August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

RE-evolution: The Legend of Hopper

by andreyin - Jam Entry

Controls-

Arrow keys: Move
Z: Jump
X: Shoot spears
C: Use Shield

---

EDIT2:
Most of it is fixed now! Press C to use the shield! Sorry for the bad ending, I have to go to college and there's no time!

EDIT: I've changed my game to a Jam entry (I hope that's not against the rules), so I could add a shield in the game. It was already programmed, I just decided to take it away at the last minute because you could basically beat the whole game in seconds without ever getting hit, using it. But then, I was tired as hell and couldn't think of a better way. Only now I noticed that I could make the char unmovable, while he is using the shield hahaha.

---

Finally it's done!

It was supposed to be much bigger, but we all know how things work out in jams like these, right? Hahaha.

I apologise for the blurry houses in the screenshot, I don't have a videocard (mine broke a couple days ago) and the on-board one I'm using doesn't have Webgl, so some things won't display correctly. Also the FPS is crazy in here. But at least it's done! There was a shield but I had to remove it at the last minute, because it made the game too easy (you could just press and hold and go through all of the game).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#38Mood(Jam)3.44
#69Fun(Jam)3.24
#74Audio(Jam)3.30
#77Overall(Jam)3.34
#79Graphics(Jam)3.69
#119Humor(Jam)2.38
#143Theme(Jam)2.72
#152Innovation(Jam)2.69

Comments

turnip says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:12pm

This is a great looking game. I couldn't get past the spear guys though, they throw spears too fast! That coupled with the fact that you go all the way to the beginning again (and have to sit through the cut-scenes again) meant that I didn't get very far.

Hazel says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Really like the way this looks, the backgrounds and characters are lovely. The whole "throwing spears down a tunnel" thing got a bit frustrating but this seems like a nice little game overall :)

Folis says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:16pm

That's a nice entry you have there, but it's quite hard (in my opinion) :o

Phobos001 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:24pm

The enemies are way to difficult. I was so happy when I killed the first one after three deaths only to run into a second one and die, and then have to restart from the beginning. Not fun, just frustrating.

The aesthetics for the game are enjoyable however. If you reduce the enemies health just a bit then maybe the game will be a bit more fun!

aschearer says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:35pm

The artstyle is pretty cool. I like the sounds and music. You have a good mood going. Shame I can't get past the first guy in the tunnel... Please please add a checkpoint system so I don't have to watch cutscenes over and over. I'd also like to see the combat system change slightly so there's a little bit more thinking and less spamming. Or maybe I just didn't get it! Right now I felt like I had to fire as fast as possible before the enemy fired back. I tried to dodge his spears by retreating, jumping, striking them out of the air with my spears, etc. Nothing seemed to work. Still, a nice entry.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:45pm

Having to replay the intro part each time is not helping to beat the difficulty.
Otherwise, nice pixel style and animation. Music and sounds fits. I will play it again when I will have some time.

davidllanos22 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:59pm

I really loved the style on this one, but it's quite hard!

hirsch says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:02pm

This game is a nice little game, which convinced me absolutely. I played it nine times, but i weren't able to kill one of the guys :/ (they need three hits to kill me and i need over 5 to kill one of them)
Remarkable are the detailed graphics (e.g. no trees in the background after the impact)
Even though it was hard, it was quite fascinating (I like challenging games). Well done :)

robolee says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:24pm

Played the web version, followed the enemy to the tunnel and got hit, but using my shield I tried to catch up to him because I couldn't hit him with my spears. So I'm running with my shield and another guy joins him and then another but I'm still running shield in hand unable to be hit, then suddenly they clip through the terrain and their spears are blocked the moment they throw them and I just jump out of the cave. Did the same thing to the same effect on the next stage and then for the boss I thought it was a cave entrance so I ran into it, realized I couldn't go down so I started throwing spears, realized that I wasn't being hit by the attack because I was behind where it spawns from and killed it easily...

Basically I managed to complete/break the game by running past everything with my shield, finished it in under 3 minutes on my first play-through. The only reason I found this bug is because the enemy wouldn't give up ground when I was chasing him to get closer to spear him to death, after that I realized shield = OP.

MortalWombat says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:09pm

I really liked the atmosphere and story that you create in the beginning! Graphics and sound really do fit very well!
Sadly, the game is just too hard! Checkpoints (right at the beginning of the cave) and way less health for the enemies would really fit this well.
I almost made the same mistake on my own game but luckily noticed how my girlfriend was constantly raging while trying to beat the game so i toned it down quite a bit in the end.

I vote for a post-compo so i can see the credits! ;)

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:19pm

Thanks everyone for the comments! I've changed the game to a Jam entry, so I can re-add the shield, fix some things (maybe even add a decent ending).

You can play with a shield right now, by pressing the C button. I'll fix everything and upload the final version in a few minutes.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:26pm

I'm stuck right in the beginning! Character doesn't move out of the place.

I really liked the atari-art style :} want to play it now :D

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:26pm

Wow, really? That's crazy.. I have no idea what's wrong. It's working fine here, using Chrome..

Dir3kt says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:33pm

using Firefox got same problem as LuizHGMonclar. Character doesn't move. I got the walk anim and can shoot tough..

