August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

ROLL PAPER, ROLL!!

by Lapinou - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with unity, first Ludum Dare for me, very special and good experience.

Instructions are in the game, in "Play" mode you need to collect the pickup using the right color of roll, in "Zen" mode, just feel free to play with the rolls ;) !

Gameplay video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvL47UVpysA&feature=plcp
Time-lapse video : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TRcgLl3vYhc

UPDATE : NEW CONTROLS, GAME IS MUCH EASIER TO PLAY KNOW



INFORMATION : If you don't see the theme in this game, please make some research about the etymology of "evolution" (http://oxforddictionaries.com/definition/english/evolution?view=uk here for example if you're lazy :p ), or read the infos :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#111Innovation3.53
#342Graphics3.02
#384Mood2.62
#395Humor2.02
#414Audio2.28
#556Fun2.39
#582Overall2.58
#683Theme1.85

Comments

Bemmu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:30am

Web entry is 404.

Zccc says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 10:42am

I like it it's very colourful :)

Andrew says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:19am

More zen than I would have thought. Would be cool if the colors changed after each roll.

Lapinou says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:32pm

@Bemmu : I don't know why, seems to work with other people :/ ... But I'll upload it somewhere else, so just wait a little :)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:22am

Really loved the setting on top of the mountain and the whole game concept was so unique, but I couldn't quite figure out how to play. Also just a suggestion, but perhaps next time swap out that scratching sound with something less grating - it was hard to listen to.

BNeutral says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:30am

GENIUS! Well it doesn't really have much to do with the theme, and it could use improvements pretty much everywhere, but the concept is brilliant, I applaud you good sir.

goerp says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:33pm

Not really an evolution theme (unless I don't get it), but pretty.

Volute says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:44pm

I couldn't figure out how to play but the atmosphere is nice :)

Skypeians says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:01pm

Very Interesting I like it.

AaronGordon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:57pm

Very nice idea and simple mechanics. A bit clunky i found tho, and i'm not sure how this fits to the theme.

Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:45am

you forgot that right click brings up the menu in the web player

Lapinou says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:03am

@FireHawkSoftware : Thanks for the feedback, fixed on Web version ;)

Thomas Bowker says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 7:15am

Haha, I love it.

DaviDeMo says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 8:42am

pretty relaxing game =)

Ragzouken says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 9:25am

Very interesting idea, and the wind noises were nice. I found it quite difficult to actually achieve the goal though :(

ratking says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:35am

What a strange game! I iked the idea, although I don't get why you play it in the mountains?! ;)

Lapinou says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:11am

@ratking : Well, no time to make a good environment, needed a skybox, like mountains and well, what a better place than mountain to make something roll :)

Maple says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 1:15pm

I was able to get out of the boundary and walk all over the slope! Also, It's cool when you spawn heaps at a time and they fly through the air like a rainbow!

Jeremy1080 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:29am

So dang colorful!

zakchaos says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 5:57am

Though i don't understand what it had to do with the theme, it was a cool little graphics, / mechanic demo, that was very impressive and alot of fun to play with.

infernet89 says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:51pm

Interesting gameplay (and i assume that unfolding while rolling is a "evolution" movement.), very original!

samoojamies says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 10:01am

Fun concept. Always wanted to do that in real life lol. Controls are quite complicated first. Was hard to hit boxes if they were too high. Innovative little game nice job.

Jeremias says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 4:55pm

Interesting (and crazy) idea. Did you update the controls within the 48 hour compo restrictions?

Lapinou says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 4:01am

@Jeremias : No, unfortunately I deeply needed some sleep, so like I said in previous post, I've changed controls after the 48h. But I asked if it was ok to do so and they told me yes. Maybe Your post make me feel like I've missed something...??

Jeremias says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 2:54pm

Don't want to denunciate you - who am I to apply the rules to others? ^^

In my personal opinion, controls are part of the game developement process mapped to 48 hours. I mean, heavy exceptions or corrupted controls so the game is really unplayable should be fixable. I already rated your game so my question was only for personal interest :)

Lapinou says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 6:35pm

Ok. Well, I didn't change or add any feature, it was only remapping cause the previous controls were totally bad in a way that players just can't play the game because of them.
(I hardly think that previous one were just a wall between the game and the players :/)

So to be clear, I've only changed some inputs, but if finally it was against the rule I swear that I didn't know that, I've made a post asking that before make the changes :/

moonmagic says ...
Sep 15, 2012 @ 7:22am

I like the colors all in my life.

thewiseguy99 says ...
Sep 17, 2012 @ 10:57pm

really nice looking game.

You must sign in to comment.


[cache: storing page]