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:16am

Nice graphics, and great sound. But the game itself didn't really hook me

DustyStylus says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Absolutely adorable, lovely sounds and music too. The click sensitivity between placing food and picking up kittens was a little frustrating, but on the whole it's really good fun!

Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Was hooked on it !

Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:29pm

Good sound on this one, found the cats annoying because they kept walking away from the food. But maybe that's what real cats do and maybe I'd find them annoying. Anyway, it was still fun!

TravisChen says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:05am

Best game I've played yet! Reminds me of insane aquarium. Love the sprite for when you pick up the kitties.

Cell says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:37am

Cool.

Puzzlem00n says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:16pm

This is pretty challenging! Good job! Definitely a great interpretation of the theme.

Also, I've gotten someone to help me turn my Mac build of Adaption into something that'll hopefully work on your system! Do you mind trying it again?

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:10pm

Really fantastic entry, the best I've played so far (including all the jam entries). Simple mechanics but very addictive gameplay, made me laugh as well. Quite hard, i never got past the blue kitten stage, but that's alright. Only slight complaint is that the yellow and green kittens look very similar and it's hard to pick the small ones out.

Really top notch work!

Sep 2, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Nice game, my only real complaint is how hard it is to grab and sell the kittens especially because they are so tiny. Perhaps there should be shift-click to instant selling.

Anyway it was pretty well done game, nice job!

Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:14pm

Awwwwwww this is great. Lovely music.

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 12:32pm

Nice hybrid between the theme of 1000 kittens and evolution :)

CorruptioN says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 1:05am

Great game, my only complaint (as seems to be the common theme here) is accidentally placing a fish instead of grabbing a cat.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]