August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Evolution of Video Game

by jellycubestudio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made in Flash with FlashPunk library. "Windows" version can run on all OSes.

TO PLAY DOWNLOAD FILES, UNZIP THEM AND THEN OPEN "INDEX.HTML" FILE :)

Have fun!

PS. sorry about that the game is so short :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#237Theme3.25
#299Overall3.10
#327Graphics3.05
#368Humor2.07
#440Mood2.50
#450Fun2.65
#454Audio2.17
#480Innovation2.60
#957Coolness24%

Comments

Perry says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:14am

It looks like a really great game, I stopped playing during the 1 bit area due to frustration with the clunky controls. Screen shots make me want to play more though.

jijaweb says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:22am

The controls man. Ghaaaaaaaa!!! But I like these type of games. And I made it to the end. The stage where you jump on those bounce things in those electridc fields. Man. Frustrating!!! :)

Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:30pm

@Perry @jijaweb
Yeah, I know that controls have to be fixed but I didn't have more time to fix this :(

Anywayz, thank you for playing! :)

Anywayz, thank you

TheSheep says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:42pm

Very nice idea, but the game is too hard for me.

NostraDamon says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:46pm

I love how the game goes in reverse, Hard, then Medium, then Easy. And the graphics are nice!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:06pm

If you reversed the difficulty order and perhaps had better controls the game would of been better. I also found the platforming to be nothing that went beyond whats usual which made me a bit sad.

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:41am

Oh my GOD! It's unreal hardcore game at the beggining. But I think that this is challenge. Amazing idea with reverse difficult grow as say above. But there is not enough music, consequently the mood. But with theme and gameplay good job!

Peax says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:41pm

Nice game with a pretty cool concept! I really enjoy.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:59pm

Not that hard. Just right.

davidllanos22 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:04pm

Challenging game at the first two levels, what happened to the third? :/ Well done!

RosyPenguin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:10am

I tried so hard to get through the green scan-lines style level... but after dying nearly two dozen times I had to give up :( The jump height could maybe vary based on how long you hold down the button?

Neat concept though, I always love to see multiple art styles in one game!

Jacic says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:30pm

This is similar to what I was trying to do, before I ran out of time. Other than the controls, this is good.

xhunterko says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:13pm

You get the 'hey I put that idea on twitter and someone actually did it award'! Great job!

Orni says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:42pm

I didn't stop playing until I won!
the only thing better than frustratingly hard games is when you beat one :)
(yeah, I like stuff like this)
well done - some obvious improvements could be made (better controls, possibly mario-style jumps depending on button press duration, better collision-system, pixel-perfect masks for spikes and stuff) but what really surprised me was the reverse difficulty (which somehow beatifuly reflects the development of game difficulty through time) - brilliant!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:25am

I was amused by the game getting easier as it evolved, just like how games today are becoming a lot easier in general. Nice concept and well executed!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:26pm

Thank you all for commenting! And also thanks for pointing out my mistakes! :) I'll try to improve my future games!

Spaceoff says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 8:07pm

A nice idea and well executed- were you making a remark about modern games by making the spriting worse, or was it just that your retro green sprites were just awesome?

Anyway, good overall awesome spriting too... needs music though.

Porter says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:17am

Controls could have been a little bit tighter, but it wasn't too bad, and I finished the game. I would suggest using different graphical styles for the springs however, conveniently having them bounce as high as level design permits is weird :P

amidos2006 says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 10:47am

Nice game and nice level design :)

sn333g says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 11:18am

hi .. can u share a new version of source (v 1.2) ??

Sep 7, 2012 @ 4:00pm

New version of source (with fixed physics) is available here:
http://gryniezalezne.cba.pl/ld24/source1.2/source1.2.zip

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]