Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 24

August 24th-27th 2012 :: Theme: Evolution

Back to Browse Entries

Bit-Craft Evolution - eyehawk - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story: You have liberated the protoype bit craft fighter with the legendary Evolution-Tech from the evil Bit Empire - now you must fight your way to freedom!

Notes: If possible please try to use the latest Chrome browser as this game uses many new shader features from HTML5 and Chrome seems to handle these effects the best. Newest Firefox is next best.

Instructions:
WASD keys to move (or arrow keys)
Mouse to Aim
Left Click - Shoot
Right Click or Space - Special Weapon

Gameplay:
Every enemy you destroy will release 'Bit DNA'. Each bit you pick up will evolve your craft - sometimes just a little, sometimes significantly. Speed will increase, your firepower will increase, and your weapons may change.

In normal mode, once you destroy the first Bit Empire Cruiser you will win the game. If you change the setting to Hardcore, the game will go into an endless mode.

Feel free to leave me comments here, on my blog, or on FB:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Eyemobi/260949787353647

Thanks so much for playing :)

View eyehawk's journal. | View all entries by eyehawk

Ratings

Coolness97%
#14Fun3.89
#79Overall3.62
#92Audio3.35
#121Mood3.18
#184Graphics3.43
#253Theme3.20
#425Humor1.92
#474Innovation2.61

Comments

eyehawk says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 11:29am

Note that both web links are for the same game, I just added Dropbox as a backup in case my web host is slow for anyone.

Aug 26, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Very well done, had alot of fun, an bite my underlip too hard while getting excited from all the enemys on the screen :D

Niavlys says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 1:06pm

Very nice graphics and effects! However, it would be great if you allowed the arrow keys for move, as there are people like me who are not using a qwerty keyboard :)

SilentDonut says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 7:19pm

No autofire in a "shoot everything that moves" game is kind of annoying.

Sakuyan says ...
Aug 26, 2012 @ 10:49pm

Really love the effects. Done really well

Aug 27, 2012 @ 2:01am

Looks really great! I love the graphics and music it all just fits! Only problem though is that for some reason it lagged a lot on my computer so I wasn't able to get the full experience. Good job!

eyehawk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:35am

Thanks for the great feedback guys! If only I had time to make changes it would be so cool! :)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 6:39am

Hi @Nivalys, you can still use the arrow keys to move if that's easier (I forgot to disable it at setup hehe!).

Hi @Twisted Devotion, if it's a bit laggy, you could try running the game on google chrome, and if it's still a bit slow you can turn the effects off in the settings on the main screen, although it looks a bit crappy if you do that. Thanks for the excellent feedback guys, it will be so helpful for the next LD25 :)

SiENcE says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:28am

Well done graphics & music! I like the Graphicfilter :-).

Bemmu says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:29am

It was fun to blast, although now my wrist feels like it's about to cramp from all that clicking.

robcozzens says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 8:39am

Best game I've played so far.
It doesn't run in Safari though. I think it the effects because the start-up screen looks right. When you click the Effects Off radio button in Settings, it takes you to the Game Engine's site.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:01am

Very slick. Love the effects.

zapaman says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:13am

Quite nice! Was off to a rough start, until the green balls that were dodging my aim appeared! Turned out to be quite fun after that! Congrats :D

Keevor says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:29am

Great!, I loved seeing what my ship would look like next.

odrega says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:46am

Brilliant, absolutely brilliant.

Desi Quintans says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 9:51am

That's the first time I've seen someone use noise for a starfield, and hopefully the last. :p It hurt my eyes after a while. Also, your game is the third Geometry Wars-style game I've played today that didn't have autofire, and I was unhappy.

Still, I played all the way to completion, so you're sitting on a good game here!

Aug 27, 2012 @ 11:45am

Really well done! I had lots of fun playing this. The musics and sounds were great amd how your ship evolves to just shoot bigger and more shots was just badass. Great job!

cappelnord says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:06pm

Sound doesn't play on Safari. Cool game, a little easy. My clicking finger hurts now ;)

juaxix says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 12:38pm

I found it fun and addictive, i like the way it continuously changes

sclark39 says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 1:59pm

Wow, really fun. I love the initial water-bomb effect, i was sad when I upgraded to missles. It was a little confusing when I kept having my size down-grade, and also confusing when the final boss was the same color as me.

