August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

viviDNA

by Gama11 - Jam Entry

A mad scientist has put you, the rainbow virus, into a cage in outer space to test your adaptability. Survive as long as you can by outleveling your enemies to you can to show him that you are the master of evolution.

Created with flixel, FlashDevelop, and Gimp. Bfxr and freesounds.org for sfx.

Arrow keys to move.
Escape to escape to menu.
0 to mute, + / - to adjust volume

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness68%
#53Audio(Jam)3.50
#59Fun(Jam)3.35
#78Innovation(Jam)3.16
#89Mood(Jam)3.03
#91Overall(Jam)3.27
#128Graphics(Jam)3.24
#163Theme(Jam)2.51
#186Humor(Jam)1.79

Comments

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:27am

Very pretty! I'm not sure about bumping into enemies... can I defeat them, or does it just hurt me?

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:30am

This was a fun way to kill a few minutes. Although games in this style have seen too many times before, the graphics and audio go well together. Nice job.

cappelnord says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:33am

I like it a lot. It would make a great music/visual game if you focus more on audio and visual design!

berareu says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:34am

Maaan this game is hard! Anyway it's a nice, simple concept and it's pretty fun trying to avoid the enemies!
I liked that a long DNA could deflect the enemies!
Cool game, liked the music too :)

Gama11 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:36am

@Dietrich Epp: If they hit your trail, they get deflected. When they hit your head, you take damage based on the current rival level and the enemy is killed. It might be worth it to do so to reduce the number of enemies on screen, as they evolve and the damage they do to you increases.

Yapikom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:51am

I've hard time rating this. The visuals are good, but so simple (I love the tail though), it's fun and adds something to the normal avoider-genre. Nice fit with audio + visuals. I can see some of the theme in it, but not enough for a high theme rating. Good job!

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:03am

I'm extinct!...i think this is hard, did you compose the music? make me feel like i was in a rave party, trippy

Gama11 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:08am

@juaxix: No, the music isn't made by me. This guy: http://los-illuminados.newgrounds.com/ made it.
Not supossed to be easy. ;)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:37pm

Cool game! Really simple, addictive fun! I liked how the music, theme, graphics and game play really added up to a fun experience - well done!

SiENcE says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:18pm

Aha fun little game. The effects & music fits.

aare says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:21pm

At first I thought that I'am awesoma becouse I killed all the enemies soo fast, and then realised that I loose the game :P

Zoomyzoom says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:37pm

Not sure about evolution. but still fun!

matheod says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 4:36pm

Not my favorite game but it was funny ;-)

jujule says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 9:22pm

Surprisingly fun and addictive. Really like the graphic style. It feels like a finished game.

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:24pm

that's incredible game :) I like the sounds and the idea and the effects alot :)

Walt says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:26pm

nice fx and audio. not really getting the theme here, rules about colors are somewhat unclear but feedback feels nice'n juicy

darkshadow says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:25am

Nice concept the tail blocking is what makes it stand out.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 5:09pm

I agree with what you said in your post mortem about the title screen, it is quite beautiful!

I apparently don't play enough avoider games if other people are saying this isn't new, but I think you nailed the physics, the controls feel responsive and solid, and it looks distinct and pretty. Having to hit the right wall to gain DNA and then using that as a source of defense when colliding with an enemy to kill it is really cool.

Nicely done! :)

savethejets1 says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Wow fun stuff. Nicely done with the ramping up of the difficulty.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]