August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

EVOLON

by Moris_N - 48 Hour Compo Entry

It's a short 2D platformer with simple evolution system.

It's not only my first LD, but first game in my life))
Enjoy!

(you need java to run this, you can get it on http://www.java.com/ru/)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#412Fun2.71
#439Graphics2.71
#516Humor1.69
#544Overall2.67
#561Mood2.26
#569Theme2.39
#610Audio1.14
#651Innovation2.14

Comments

everchanger says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:16pm

Could not get this game running, screenshot looks pretty nice. The game is "zipped" in a 7z library which is a wierd move since not everyone uses 7z. The game does not work when unpacked. Seems to rely on a different version of Java than the one I have installed or something like that.

Krise20 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:36pm

Quite good, I like the Mario kinda theme going on. The one thing I found really annoying was Dying, I could find a way to restart the level.

Folis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:38pm

Pretty nice game. Music would've been nice, though!

Moris_N says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:52pm

everchanger
thanks, I recompile it with java 1.5 and repacked in zip

Moris_N says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:57pm

ohh, I forgot add restart option
and I haven't enouth time to add sounds and music

I will do it next time))

Moris_N says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:01pm

is it allow to add some options (like restart) now?

ElScootro says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:02pm

The game was pretty fun. I played through twice to try with different abilities.

My Milked Eek says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:04pm

Definitely needs a restart function. Was fun though. :)

Liked the setting as well.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:06pm

I liked the three unique elements, give it some depth. Fun factor was good since I have a lace in my heart for Mario-esque platformers. The download was quick and small :) Thanks!

aeveis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:08pm

Beat, it but not sure what collecting the different colors did, was I supposed just collect one color?

Kuulog says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:10pm

Congrats on making your first game! Much better than the first game I ever made!

Khayet says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:46pm

Two small complaints: Lack of audio and no restart feature (as far as I can tell).
Besides that, spot-on marioesque platforming. Exactly the way it's supposed to be.

Moris_N says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:48pm

aeveis
year, only one "way")

Benjamin says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:34pm

Congratulation for your first game ! Platformer is not the easier way to start in my opinion but you dit it very well. The idea of 3 colors power is good, I tried 2x of them but had problem to last long with red. The restart problem dissuade me to take more than 4 times. I also had to change my keyboard config ( -> english because of the wasd ) each time.

Moris_N says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:22pm

Benjamin
arrows work too)

VAMflax says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:19pm

I liked the feel of the jump.

I collected some things and nothing seemed to happen. And there was no sound for me? And I died and stayed dead...?

So, a few problems, but the core controls were nice!

patrickgh3 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:04pm

I liked the concept, and each of the three abilities were pretty well balanced imo. I had fun trying out all 3. I only wish there was more than one level, or the level was much longer. Pretty fun though!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:11pm

If that's your first game, you got off to a pretty good start :-) I'd play it more if you wouldn't have to start all over again every time you die. Sone simple sfxr sounds may have been nice (it takes like 15 min to generate some basic game sounds).

kyyrma says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:12pm

start.bat didn't work, but it ran straight from the .jar file.

Getting the feel for platformer controls right is hard even for people who are experienced in making games. This is actually very good, especially for your first effort!

There seemed to be some collision issues though, especially with spikes. I kept dying even when my character clearly landed safely on the ground.

Canobie says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:32am

I like the game but the spikes get me! good way to lower frustration is give the player some le-way! make it rather than when it barely touches you to have be half-way on it!

MurrayL says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:06pm

Definitely a great achievement for your first game! I found this very difficult, especially without a restart button.

I hope you make more games!

jarnik says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:20pm

Whenever I got killed, the player character got stuck, the rest of the world kept going on, I was not able to restart the game...

goerp says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:57pm

First game? Very good! It played good, but without restart frustrating. Some sound would also make it a lot more playable.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]