August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

The Wrong Kind of Evolution

by Matt Hartley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A long time ago some primates went underground and evolved in a different way to normal humans, in the present day they come out at night.

To play extract the zip and run the LudumDare24.jar.
It doesn't work if you don't extract it.
This is my first LD, sorry im not good with the art.
If you have trouble running the game comment and I'l see what I can do.
I cant test the linux version as I don't have linux at the mo so sorry if it doesn't work.

Me and some friends are starting a gamedev business, if you are interested or you like this game follow on twitter:
https://twitter.com/M4tt53
https://twitter.com/Giant_Jelly

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#473Humor1.80
#482Fun2.59
#604Overall2.52
#608Graphics2.28
#617Mood2.10
#655Theme2.00
#739Innovation1.72

Comments

Jeremy1080 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:49am

Actually really fun! The only things that I kinda didn't like were that you could shoot and walk going up,down,left and right, and then up-right, but none of the other 3 diagonal directions, overall great!

Milo says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:57am

It seemed hard to get much progress here, since you could never shoot straight onto whatever might be hurting you.

MattHartley says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:40am

Sorry about not being able to shoot in all directions, it works on some keyboards but it needs to be coded better

madpew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:10am

No sound? I see OpenAL packaged but can't hear anything. Also noticed the key-problem. Besides to that, well done.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 3:25pm

A bit too difficult I think, might have been nice to rotate the player towards the mouse and shoot and move in that way, but still good especially for a first attempt at LD

My Milked Eek says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:43pm

Could be better if you would have mapped the direction of the shooting to the mouse. So that you could shoot behind you while running from the mob.

Or replenish health after each wave. I made it past the first one, but the second one got me because I lost too much during Wave 1.

Other than that, cool game.

kevincorrigan says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:44pm

This is a fun survival game but not sure, maybe I didn't play long enough, but i didn't see anything that had to do with evolution.

Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:49pm

Not being able to shoot while backing away makes this impossible to pass the first wave. Otherwise good first go!

Glamdring says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:07am

Couldn't really get far enough to find out how it fit the theme, and I had to do a looooottttt of kiting to get past wave 1

panda says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:14am

I heard no sound, but the game's pretty fun! It worked flawlessly (thanks for the "smooth scrolling" toggle, I needed it! Though it was a bit hard to find). Are the waves different from each other? I couldn't tell. The graphics are fine though a bit blocky, and the connection to the theme is a bit tenuous. The game works and it has a menu and all. Congrats! You made a game in 48h. I made it to wave 3, but it'd be easier if we could shoot in a direction other than where we're walking.

philomory says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:48am

Seem fun but, as others have said, these kind of games need to allow you to aim independently from movement - either mouse plus WASD or WASD + arrows. As it stands it's kinda frustrating.

MattHartley says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:22pm

I did want to use the mouse for the shooting but i'm not good enough at java yet to do that sort of thing, i'm used to directx and there are functions to help with vector math but there isn't anything like that with lwjgl that I know of

Raptor85 says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 12:57am

it works ok but it's not quite packaged correctly, since lwjgl isn't included inside the jar and no launcher script is given you have to launch the game from a shell with the command
java -Djava.library.path=./ -jar LudumDare24.jar
Unless you have lwjgl installed on your system itself already

I found it somewhat frustrating, the zombies surround you pretty easily at the start of each wave and there's no real good way to shoot them, since you dont quite shoot right in front of you and you move slowly enough there's not enough time to shoot a gap.

Cipher says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 1:22am

Pretty fun, could use some tweaking though

kddekadenz says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 10:02pm

The Linux version didn't start and it outputted no error log.

MattHartley says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 4:09pm

Sorry if the linux version doesn't work, I couldn't test it

Khayet says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 11:50am

I actually managed to defeat five waves. But only by dying a lot and frantically tapping the space bar. The player should really just be able to hold down the space bar in order to shoot as fast as possible.

Also, a short recovery time after being hit during which the player is invincible would be great. I had situations in which a single enemy nearly killed me.
I actually find the graphics to be relatively good. The background isn't impressive, but the sprites and walking animations work out well.
No audio?

Cyboot says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 6:23pm

fun to play even if its very difficult because you only shoot in the walking direction.

I think if you could shoot independently from your moving direction it would be much more interesting!

kibertoad says ...
Sep 16, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Game is OK, wish there was more variety to it.

Sep 17, 2012 @ 1:00pm

Phew, that is hard! Not much relation to the theme though. The controls work great and overall gameplay feels really smooth. It really helps that you can go sqrt(2) times faster diagonally, but you might want to fix that :)

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]