August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Slime LifeTime

by ItsSacraficed - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Slime LifeTime, slime needs to protect him self else he will die :(. With respawn possibility(costs gold), negative money allowed ;)! Took like 40 hours, first time making a playable game, used flashpunk libary never used flash punk before!

PRESS ESCAPE WHILE PLAYING TO ENTER PAUSE MENU!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#469Humor1.81
#519Audio1.90
#596Fun2.26
#600Graphics2.29
#613Theme2.24
#630Mood2.03
#691Overall2.29
#704Innovation1.95

Comments

jujule says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:56am

Super classic. The bugs are really too frustrating.

kirill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:58am

Nice little game! I had fun.
You did a good job with the internal states: going back and forth in the menu/shopping/pause/etc.
I wish the graphics were a little bigger.
With so much vertical screen space, I expected it to be used somehow (enemies or HQ growing)

Gama11 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:59am

Liked the idea. I think it has potential, but there are a few things that prevent it from being fun:
- The sfx were way to loud in comparison to the okay-ish background music. It kind of hurts my ears.
- There is no indicator how much HP enemies have left. HP-Bars or floating texts that indicate how much damage has been done would be nice.
- It is really annoying that you can't just hold down the space bar to shoot, you have to press it repeatedly.
- There's no challenge at all, you can reset all the enemy spawning by accessing the shop if you're in trouble.
- The graphics are really tiny compared to the size of the game window, there's so much empty space! Would be better if everything was at a scale of x2.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:27pm

Well the problem was I'm kinda unexperienced with making games I suck in graphics and the game went diffrent then I hoped, and how better the ammo how harder it kinda is, and the growing part well it was in my idea book but time was running out and had some issues with updating text, and enemyhp1

NateNaterson says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:42pm

Decent small game. Sound effects got a bit too loud and racking up currency was tedious but I enjoyed it.

Wan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:44pm

The game is fairly fun, but I found weird how only the 30 bottom pixel lines of so are used for actual gameplay :P I played a few moments until I got the lasers (pew pew!), then it got repetitive so I stopped.

Now that you know Flashpunk a bit more you'll probably get to do even better next time!

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:18pm

@wan I hope so and I hope I'll be faster so its more enjoyable and more challenge in it!

cacciatc says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:38pm

What are the creatures I am fighting here? Nice game. Us slime games have to stick together!

emveyh says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:39pm

Ok i've pressed the space button for about 2 minutes, then i got bored :D cool game for your first time, though

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:42pm

cacciatc "What are the creatures I am fighting here?", I don't know :P skieng ones?, @emveyh hehe thnx :D. Ps. does me good to get this kind of nice feedback i expected worde ;), and all the negative ones are right and i agree with them!

scoots says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:37pm

Good game. Had a bug entering the shop and the game froze. :(

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:44pm

@ascoots never had that before o.O, Where are you running on?

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:53pm

Shooting bullets/lasers out of my little creature's Elvis hair? Epic. I was pretty engaged (despite the fighting the same enemy) because I had to get all the upgrades! Once I had them though, I gave up pretty quickly. Much better than many first time games I've seen though! Good job :)

joekinley says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:55pm

There was sound in the game? I did not hear anything on my MacBookPro. Hmmm...

It was fun although you could have used more of that precious empty space. I liked the graphics and the simple principle.
Although it was kinda buggy as these things were randomly dying. Also the money seemed to not be subtracted for me. Sadly there I went from stone age directly to sci-fi and ... whoa... things going fast.

Still was fun. Good work.

hnjslater says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:58pm

Nice all style game. Pretty much agree with all the other commenters.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:09pm

I blame the time ^^!

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:52pm

Nice game - kind of buggy and slow movement - but I liked it

gbear605 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:54pm

Ok, the bugs are a bit annoying, but fun game.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Good little game, I was kinda hoping for a mega-palace that filled the whole screen though :) Good job putting upgrades & a shop in

Rabbits... says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:57pm

Yeah, another flashpunker...I liked the concept but the enemies randomly disapeared and i skiped from the stone age to sci-fi...I really enjoyed the upgradings though

Maacus says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:55pm

I like these kind of games. I think you are on the right path here, but this game need more. Like different upgrades and enemeies. Anyway, good job on making your first game!

gnx says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:37pm

Not bad graphics, clear GUI and there is actually some sound.
Gameplay unfortunately is horribly repetitive.

Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:51pm

I enjoyed the game, just a few criticisms. For one, the sprites are a little small and difficult to see, especially with all of the unused screen above them. Also, pressing space bar repeatedly can be very annoying, perhaps being able to hold it down and just having a cooldown timer on it would have done the trick?

ItsSacraficed says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 7:53pm

@Sgt hmm nice idea with that timer and cooldown that would solve alot ;) thnx!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:02pm

The sound was a little on the repetitive side and some of the bad guys seemed to disappear randomly. However, you did seem to get the theme and I liked the progression.

Switchbreak says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 4:52pm

Great job for a first game! I managed to get my castle upgraded and buy a laser gun. Some bugs I found: buying things didn't seem to reduce my gold, I couldn't buy the HP upgrade no matter how I clicked on it, shooting anything but the closest enemy seemed to kill all enemies that are closer when it dies.

ItsSacraficed says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 6:18pm

Lol it seem that it is buggier then how i released it first and then changed something (all within the 48 hours) but became more buggier :(

Raptor85 says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:54pm

super buggy, enemies often disappear for no reason, not much reason to move from in front of the castle since it's the ideal spot to kill everything from and you just move so slowly. The upgrade menu is kind of a pain, since the game uses arrow keys + zx your left hand is on the keyboard and right hand is on the arrows, NEVER require using the mouse in game when the game controls themselves are all keyboard, it makes you have to constantly be swapping between keyboard and mouse.

The enemies themselves didn't seem to do much to you even if you do let them get close, they damage you but i let it run without firing and it took them a solid two minutes to kill me, and every time they go past they get faster and faster until they are moving so quickly they actually skip over you most loops by, even then pressing up at the castle to go in the shop resets the enemies so you could technically abuse that to never get hit even if they get too close.

It's a good solid base and a good solid idea, just has some bugs to work out and scale/UI issues that cause it to be a little frustrating to actually play as is. Should definitely make a post-compo version

bvanschooten says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 10:55pm

I couldn't discover much gameplay to it, just turn left, bang your spacebar, then turn right, then bang your spacebar again. 5 minutes later, still the same.

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 8:51pm

money in shop isn't subtracted so you can just buy every thing ei( i had 2500 gold but was able to buy the laser and the building upgrade and then i could just keep clicking the health upgrade forever.) otherwise a very boring game as it seems to have no goal. interesting that the bugs speed up when your not shooting them.

SFX says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 1:42pm

The effects were too loud compared to the music. Also, why so much vertical screen space?

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]