August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Chromasome

by Jeremy Nikolai - Jam Entry

Update 3:

I've been experimenting with the gameplay some more and put up a new version (post-jam, above).

- More intuitive, less twitchy controls!
- High scores!
- Time limits!
- Combos!
- Infinite levels!
- 100% less random crashes!

Obviously don't vote based on this one, but feel free to try it out and let me know what you think, or post your high score (I've gotten to 1092558).

-----

Update 2:

I just found a bug I'd introduced at the last minute that was causing things to be randomly deselected (and making selection in general particularly annoying).
Windows and Android are fixed now, the rest coming soon...

-----

Update:

32-bit linux and windows builds are now up:
- Windows is rebuilt for 32-bit, which should run on either
- the linux download contains both 32/64 bit executables

So if you were one of the people who tried on XP and wanted to try again, it should work now. (and, thanks for reporting it, @infinitedog and @AMSmirnov)

Some tips, having watched a couple people play it now:
- Try to keep your blobs mostly one color. If you're getting 'dead pixels' and don't know why, it's because you're mixing too many different colors.
- You need to collect a certain count of each color to advance to the next round, watch the numbers at the top to see what to go for next.
- If you've got something selected and you just want to look around, click off the current selection first (otherwise you'll end up throwing it).

In general, I think the goals need to be simpler and read better, and input needs to be more predictable. I also have some ideas for how to possibly turn this into more of a puzzle, and remove some of the frustrating bits.

I will be iterating on this idea to try to turn it into more of a complete, polished game, and hopefully taking it to the app stores. If you're interested in seeing what becomes of it, you can follow my company at:

http://controlledpanic.com/
http://facebook.com/controlledpanic
http://twitter.com/CtrlPanic

Thanks everyone!

-----

Hi all,

First Ludum Dare, and I'm using an engine that was built from scratch (no middleware) over the last month. I'm pretty happy with what how much I was able to accomplish from where I started.

The connection to the theme is tenuous, near the end the gameplay evolved from what I was originally planning to something a bit more 'gamey' for the sake of trying to be fun. And there's a lot of polish and tuning I didn't have time to get to, but I'm happy that it's fairly complete.

I think this plays best on tablets (most of the development was done on a kindle fire), but it should run on any android phone as well, or pc.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#21Innovation(Jam)3.69
#115Theme(Jam)2.91
#143Humor(Jam)2.14
#165Overall(Jam)2.87
#168Graphics(Jam)2.93
#172Mood(Jam)2.48
#187Fun(Jam)2.53
#210Audio(Jam)1.40

Comments

Xaychru04 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:42am

A good innovating game, but I don't like the camera...

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:44am

This is my first time as a pixel-genetic engeneer, the control with mouse and camera are smooth, thanks for the entertaiment :)
I would like to make more "visible" the generated pixels, good job

Milo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:03pm

This concept is really original. It pretty fun, although I suspect that it'd be more fun on a tablet than it was on my laptop.

Cthulhu says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:34pm

The linux version is not working on Ubuntu 32 bits.

cappelnord says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:52pm

Yeah, shold be played on a tablet. Funny story, also good idea with "Chromasome". I believe the leading scientist on Chromasomes is german ;) ?

tigerj says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:14am

I had a very hard time clicking the clusters.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:31am

Cthulu: Thanks for letting me know; I figured there weren't many people still using 32-bit linux, but I'll see if I can do a build (downloading Ubuntu 32 now).

Xaychru04/juaxix, agreed on both points -- the camera makes it easy to lose control, and there isn't much feedback on the pixels you've generated. I'll probably do another version in the next couple weeks to address those and add some more polish (and some other problems I had with it, the goals aren't very clear, and the 'dead pixels' mechanic doesn't work very well IMO).

Thanks everyone for playing, and thanks for the feedback!

mes says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:11am

the idea has some potential, but the controls and the need to read low resolution text in the corner of the screen in order to see what to do kill it.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:12am

Way too hard on my PC, but I imagine that it would be better on a tablet.

Adbook says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:10am

This is original, but the pixels are going too fast for me :)

Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:56am

It was very hard for me to trap a pixel playing on PC, I can see how it would work better on a tablet.
A novel idea.

goerp says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:08am

Smooth gameplay on my Android phone. Pixel look always works for me. I did have to force-quit the application. I wasn't always sure when dead pixels happened. I think this could easily be sold as an app.

infinitedog says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:22pm

Hi there! My Windows XP complains and says "This is not a Win32 valid aplication" :(

Gidaio says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:04pm

The jerkiness of the pixels makes it quite hard to control. It would have been a lot more fun if they hadn't been so jittery.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:04pm

Playing via PC, Had a really hard time playing this game. Control of throwing the pixels was very difficult. I did really like the idea and it was definitely different, which is good.

AMSmirnov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:06pm

Doesn't run on WinXP.

Zelen3d says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:55am

doesn't run on ubuntu 32, in the console I get "segmentation fault"

zatyka says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:58am

The click detection could use some improvement. I liked the originality, but I couldn't quite get the hang of it.

Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:46am

@Zelen3d -- it might depend on glew, you could try an 'apt-get install libglew' to see if that fixes it. Other than that ... it requires OpenGL 2.1, maybe your video card doesn't support it?

I'll try running tomorrow on a clean install to see about removing or bundling any external dependencies ... too tired right now.

S0larCode says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:15am

This is addicting and frustrating at the same time. THE MOLECULES ARE TOO TWITCHY!!!! Great game, though.

triliyn says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:07am

This was interesting and could have been very fun, but the controls were clumsy. I think it would be a lot better if the molecules didn't jitter as much without being interacted with. I'd like to see it with more polish though!

ubear says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 3:53am

Cool concept. Nice graphics. Slightly hard to grab cluster of pixels. Good job.

Moops says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:45pm

Neat concept. The camera was a bit too shaky and some sound effects would've been nice. I had fun though :)

Cipher says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:35am

Wouldnt run on my PC,first a cmd terminal pops up, then a window, then it freezes and closes

gritfish says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Played on PC, took a sec to get the hang of deselecting a 'pixel' but really fun. I REALLY wanted to a score screen showing all the 'finished' pixels I'd made (and their 'purity').

hgcummings says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 5:32pm

Really interesting mechanic, and quite fun to play around with, although the controls could be slightly fiddly at times (wasn't sure how to deselect anything). I liked the way the game progressed, although the layer levels were a bit of a strain on the eyes on my smartphone.

mohammad says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:58pm

Android eh?
Gotta get my dad to download it!

Pierrec says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:16am

On windows, it's quite difficult to play because of the click and drag mechanics which is not working well. But I love the graphics, and I can feel it could be better on Android! So I'm gonna try as soon as I can on a tablet

jplur says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 11:53pm

Nice concept and decently fun. Love that there is an android version and am definitely keeping this on my phone, great job!

pansapiens says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 6:23am

Great mechanic, very satisfying to play. Minor gripe: Back button on Android does nothing on title screen.

KevinWorkman says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:09pm

The idea is there, but like others said, I had trouble with the game confusing my camera movements and moving the squares around. It works great on my phone though, and with some polish this could be pretty fun, so good work for 72 hours!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]