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:40pm

I just tested it here and it's not working either. WHATTHEHELL. I tested it a thousand times before and it was working perfectly, really weird, I haven't even messed with code that could cause this to happen..
Oh well, I'll try to fix it now.

andreyin says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:42pm

Oh, ok, nevermind, I found out what was wrong. It was a weird Construct 2 bug that caused that.. even if I disable a line of code, it still made it happen. Or maybe I just misunderstood.. Anyway, it's fixed now. Thanks for the input!

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:56pm

Ok, I was able to play it now!
I found it way too hard right on the beginning, but for some reason i freaking loved your game, it just clicked. Maybe it's because of the difficulty, lol!

I have a suggestion, though. Could you create a checkpoint when you die or something like that? It's kind of a drag having to watch the cutscene over and over again when you die. I believe if you do that, the feeling of frustration when dying will decrease a lot, ending up on people playing your game for more time, and enjoying it more!

By the way, I loved what you did on the beginning cutscene... forcing the player to explore to see something happen, great job. I did something similar on my game, I'd love if you could check it out if you have some time!

Great job! Cheers!

ramoncb says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:13pm

I liked it, a little difficult, but very fun! Any chance for a downloadable version?

The game in Opera runs with some graphics bugs.

Greetings from Brazil! \o/

Alface says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:21am

Caralho! Mto phoda! Curti mto! \o.

Alface says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:28am

O fim do jogo é o bixo soltando fogo msmo?

Wyatt White says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:52am

The enemies are annoying, and the particles on the burning huts kinda bugged me, but other than that. . . FAN FREAKIN TASTIC!

SaintHeiser says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:14pm

Hard... unreal hard... But very interesting=)

batiali says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:42pm

I really, really liked the fast paced combat mechanics in this game, well done! Art style spoke perfect with me as well.

savethejets1 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:07pm

I like the graphics, but I agree it was a tad hard. Maybe having a continue mechanic might have helped out with that. Overall it was pretty good.

YopSolo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:04pm

works with chrome
hard to play
cool entry !

xhunterko says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:21pm

Wow, what a downer ending. Still. Your right. Throwingspears is fun! I just, don't see how this fits the theme. But maybe I'm missing something?

andreyin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:05am

@xhunterko the main idea was to have the main guy evolve into the species he defeated, but I ran out of time ): sorry!

Zemmi says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:19am

I agree with most people here, it was cool but checkpoints would have been really nice. Too bad you didn't ran out of time for the theme though, I like the idea of turning into your enemies. Also I think it would be cool if the levels had a bit more verticality or you could jump higher. Since the spears arc this might let players pull off fancier shots or gain an advantage over the enemies.

Porpentine says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:57am

MACHINE GUN SPEARS

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:43am

Awesome fun! Wish there were checkpoints, or a way to skip the cutscene. Didn't finish the game. I'm impressed with the game "script", it's impressive.

repstyle says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:05pm

I can't play because the character can't move. He is stuck. I can only attack and defend.

What happen ?

andreyin says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:50pm

@repstyle I have no idea.. Have you played this game before, and it was like that? If you're using Chrome, try refreshing the game a couple of times (or maybe like 20 times).

Cake&Code says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:03am

That was awesome! I didn't have any problems playing it and I only died once before beating the game. Having to see the intro again sucked but since it was only that one time I didn't mind too much.

The graphics are pretty, the animations looks darn good, and the enemies are mysterious and alluring. Throwing the spear to the left was a bit off, I don't think you flipped the image until it was already visible so it has a noticeable wobble as it turns around to face the direction it is traveling.

That ending... so existential! xD

Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:51am

I'm proud of myself that I did not die at all when I finished the game. I guess I didn't want to start from the very beginning and stay through the intro like the others did. The art and audio have reinforced the mood of the game. I liked it.

Maple says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:21am

You can stand on the little ledge at the end and just jump 'n' shoot to reach him and he can't get you, lol. Also one guy wouldn't die! He just went into a running animation and didn't give me a heart. Not a bad entry at all, though. Nice job.

And no, Uboa isn't in my game. :P

matheod says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:20pm

The game was good, unfortunaly, due to a chrome crash, and as i don't want to restart all the game, I can't finish it :-(

zkenshin says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:50pm

Nice game. :)

90sml says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 12:04pm

Love all the art and the idea of the dog people. :)
But why are the enemies in black boxes? Is it normal or a bug ? :)

SiENcE says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:38pm

Superb game. It's funny and tell a short story. Wow.

chuchino says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 1:29am

I think even without being able to move, the shield makes the game a bit too easy. On the other hand, it's rather tough without using the shield, and if it wasn't there then I probably would have given up due to the fact that you have to watch the opening cutscene every time you die. I think leaving the shield out but adding a checkpoint or two would work well.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 11:36pm

Cool game to play. Hard to play as others have said! Great start and something to build on. Well done.

kato9 says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 5:04pm

Nice visuals, and I liked your approach to telling the story. The combat was a bit too simple to be really engaging.The enemies need to have more randomized behavior, instead of just standing still and throwing spears at regular intervals. Solid effort overall!

Sep 15, 2012 @ 10:06pm

The graphics are nice, but the combat is a bit underwhelming. It takes too many hits and it doesn't feel engaging for me. Trowing spears feels somehow cool, though. :p I also like the mood of the game.

Tritax says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 11:43pm

I had a lot of fun with this.. i was a little sad that it ended so quickly. Seemed like there could be some balancing of damage (it took like 20 spears to kill an enemy - but they could kill me in 3 shots).

Thought the graphics were great!

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]