August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

8-Bit Big Bang (that was the origonal name, I never changed it, it was 8-bit)

by Generalgore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

for win 7 or vista users try use this: http://wiki.yoyogames.com/images/7/77/GM_Convert_Game.zip

otherwise the game will not run.

There is a bug that sometimes when you kill another lifeform and your about to evolve (say you have 8 total ponts) you will skip an evolution and never be able to evolve again, or win :/ so sorry. you evolve every 10 points, if you pass a factor of 10 total point (the gray box) and do not evolve the bug happened and you will need to start over.

To evolve you must drain the power from bits of space dust that are floating around the world. there are four main types and three hybrids.
light Blue - speed
Red - attack
Green - health
violet - Absorption (increases power draining speed)
yellow - Red+Green
Deep Blue - Violet+light Blue
White - All
Objects:
there are several objects in the world.
Voids - small purple lights that glow brighter as they drain power from anything touching them. they sometimes form Black Holes.
Black Hole - a deadly void that pulls in nearmy objects and destroys them.
Energy Stars - white spinning stars that give energy to things that touch them.
Genetic Nebula - a rare golden formation that creates life.
magnetic field - an invisible force that holds particle in place.
Particle Spring - a rare formation that makes Deep Blue and White Particles.
Shooting star (white) - commonly seen flying around they make white particle when they spawn, and more when they leave the screen.
Shooting star (Gold) - rarer than white shooting stars they trail yellow particles.
Crystal Shard - Red shards of crystal that fly around and break into red particles when they collide with the player or it's attack.
Life forms:
Shell - Well armored life form that runs when attacked and leaves behind exploding energy balls.
Hunter - a faster lifeform that chases other life and tries to kill it by shooting energy beams at it.

if you win post your Years to evolve on here.
good luck! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Graphics3.60
#170Audio3.00
#235Mood2.92
#246Overall3.20
#278Innovation3.07
#283Theme3.13
#401Fun2.73
#582Coolness48%

Comments

Ramikaze says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:33am

Doesn't work on my computer :/

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:34am

can't run the exe file

NexusSteve says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:35am

Cannot seem to get the executable to start, Windows will think for a moment then nothing happens.

csanyk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:37am

I can't get it to run either (Win7 x64)... but just going from the screen shots, it doesn't look very 8-bit to me.

Materie says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:39am

Cannot run the game in Win 7. The process starts, but nothing more happens. Tried a few times; task manager showed three instances of the process open, but no game showed up.

NedortGames says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:40am

I couldn`t get it to work! pity as it looks good but no 8bit

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:23am

you start out as an 8-bit character and gain resolution.

Generalgore says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:31am

oh, and if someone can play the game just let me know here so I know it is at least working for some people, I'm sorry and have no idea whats wrong to those of you who can't play it.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:13am

nope for me too

zuloo37 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:10am

Did not work here, either.

lbrande says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:05am

The does not start!

Generalgore says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:16pm

I'm really sorry guys, I have an Idea what might be wrong though, I'm using an old version of GameMaker and games made in it will not run of vista or 7. so I'm sorry. I'll be getting GameMaker 8.1 before long.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:57pm

I did get this to run but I wasn't able to move and eventually after clicking and dragging the mouse it crashed on me, Sorry.

Will Xyen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:03pm

http://wiki.yoyogames.com/images/7/77/GM_Convert_Game.zip

To run on vista and 7

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Hi - tried running this game - didn't work - looks like it's a Win7 issue - but like the way the graphics look from the screen shot
;-)

sampyxis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:34pm

Hi - tried running this game - didn't work - looks like it's a Win7 issue - but like the way the graphics look from the screen shot
;-)

Generalgore says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:50pm

hey thanks Will Xyen I'll add that in the description. :)

Wan says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:11pm

Some good news! The game works fine on Linux through Wine :P

Here is some actual feedback on the game: the gameplay is quite original, full of good ideas, despite the fact that the game lacks explanations on how you're supposed to play (how am I supposed to get the 10 points I need to evolve?!).

I finally got things figured, and one these first issues passed, I managed to enjoy the game, and evolve a bit before getting too close of what actually was a black hole in formation :P

So... Pretty good entry to me! Plus since it seems touch-friendly, the concept could make a nice mobile game in the mood of Osmos.

Generalgore says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:12pm

Thanks for the feedback Wan I have updated the post so that it explains the world alot better and how you evolve. I also added a Linux link. =D

olav_st says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:29pm

I played the game through wine. The audio did not work (if there is any) so I cant rate that, but the gameplay was nice. It took me a while to figure out what I was doing though. The graphics are simplistic but they work well. Good work, too bad a lot of people cant run it.

Generalgore says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:40pm

there is sound but the linux version was untested. sorry.

garygreen says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:21pm

I got the game to run, but I couldn't figure out how to drain the power from other objects. I've got to say I really liked the graphics style and ambient sound, even though I didn't know how to control the game.

iandioch says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:33pm

Really love the idea of this game, and the aesthetic is fantastic. Combined with the great audio, you got that universe-y mood just perfect.
However, my one complaint is that I seemed to be have been unable to shoot. I was right clicking like nobody's business, but nothing was happening...
The highlight was definitely the visuals. Great job!

timtipgames says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:23pm

I was able to run the game just fine with the converter (Win7 64bit). And what should I say: I loved it! I think it doesn't need much explanation. The only thing that nearly made me leave was that the first three times that I started a game, I was killed before the camera had even zoomed in on me. Beside that, I really liked the game-play. All those things that happen around the player make the game-world feel really alive. So all others: Don't hesitate to use the converter (it's really just a simple click) and play this. It's worth it. Good job!

AMSmirnov says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Interesting idea. In the beginning it was a very difficult. But then it's become very easy - no one could kill me. Very good game! I think you need a bit balance, and it will be excellent.

Generalgore says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 7:16pm

thanks guys, I really apreciate the feedback.

goerp says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 8:15pm

There's quite a lot going on. It is not always obvious, but that isn't a big problem. Maybe an ingame menu with your explanation above with examples of teh objects? All in all I find it impressive for 48 hours. The minimal music fits the game very well. I did notice the game did something with my screen. My whole screen dimmed (got a bit darker) and it took about a second to revert to normal after I exited the game.

demonpants says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 9:39pm

Looks purty! Mac port?

Rex Peppers says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Can't get it to run. :-(

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]