Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Hard Life 3X - echa - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Known bug: if you select gene or mutation and it is not aviable, your active skill drops to none. Please rechoose it.
UPD. According to the post about "typo bugs", I set main game link to the bugfixed version. For very first version, go here: http://echa.spb.ru/ld/24/

** In every level you should achieve target score AND then you should survive for 30 seconds. **

Without sounds, unfortunately.

Use mouse to play. Please note, than you need create non-solo creatures to increase score multiplier.

Here is my tips for second level (maybe spoilers):
a) Try to create one big creature. 5x is very good. Than create solo creatures and try to survive. Do not collect more evo-points!
b) Choose "spray" active skill. Create 13 solo creatures, than use spray to boost you score and try to survive.

View echa's journal. | View all entries by echa

Ratings

Coolness100%
#55Innovation3.75
#183Fun3.18
#255Overall3.18
#276Theme3.14
#500Mood2.39
#553Graphics2.42
#577Humor1.46
#603Audio1.19

Comments

bigbadwofl says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:17am

Interesting concept and good execution. Had quite a bit of fun with this.

littleball says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:34am

I had fun. I found it to get quite tricky (not a bad thing)

JokerDen says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:34am

It's good gameplay when you playing with circle. But text part is not so good.

ollie says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:35am

Cool concept and pretty challenging. I couldn't get past the first level (level select only let me click the top item even when it said 27/25) but I might be missing something. Having to swipe over more than one with the things that bounce you around is a cool idea and was very well executed

ncannasse says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:36am

A bit complex to understand at first, but you somehow get stick to it :)

infernet89 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:40am

Nice twists on typical avoider mechanic! And the graphics of complex enemies fits very good.

PohyCZ says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:41am

Very addictive! :)

Rellikiox says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:49am

Very challenging. Had a lots of fun.

Zed says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:43pm

REALLY clever, but very difficult. Could've done with some music.

reheated says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:54pm

Hard and addictive.

LuizHGMonclar says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:23pm

Wow, I really had fun! I love these fast play-repeat games, especially when you got some upgrades to go along. Great job.

Rex Peppers says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:21am

Pretty cool, wish it had some sound though.

echa says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:00am

>Pretty cool, wish it had some sound though.
You're right.
I didn't have enough time. I'm glad I've made 7 levels as I wanted. )

thewiseguy99 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:36am

Agree, this is addicting. Good entry.

Maxium says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:15am

Good concept and very difficult at times

TravisChen says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:46am

Great gameplay, nice work!

Talslain says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:42am

Interesting game and concept. A little difficult to do but still had me addicted for quite some time. Well done

Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:56am

Nice complex take on the avoider-genre!

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:40am

This game is really hard for me

Waynetron says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:55am

Found it way too difficult.

Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:08pm

Loved the idea very original! Especially liked the 'health indicator'.

gustavodort says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:54pm

The lack of sound really ruins the game man :/

IJoshayy says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 5:07pm

Good game, but it gets too difficult too quickly. Besides that this was fun.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:27pm

Really interesting to see the different creatures appear.

whilefun says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:01am

Interesting concept! I like the snappy/bouncy feel of the controls, and that the border got smaller if I hit it. I couldn't get the second set of genes though. But I like the idea of different stats/upgrades with each gene. Very nice!

ahm99 says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:48am

Interesting idea but I found it difficult. Nice job though.

GreyShock says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 6:57am

Insanely hard! I like the concept very much, but I can't get over the 2nd level. Did you beat your game? :o

ChronoDK says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:23am

A nice concept - extremely challenging!

echa says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:49am

GreyShock, I just haven't time to build up difficulty curve =\
Yeah, I beat it. =)

In second level:
a) Try to create one big creature. 5x is very good. Than create solo creatures and try to survive. Do not collect more evo-points !]
b) Choose "spray" active skill. Create 13 solo creatures, than use spray to boost you score and try to survive.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:53am

Had no idea what I was doing for a while, but I got it after playing it for a while. It was pretty fun just messing around with it though. Nice!

- Andrew

Barry Abrams says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 12:29pm

Had a bit of trouble playing on a trackpad. With a regular mouse, it worked just fine. I like the feel of moving your player around. The little bit of momentum adds a ton.

Nile says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:37pm

Very interesting and unique concept, had a lot of fun playing it. Different from every other game out there.

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:00am

Top Fun and Innovation scores from me! :-)

Thurig says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:34am

Nice game! The concept was good.

raarlac says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 10:55pm

Great and original concept! Spent a lot of time playing :)

mdkess says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 11:48pm

Very clever game, and a fantastic take on the theme. Love it!

FunByJohn says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:07am

Innovation!

Sestren says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:10pm

Fun to play and very challenging. Good job.

pknowles says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 1:27pm

Quite frustrating, but I had to finish it so there you go :)

dector says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:35pm

Little bit hard, as for me. But funny and has good and pleasant graphics.

harusame says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 3:51pm

Fun game but too haaard !
Good concept !

marudziik says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 11:32pm

I got to level 4, where it essentially got unplayable for me because of the constant following by those balls and because every touch to the edge of screen means quick death. Too hard, but I would play it even more if I had some time - so, definitely fun. Frustrating, but fun.
Theme wise, I suspect you were waiting for 'survive' or something like that, but the mechanics are so innovative and interesting, that it doesn't really matter for me. Very good entry.

cadin says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:01am

Really challenging. It gets really hard to tell which circle is my character once there gets to be a few organisms on the screen. I couldn't really figure out what the Skill/Gene/Mutation settings did.
I only made it to level 2.

Neat idea though. I think this could be really fun with a little more polish and balance.
Great work.

SaintHeiser says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:47am

Awesome concept! Gameplay is very addictive, but game is really hard. It's a pity that there is not any sound. Great work anyway!

zatyka says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:33pm

Very addicting but difficult.

jplur says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 7:53pm

Quite hard but a solid game that has a lot of replayability.

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 1:02am

Seems really cool but it needs some sort of tutorial.

Jorjon says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:43am

A bit too hard.

yosh says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:53am

Really nice concept. Would be a nice mobile app!

Walt says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 11:19am

took some real patience till i got it. and never actually got very far. pretty difficult.

mohammad says ...
Sep 6, 2012 @ 2:09am

Didn't know what to do at start.
Didn't know that the wall was hazardous.
I'm not a big fan of UBERHARD games.
But I still feel that just because I don't like the difficulty doesn't mean others will, so i'm giving it the rating it deserves.

Teknik says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 6:35pm

good game, but very hard. maybe have the enemies spawn a little slower/ later.

RipX says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 10:51am

Despite the simplistic graphics, this started to feel like a more in-depth and interesting game the more that I played it. I found it quite innovative and captures the theme well and you get a sense of urgency when you collide with an entity. :)

munchor says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 10:47pm

I liked the concept very much, but it's very hard to get the trick ;)

axcho says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:50am

Really intriguing mechanics, but maybe tuned a bit too hard at first. Would be nice to ease into it more. Worth exploring further! :)

DWallin says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 3:00am

A simple soundtrack//sound effects would have gone a long way for this one. Some interesting mechanics although I feel they could be better explained.

airdeck says ...
Sep 14, 2012 @ 5:18am

A little confusing at first, but a lot of fun once I got into it

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]