August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

An Astronomical Affray

by reheated - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is a top-down shooter with two classes of enemies, each of which has several parameters defining its combat abilities. Each round, the enemies that appear are mutations of those enemies that dealt the most damage to you on the previous round.

You can steer the direction of the enemies' evolution by taking more damage from the ones you like. It might not be easy to see that it's working, because of the game's difficulty. Therefore you can start a game in easy mode by pressing Ctrl-Alt-R when the game is paused. In this mode you can for example try to cause the enemies to become a particular colour.

The game has been found to run OK on a netbook with Ion graphics. It requires the .Net and XNA redistributables (the "installer" version of the game should be able to download them).

Thanks go to Brian Corr for moral and technical camaraderie. Try his entry "being a Vampire Is Not Very Fun" here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=15518 .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#30Audio3.73
#215Fun3.10
#229Overall3.23
#303Humor2.25
#320Theme3.03
#422Mood2.54
#455Innovation2.65
#530Graphics2.48

Comments

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:31am

Barely works with wine for me! Crashes two-three minutes into the game! Gonna give it a few more tries to give a more accurate rating!

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:38am

Ok, got it to work!

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:15am

It's very hard to stay alive for long! The music, sounds, and voice are great though :)

Arkazon says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:38am

Download link just takes me to a google drive signup page. I suggest using dropbox - doesn't force other people to sign up in order to get your files.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:45am

Sweet! The screenshots do NOT do this justice. At first I thought, "what does this have to do with evolution?" but then I saw the enemies evolving -- I didn't have to read the documentation to figure that out. Awesome music, too. Game is a bit hard.

mariscal says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:55am

I manage to reach level 5! :D

The music and sounds in general are awesome! It's very funny too, great work dude! ;)

reheated says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:59am

Arkazon: thanks for your suggestion. I moved the files to dropbox.

Punga says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 4:16pm

I dont have much to say for this game.

quill18 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:39pm

I can't get this game to run, even with the installer. The .exe appears in my process list, but nothing ever happens. Windows 7.

I'm really excited to give this a try too. I like that you're using actual natural selection to evolve your enemies.

goerp says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:07pm

I really loved the music! The game was a bit too hard for me to really see evolution in action; too much multitasking (steering in one direction and aiming in another).

GFM says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:15pm

That's an interesting and unique concept! Though many games use the same base idea (mutating the enemies and combining (kinda) them), I really liked how the trigger is you taking damage. =D

The only downside are the graphics... =X
But the song was really good! =D

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:23am

quill18: can you tell me what kind of CPU and graphics card you have?

In the off chance that this is something to do with the custom pixel shaders, can anyone for whom the original doesn't work try this: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/100794454/AstronomicalAffrayNoPS.zip . The only thing changed here is the removal of the pixel shaders. If you use this for voting please keep in mind that you aren't getting the full package re graphics & mood.

To everyone: thanks for your kind comments on the music and sound!

atraxgames says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:08pm

It fits well the theme, but the gameplay it's a bit repetitive

Aceria says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:10pm

Quite fun, nice choice of music and sfx. Gameplay wasn't all too shabby either, but it didn't feel very natural. The movement would probably be nicer without any smoothing.

Either way, good work there, it's a pretty addicting game!

Moops says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 3:49pm

Really tough! Great music, I liked the voice work too.

jarnik says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 5:25pm

The normal mode is actually pretty hard, thanks for the Easy mode. I like the controls, the music was nice! Also the enemy feedback0based evolution is a great idea.

Sep 7, 2012 @ 8:30pm

Can't run because WINE can't put things in the MATE system tray. Don't know why this needs an icon in my tray, but...

tastive says ...
Sep 13, 2012 @ 4:26pm

Got to level 14! Fun gameplay, enthralling tunes. I'd have to play it a few more times to see the evolution happening, but I liked it.

someone says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 11:59am

Unfortunately XNA games never work in linux.

goffmog says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 3:48pm

I wish this game was more fun to play, the sound is great but it's let down by the gameplay itself :( Maybe I just suck at it.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]