If I have any complaint, it was that it is too easy, but that's part of why I think it was so much fun.

Great work. Very impressive.

Brassawiking says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 5:13pm

It was a bit too hectic to even know what was happening with your ship. Maybe ease up on the tempo instead and take it slower? Nice and fluent graphics, like the neon theme =)

Vennril says ...
Aug 27, 2012 @ 7:12pm

That was surprisingly fun to play. The further you get, the more fun it makes. Sound and visuals also go well together. At some point it even starts to sound like fireworks. Nice one!
I only wish there was an auto-fire feature :)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:53am

Thanks for the fantastic and helpful feedback guys, I'm glad you enjoyed the game :)

Sorry about having no autofire - the game I designed at the start was quite different from what it ended up becoming. If I were to be allowed to make a change, that would definitely be the first thing I'd fix :)

Raptor85 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 8:59am

It's cool but it slows down REALLY badly as you fire more, had to play as a pacifist a lot to keep the FPS over 5. The explosion on the big ship at the end was satisifying.

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:12am

The starship evolution is really well done.
Controls are fine, difficulty is increasing nicely.
May be it could a bit confusing near the end when there is a lot of enemies.
A great game with a nice music !

Maxium says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 9:43am

Started off slow but really picked up towards the end

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:03am

Thanks for the great feedback guys, I plan to use all of your suggestions at the end of LD24 to improve the game further, and perhaps release it in other game hub sites :)

batiali says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 10:05am

Hah, not played so many games yet but my first 5 stars for fun goes to you :)

Didn't like the alpha-noise on the front of everything, would be nice to find a better solution for post-compo version if you plan to do.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:19pm

Wow I'm honoured thanks Batiali :) Yeah I was aiming for an old school retro feel with the alpha-noise layer, but I guess on some browsers it may appear too harsh. I'll remove it for my next version after LD24.

TheSarcastic says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 12:55pm

Great game!

rodrigomotta says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 1:42pm

Dude, your game is so amazing. A like so much.

Yann says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 2:10pm

Nice game (: I think all the usefull stuff has already been said but I'll say it again: no autofire in a shooter hurts your hand :D

Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:17pm

Good job!

K1NET1K says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:34pm

That was awesome, but a bit too much clicking

SimianLogic says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 3:46pm

liked it. i felt like the enemies didn't ramp up as fast as the player's ship, though--I shot through some of the middle tiers

kirbytails7 says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 4:04pm

Simple and very fun, and I loved the music!

science4cake says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 6:52pm

Looks great! How did you get your C2 game running from dropbox? I couldn't get mine running there.

Lacutis says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 7:51pm

I liked this game a lot, the only part I had to complain about was I was never sure how much damage my ship had or how close I was to dying. That or how powerful I was. It was a really fun and frantic shooter though!
Liked it a lot.

Krobill says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:01pm

Really nice shooter, a genre I'm very familiar with because my work for the last year has been to create one. Here's my 2 cents if you're interested :
- the phase with no shooting enemies is a bit too long, even more so when it's not your first run
- the 'avoid cursor' enemies could do with some kind of inertia and max speed on their rotation movement around you. It feels 'off' to have things that move with the speed of your mouse.
- I would have liked a LOT more bullets to dodge and a lot less firepower for the hardcore mode at least
- And there's the autofire... though the autofire does not have necessarily to shoot as fast as a frantic player. That's a way to reward motivated players ;)

Anyway... all in all, an impressive work for a 48h compo so 5 stars for me.

Kassoon says ...
Aug 28, 2012 @ 11:47pm

I liked pretty much everything about this. It wouldn't run in Opera, and I wish I could hold the mouse to shoot, but the controls were super-solid, the gameplay was hectic and fun, and the natural upgrades was a nice touch. I'd play a longer version of this for sure.

