August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Jump'o'lution

by N0W33t0rs - Jam Entry

You are a tiny blob that one day will be the pride of creation.
But you're far from there. (And you'll only get there if you have a nice modern browser :-) )

This is basically a jump'n'run (see the analogy with the title there?)
Move left and right with a, d or cursor left, right. Jump with w, up, x or space.

The trick is that you loose energy everytime you jump (or get on those hideous spikes) and the less energy you have, the lower you jump.
But fear not! Eat your nice, cuddly neighbors to get more energy.


Have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#122Humor(Jam)2.33
#145Audio(Jam)2.57
#165Mood(Jam)2.52
#168Graphics(Jam)2.93
#187Innovation(Jam)2.48
#188Theme(Jam)2.30
#206Fun(Jam)2.39
#210Overall(Jam)2.61

Comments

sev_inf says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:20pm

Very frustrating when you have not enough energy to jump and all you can do is reload the game.

ameliayn says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:22pm

This was a pretty fun game once I figured out what I was doing. I took me a while to realize that the more I ate the higher I jumped. Since the little eaty-things don't respawn after you've consumed them, it is really easy to get stuck an unable to move on. I wasn't ever able to get very far before I got stuck and gave up.

Also, the music doesn't loop, so after it plays through once, you're left playing in silence.

leafo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:22pm

Interesting concept, but I agree that isn't annoying when you get stuck because your energy gets too low. Would be nice if enemies re-spawned.

leafo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:23pm

it's**

Enimal says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:25am

The concept was very interesting, and like the others, i was stuck because my energy was to low. But the game was fun after i get the concept.

N0W33t0rs says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:10pm

Hi, thanks for the Comments.
The thing is, the energy is supposed to be a thing of value.
You have to watch the jumping a little and eat as much blue slimy things as possible, then you'll have no problems at all.

AMSmirnov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:34pm

Nice game. But hard - I think you need to add a food spawn, if you have low energy.

diki says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:02pm

Cool concept! Of course, as others have already noted, it can be very frustrating - but I guess that's part of the deal :)

gnx says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:16am

The central idea does have the advantage of turning the platformer movement itself into a kind of puzzle.
It would just need some balancing because now it is very easy to get stuck with no options.

Kmad says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 2:26pm

Got stuck in a few places when I ran out of energy and that was frustrating. It's a simple, interesting concept though and quite fun when you get the hang of it.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 12:20am

Fun little platformer. Yes, the energy vs jumping height made it hard, but it was still really enjoyable to play. Well done.

airdeck says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 4:35am

Fun, but took a while to get the hang of it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]