TravisChen says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:38am

That was awesome. Love the noise effect.

zakchaos says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 3:39am

wow that looks incredible! amazing example of what construct2 is capable of, man you learned those new shaders quick!

eyehawk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:04am

Nice one thanks for the great feedback guys! Cheers @Krobill and others, for some specific tweaks, I will definitely use them for the October challenge! :) Cheers to fellow talented Construct 2 developers Zakchaos, Jann, KBDMaster and Lacutis for the support! :)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 5:08am

@science4cake - to deploy to dropbox:
1. Create a new folder for your game under the Public folder
2. Export from C2 your game in HTML5 format
3. Copy the contents of the export into the folder in Dropbox
4. Right Click on the index.html file and select copy public URL to clipboard
5. Use this as your web URL

Sergey Mohov says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 2:42pm

I totally love what people can make with such a simple space shooter. Really fun to play! Well done. You should check out your sister game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-24/?action=preview&uid=4687 :-)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 29, 2012 @ 10:51pm

Thanks for the suggestion Sergey, I checked it out, and it was awesome! I definitely would like to add the glowing neon style for next time :)

ScreamRawr says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 2:28am

Very well done. It was actually fun to play!

TheGameMaker says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 3:55am

Very nicely done! I really liked the graphics! :D

superjoebob says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 6:17am

That was wonderful. Felt really good, the variation of weapons was really cool. Probably the most exciting Ludum Dare game I've played!

Thurig says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:45am

Really fun game!

dengzo says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:51pm

cool!

dengzo says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 12:55pm

with what program do I open the source file?

Zed says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 1:15pm

Holy crap, that got really intense really fast. I found myself clicking off the screen a lot, but that's probably my own derpiness.

Rex Peppers says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 5:38pm

Nice! What a fun game... Thanks!

Aug 30, 2012 @ 7:38pm

Yep, I think this is one of the best LD games I've played so far. Genuinely fun, good evolution of the craft and increase in enemy numbers, great graphics. I have to say I really like the alpha noise, just personal taste but it looked superb on my laptop (using latest Chrome, Windows 7 64bit, I7 processor)

tigerj says ...
Aug 30, 2012 @ 9:55pm

The mood is perfect for the sfx+bgm. I like the retro filter you have going on also.

eyehawk says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:52am

Thanks for the fantastic feedback guys! Glad you had fun - that's the best reward for a game dev:)

eyehawk says ...
Aug 31, 2012 @ 8:53am

@denzgo you can open the source with the game engine I use called Construct 2 - here's a link: http://www.scirra.com/. The free edition only allows 100 lines of code to be opened, and I may have gone over that limit unfortunately.

Gib says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:47am

That was fun as heck, congrats :D

Thomas Bowker says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:21am

Well done, gave it some of my highest scores. Definitely appreciate spending time on polish!

Sep 1, 2012 @ 12:59pm

Really nice !
It was hard at first, but get really better and dynamic. I had a lot of fun playing the hardcore mode ! (my arm is still hurting for clicking so much)

Kmad says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 1:18pm

Great game, very fun and polished - the effects were excellent and the ship evolving mechanic was a nice idea.

Cyboot says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 9:45pm

very nice game, i had fun playing it.

i am not sure if i really like the graphics and the graphic filter. I think the graphics could be much more awesome (i am sure you could have done more hires graphics).
But maybe thats only my opinion

great game nevertheless! good job!

eyehawk says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:52pm

Thanks for playing guys and for the great feedback! :) Apologies for no autofire, for the redux I'm definitely going to have it in there :D Ironically that was my biggest gripe about Diablo 3 hehe!

eyehawk says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 10:56pm

@Cyboot - it would be a dream to work with a proper artist :) Until then, I'll have to continue to scrounge around the web for open source stuff like a raccoon hehe! :)

Jedi says ...
Sep 1, 2012 @ 11:19pm

Nice game! It seems fun and polished at the core of it. I really liked the graphics on the special weapon, and how there was a lot of variety to the ship's upgrades.

In addition to missing an autofire feature, I noticed that the sound was jerky in Firefox, and that the context menu was not disabled. Yay for letting space do the same thing! :)
I didn't really mind the grain effect at first but I do think it makes me want to walk away from the game quicker.
Like Krobill, I found the yellow enemies broke down the "reality" of the game, and greatly hampered the fun, at first. Although, I admit, once I got the hang of it, chasing them into a special weapon blast did restore quite a bit of it :).
Overall, great job!

eyehawk says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 12:30am

Thanks for the great feedback Jedi :) What version of FF were you using? I only had time to test with 12, which seemed to work ok. I did find with IE8 none of the webshaders worked unfortunately, which is why I provided a setting to turn off the pixellation and alpha noise effects. Chrome was definitely the best browser out of the lot for this game.

Jedi says ...
Sep 2, 2012 @ 11:41am

I'm using FF 15.0.

eyehawk says ...
Sep 3, 2012 @ 9:08am

Hmm that's odd, I would have thought later FF would be more tolerant to HTML5 effects?

Sep 3, 2012 @ 11:11am

Nice work!

Gameplay is solid and fun, and seeing how the ship changes is cool.

What doesn't quite work is having click to shoot. My hand hurts, and you get an advantage if you can click faster. A fixed fire-rate would take care of this.

Also, this is perfect for endless play + highscores.

eyehawk says ...
Sep 4, 2012 @ 10:10am

Thanks for the great feedback Matthias - since the compo I've actually fixed the autofire, although I've still retained the option of slightly faster manual fire. I'll have to figure out how to post a post-compo game without breaking the rules.

BMacIntosh says ...
Sep 5, 2012 @ 2:06am

A+ visual and audio. I, too, really wish the guns would autofire. Not much to complain about, other than that!

flyingbear says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 2:26am

That was quite fun! Really enjoyed the gradual evolution of my ship.

DaveDobson says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 6:50am

Really fun - lots of progression of shots and weapons and graphics. Nice work. Lots of people do the move with one hand, shoot and aim with the mouse for these LD things, and I find that awkward, but your game worked that way (although aiming toward the end got hard). I also never seemed close to dying after the first few rounds - some difficulty tweaking might be good for future versions. Nice sounds, solid programming - very nice work.

RipX says ...
Sep 7, 2012 @ 9:03pm

I literally see a blue screen and cursor after the title screen, it was like going back to Windows 95. Sound was working fine but I couldn't play the game :(

eyehawk says ...
Sep 8, 2012 @ 3:41am

Thanks for the feedback guys! :)
@RipX, the game uses quite a few WebGL shader effects, so chrome is the best browser to use when playing. What browser are you using by the way?

Teknik says ...
Sep 9, 2012 @ 5:12pm

fun game. very well done for the compo good job!!

pjchardt says ...
Sep 11, 2012 @ 3:47am

Fun game, could use auto fire like others have mentioned.

Sep 11, 2012 @ 6:34pm

I just love everything about the game. How you can even zoom in because it is html5... awesome! The pixel particles really rock. 5/5 in everything.

eyehawk says ...
Sep 12, 2012 @ 2:05pm

Thanks for the kind comments guys! I made a simple correction to the autofire here: http://www.eyemobi.com/games/bce/. Please don't consider this for the contest though, it's just a n experiment to add in autofire, although you can still spam manual fire if you like :)

Dan C says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:49am

Five stars all round! This is exceptionally well presented, makes great use of the theme, and it's *really* fun to play! I love all the crazy variations on the player ship :D. Very inmpressive for a 48 hour game.

Dan C says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 12:52am

Oh, I liked the noise layer. I don't think you should remove it. Maybe tone it down a little.

eyehawk says ...
Sep 18, 2012 @ 9:24pm

Thanks for the feedback Dan :) Yea I'm guessing the noise layer may appear harsher on some PC's than others. I might see if there's a 'scan-line' effect I can use rather than noise for the retro look.

You must sign in to comment.

[cache: storing page]